We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kensington House Aparthotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Park Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveller rating
372
357
102
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
357
102
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centremini gymcomplimentary watermetro stationbusy roadosborne roadan italian restaurantfree car parkingkit katfree wifimain roadleave the carexecutive roomgood sizereception staffmodern hotelwalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 876 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a well positioned hotel , very easy to get to , and very easy to access the hotel's own car park from which a door led directly into the lift area . The rooms were of a good standard with many nice touches such as complimentary water , juice and KitKat in the fridge . Breakfast was generally fine although when things like fried eggs ran out the refills were a little slow to arrive . One negative - we went for a drink in the large bar but after a short while had to change locations as some live music started that made conversation impossible .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Many thanks for you comments regarding your recent stay with us, we take all comments on board in order to improve the product and service we provide to all of our guests in the future.

We hope you will visit Holiday Inn Newcastle Jesmond on your future travel needs.


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Staff were very friendly, however, we stayed in room 301,nice and spacious, lighting was really poor, both in the bathroom and main room. Had a few showers, water running from too hot to cold, really annoying when washing hair...heating was also temperamental. Nice touch with water and juice in fridge, issues maybe because we were at the top of the hotel. Went out for breakfast, so cannot comment...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Holiday Inn Newcastle Jesmond.

We take all comments on board in order to improve the product and service we offer to all our guests in the future.

I have passed on your comments regarding the lighting and temperature to our Maintenance Manager in order to investigate further, sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a gig at the Metro Arena, the room was quite small with only about 30cm between the end of the bed and the wardrobe. It was only double bed too, not a king. However, it was clean and quiet. I found the bed too hard, but this is a common complaint from me in hotels.

Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice.

We walked to the city centre for Christmas shopping after arrival, which was a reasonable 10 minutes stroll, but the metro station is close by if you prefer.

Parking is free, though the access is quite tight.

I'd stay here again, but there is probably better located and better value hotels in Newcastle.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KKKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear KKKitty,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and free parking. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent service with very friendly staff. The restaurant is excellent and also has a bar that serves really good bar food. All in all this is one of the best if not the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Wow! Thank you for rating us 'One of the Best Holiday Inns' you have stayed in! That makes us very proud!

We hope you will visit us again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

we stayed here because it was close to a party venue we were attending
we walked into town on the saturday - 20 mins on a fine autumn day - wonderful

Our room was an executive room - very ;arge Bed very comfortable
I prefer to have a bath - and there was only a shower ( a very nice walk in shower)
but we knew in advance this was so so I cant complain

we did not use the restaurant - bur it looked very nice .
It is many years since we stayed in this hotel ( it was swallow imperial before)
it is looking much smarter
We will definitely consider using this again on our next visit to Newcastle

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicLoverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for a great review - we will definitely make sure we get you a bath on your next visit with us!

We look forward to seeing your soon,


Kind Regards

Amu McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews