We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on business and found the whole place to be comfortable, clean and with friendly staff. Superb buffet breakfast and a good choice of on-site dining options for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66coronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
I am please that you enjoyed your business stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to supply us with positive feedback. We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to the area.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    328
    93
    24
    15
See reviews for
132
223
35
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For £60 a night, you can't complain.

Onsite parking that is right next to reception. Parking itself is sheltered so on a hot day, your car won't be baking in the sun.

Smooth checkin with helpful staff highlighting offers and amenities.

Getting to your room on a higher floor can be difficult as there are sub-level floors where rooms can be located, so hotel can be a bit of a maze at times.

Room itself is a decent size and relatively modern. Free water, coffee, and wifi is available. Both firm and soft pillows are in room already without having to ask.

Bathroom is a little cramped, but sufficient for a short stay. Could do with a little more lighting especially over the mirror as it's pretty dark in there.

Location of hotel is good, with a lot in Jesmond to keep you occupied, and the City centre being a short trip away.

Overall, a pretty good hotel and one I would return to if I need to be in that side of Newcastle again. There are other newer hotels down by Quayside, so it all depends on where you need to be located.

Room Tip: Make sure you get clear directions to your room as you can easily get lost if your room is on a mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBFOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
We are delighted that you have had a positive experience during your stay with us at The Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond. We hope you will revisit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Don't go by appearances. The hotel is very nice on the inside honest. Little things like a fridge with Kit Kats, water and orange juice are really welcome. Rooms are a little small but clean and modern. Nice touch is being able to record TV program's then watch them later. Good variety at breakfast and restaurant is good. Garlic bread is as big as the pizza, you have been warned. Only proem is getting into the car park with the hotel on your right as the road has a No Right rule. Always stay even though a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinBridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond at your own leisure.


Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stay here approximately fifty times a year whilst I'm up in Newcastle on business. Whilst this makes me feel slightly like Alan Partridge, it's a really comfortable place to stay. The rooms are clean, quiet and the staff make me feel very welcome. Breakfasts are well prepared and the choice of food is great. There is now a small gym which with a fairly limited amount of equipment but it serves a purpose when the hotel isn't too busy. For an almost central location, this place is great value and very hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to hotels and we are pleased that you have choosen Holiday Inn – Newcastle Jesmond for past and future travel needs.


Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We attended our Nieces wedding here on the 19/05/2012 and were pleasantly surprised at ' everything'. Booking in was straight forward, our room was perfect and the wedding venue itself was excellent with the room for the wedding creating a lovely ambience, the food after the wedding was probably the best I have had in a long time and brought to the tables hot, the staff were warm and friendly and overall a good time was had by all. It was followed up by an excellent breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
We appreciate your lovely feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding you attended. We really hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over the first May Bank holiday as it was very convenienty situated for visiting my 91 year old aunt in High Heaton and we were very impressed. We had a large twin bedded very comfortable room with all the facilities one would expect of a good class hotel and by booking breakfast with a package in advance it worked out at very good value for money. The buffet breakfast is quite excellent - you certainly don't need lunch after that!
The staff also were very friendly, helpful and hospitable for which many thanks - we shall certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
We are very thankful of your positive review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back to our hotel on your next opportunity.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last weekend can very impressed with the room and particularly the service. The team on the front desk were very helpful. Hotel is situated very close to Metro making it very easy to get into the city centre, 5 mins away. Rooms are to a very good standard and has all you need - large flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, bath, lots of hot water and good size bed. Would definitely use again on a return to Newcastle. If you arrive early they have a luggage left facility which is great. If you do need a taxi then they do come very quickly. Breakfast is expensive but then again it is in most hotels

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paullee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that you would choose to stay with us again in the near future.

We look forward to your return visit,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing