We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel. Right beside the metro station at Jesmond for popping into Newcastle city centre. Wanted to stay here as it was near my son in Jesmond. Round the corner from Osborne Road,which is packed with Bras and restaurants. The only two faults have was the main bar was closed before 10pm on Sunday night, when I would have liked to unwind with a nice glass of wine, and the breakfast in the hotel was not great, considering it was £15.95 per person.
All in all, the loation made up for this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us!

We take all comments made on board in order for us to improve our product and service we offer to all our guests.

We hope to see you again very soon,


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    331
    93
    24
    15
See reviews for
135
228
35
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for years when it was the old Swallow Imperial hotel. Wasn't sure what to expect as hadn't stayed in it since it was bought over by Holiday Inn. Was not disappointed the hotel was lovely and the staff on reception and the bar were lovely. Will def be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for a great review!

We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location for this hotel. About a 15 min walk to Jesmond centre and very close the The Metro. Staff also very friendly and accommodating. Good spot if you want to explore the sights of Newcastle.

We stayed for a long weekend to compete in the Great North Run. They arranged an early breakfast on race day and put spectator info in the rooms which was a nice touch.

My only gripe would be the exorbitant price charged for the night before The Great north Run. I realise this is not unique to this hotel but it did leave a bitter taste when settling the bill!

Interesting experience when I ordered a cream tea and got cream cheese instead of fresh cream, but we weren't charged for the tea and coffee (I sent the cream tea back) so I left satisfied and without the calories which I didn't need anyway!

My tip would be - don't eat breakfast in the The Hotel, not because there was anything wrong with the hotel breakfast, but there are some lovely breakfast spots in Jesmond (Arlo and The Fat Hippo)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Dave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

We take all comments made on board and I would like to apologise for the mix up with the fresh cream - I am pleased this got rectified.


Congratulations on completing the Great North Run and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived late as our plane was delayed and we were warmly welcomed by the lady on reception and had no problem getting a drink from the bar. The room was great with free water, kitkats and orange juice which were replenished daily. Even though the hotel was on a main road we didn't here any road noise at all or any noise from the other guests and the bed was really comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

We travel quite a lot to Newcastle and stayed in a few hotels and this will definately be the one will come back too, because of the service and the easy access to town

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrowbridgeCheeselet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wow! Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Holiday Inn is well located, very near the Jesmond Metro station. It has clearly undergone a major refurbishment recently - the room was quiet, very well appointed and had some complimentary food and drink (a nice change from the minibar mentality!). Staff were helpful when needed and breakfast was better than average for similar hotels. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay near the centre of Newcastle.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for excellent feedback!

We look forward to you visiting us again soon in the near future!



Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Quite a small but recently refurbished hotel near the city centre of Newcastle. Although it's located on a dual carriageway the room was very quiet. It's also about a 2 minute walk away from Jesmond metro station which means it's convenient for getting out and about. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on your recent stay with us!

We really appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will visit us again when you travel brings you back to the area!


Kind Regards


Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here at the end of september whilst in Newcastle for a function at the Thistle Hotel in town. The hotel is presented in a modern fashion, with easy access into Newcastle. Rooms are big enough and extremely clean with good sized bathrooms.The staff were very attentive and i was greeted warmly on arrival and at check out. The hotel has an under cover garage which is a bonus if your unpacking your car whilst its raining. I would recommend this for anyone visiting the North East anytime soon.

Room Tip: A very good and well kept hotel worth a look
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auris246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
What a fantastic review - Thank you!

We hope to see you again very soon!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing