We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent rooms and a good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent rooms and a good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked two rooms, one king and one double for one night only. We usually stay at Mal Maison in the city centre but as our daughter is moving to a student house in Jesmond we decided to find somewhere nearer. To be honest, we chose the Holiday Inn because it had its own car park! We were nicely surprised by the rooms - good size, decent linen, a mini bar, iron, hair drier and tea/coffee facilities. The bed was comfortable and we were given a quiet room as requested in our booking. Both room and bathroom were clean and the quality of the fixtures and fittings good. We ate in the Italian restaurant for dinner and again were pleasantly surprised with the standard of food. The wine list was also very good and the service friendly. The restaurant was very quiet for a Friday evening but this could be because there is such a huge choice in Jesmond. We were very tired after our six hour car journey so eating in was our best option and we were very pleased that we did. Breakfast was back in the restaurant and a good cooked selection was available on the buffet. Tea and toast was delivered within minutes of sitting down and the toast was hot! Only one minor moan - when we came to check out we asked the receptionist if he could make us a reservation for two weeks time only to be told that we had to make it online or call their reservations direct. It is most unusual for hotels to turn away business and made our visit end on a bit of a low note, which was a pity.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
We are pleased that you chose that Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond for your stay with while visiting your daughter.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    314
    90
    23
    14
See reviews for
130
208
35
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have just organised a trip for 16 Swedish people and 16 from GB. The majority of us stayed at the Holiday Inn Jesmond.
The location is perfect for a visit to Newcastle upon Tyne. About 500m away is the vibrant Osborne Road district of Jesmond with busy bars and eateries.
Metro (underground) Station is no more than 100m away which will take you into the City centre, airport of station cheaply. it is no more than a safe 10 minute walk to main shopping area.
The hotel itself is clean, with excellent food for both breakfast and dinner. Very helpful and friendly staff, 2 bars and a gym (apparantly)
If you are visiting the Universities, you couldn't choose a better location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond, we are delighted that your group enjoyed their stay with us and that the location of the hotel was ideal for their requirements.

We hope to see you all again in the future when travel brings you back to the area.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I had to stay here over night on business. I arrived tired and hassled form a long journey and days work. The receptionist went out of her way to make me feel welcome and relaxed. The room was large, well equiped, modern, clean and very quite. The italian themed restuarant served a really good standard of food (try the haddock risotto, its great) and some seriously nice white white (Los Romerus). I went to my next days work feeling relaxed and rested. Good hotel, great service - what more could you ask for for under £100.00.

Room Tip: Book a table in the restaurant - it won't disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you choose Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond for any future travel to the area.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Holiday Inn Jesmond is located right next to the Jesmond Metro station in Newcastle, making it easily accessible from the airport, and from all stations in the Metro system.

For joggers and others wishing to explore some nature in the city, the Jesmond Dene is only 10 mins. away.

You can also literally walk to the city centre of Newcastle in just ten minutes.

I stayed for three nights, room absolutely brilliant with new decor, aircon, toileteries and minibar with space for your own drinks.

Comfortable bed, no noise to speak of. Cleaning service great.

If breakfast is not included in your rate, the charge is £10, which is fair for what you get. English breakfast with all the trimmings, though not so many diabetic friendly options.

The bar and restaurant in the ground floor are great. The staff were welcoming and very keen to help me on different questions.

Only thing that disturbed my stay was the somewhat unstable WI-FI connection. Connection speed was both good and bad, and at several occasions, I had to log in again to get connected.

Other than that, this is a great place to stay in Newcastle, and I will definately come back.

Room Tip: If you have problems falling asleep, get a room not facing Jesmond Road directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomitronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have past over your comments made regarding the wifi to our IT department to investigate further.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to hotels and we hope you will choose Holiday Inn – Newcastle Jesmond for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A typical Holiday inn. You get what you expect really. Room a little small and small bathroom, I'd expect bigger really. But clean and tidy with usually needs provided for. A bit slow at check in. I stay at Holiday Inn's regularly but this was a poorer one really. I'm a platinum priority club member but got no priority service ( or room upgrade), make you wonder why you stay brand loyal!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Many thanks for supplying us with feedback in connection to your stay with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the guest feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I apologise that you thought the bedroom was quite small, the hotel is a listed building and therefore not all of the bedrooms are the same size, they vary due to the building set up.

With regards to your check in experience, we have had new employees on the desk who may not be as quick as others as they are still learning the procedures in place.

Priority Club members are valued customers to us and we are thankful for your loyalty to the brand, I can only apologise that you were not recongised as a member on check in.

We hope that you will revisit us again in the future,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Well were do i begin, from arrival welcoming and friendly to departure looking after our bags while we went sightseeing......very relaxing stay room out of this world and freebies in a fridge happy days water, pure orange and kitkat brill just want you need in the early hours when ya have the munchies. Bar Staff very friendly even if they joked with me about hearing me laugh in the pub quiz....well i did get one right. Breakfast what can i say only 2 of us managed to make it to brekkie out of 5 and did they miss a treat, i have stayed in a 5star hotel over home here it will remain nameless but i did tell the wee waitress from here where it was.....but your brekkie was 100% better than theirs....excellent everything hot and plebty of it, scrambled eggs brill and lovely mushrooms so if your heading to Newcastle i would certainly recommend this hotel its close enough and far enough from the city centre and taxi's can be ordered from the lovely gang at reception...i wanna come back cheers thanks for the memories

Room Tip: mine overlooked a block of flats or something from the 60's so that was nice to look at how we u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The positive points of our 2 nights stay - the staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. Our blond cleaner in particular was very good indeed. The breakfast was excellent, hot food and all the usual selection on offer. The ticking thermostat in the room really annoyed me, the A.C just wasn't good enough, hence 2 very poor nights sleep. The shower was very efficient and the general cleanliness level was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippiihornstull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
We appreicate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I will pass over your comments made in relation to the air conditioning unit to our Maintenance Manager to investigate further, we apologise the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We hope you will revisit the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing