We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great for an overnight base with ideal transport options.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed here for the night with my Dad, overnigthing at the Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond after the Bruce Springsteen concert at Sunderland's Stadium of Light. The hotel is in a fantastic location, just off the A167M, the main trunk road through Newcastle, roughly 100 yeards from Jesmond Metro Station, meaning Newcastle City Centre is only 5 minutes away, and the Airport, Coast and Sunderland are all within half an hours reach by public transport from the hotel - Perfect location. The hotel is on a busy main road, but I didn't see this a problem (although I did request upon booking a quiet room). Plenty of parking spaces too!

The hotel is very modern and clean, and reception was very inviting. We arrived at half 12 and were told our room wasn't ready, and were told to come back roughly an hour later. We made our way to the bar opposite reception, and inquring about more drinks than the rather limited selection they had at this bar, the man behind the bar told me of another bar further down the corridor, again which was great, and incredibly cheap for a hotel bar - £2-3.50 for a pint (depending on which you opt for.)

Upon check in we were given room 243, a twin with two single beds, plasma screen TV hung on the wall, safe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, and although we didn't use it, I felt the media centre and Ipod docking station was a great touch. Bathroom was a little on the small size, yet this didn''t bother us, everything was very clean and modern, cannot grumble in any way! Breakfast service was fine, good selection, once again cannot fault it.

This is the 4th hotel I've stopped in in Newcastle and probably the best, service, comfort, quality. Good transportation option and the rest of Tyne and Wear is easily accesible. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Other reviews complain about road noise, I requested a quiet room and had no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

The staff are friendly !! Can't do enough for you food good we stay at the holel alot
I can recamend it you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank andreapaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive comment on our hotel and staff, we hope you continue to stay with us!

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. Modern, clean and good service. Good size room with a nice bathroom and shower.
We visited the restaurant and bar (attached to the hotel) and both were very nice. Drinks were quite expensive but the service was very good. We paid extra for the breakfast - buffet style. Again nice food, no complaints. Good selection of hot and cold food.
Also free parking at the hotel which is convenient. Overall good stay - would return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The receptionist was friendly and the hotel is spotless with a good breakfast menu , however I would not stay here again as the hotel was very noisy , with no input from security to address this . A wedding function kept us awake till 1 am with pounding disco music ( although we were on the second floor ) and at 4am, then came the onslaught from a group of drunken , foul mouthed males, who seemed to be trying to break doors down on my corridor for no apparent reason . We were refunded the cost of breakfast upon complaint .

Room Tip: On the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

I have responded to you privately,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Shower stopped working twice on the first morning and again on the second morning despite having reported the problem after it happened the first time. Alarm call to wrong room as well. Pity because many good points but really let down by some off hand staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel was easy to find and has a secure car park. This was important to us as we were leaving our car there for several days, at a relatively modest charge, as we went off on the Coast and Castles bike ride. The hotel also provided secure bike storage for the night that we stayed there.
Our room was clean and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. It was very quiet, which I liked. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. No muesli, and not much in the way of a cooked breakfast for vegetarians. Still, what was provided was OK. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a busy road, so for a quiet room avoid one on this side. Room 123 was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

I have responded privately, Regards Amy Callanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on business and found the whole place to be comfortable, clean and with friendly staff. Superb buffet breakfast and a good choice of on-site dining options for the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66coronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

I am please that you enjoyed your business stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to supply us with positive feedback. We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to the area.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £55 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing