We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly retreat for a female travelling alone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere and excellent facilities. You get the free (fast) Wi-Fi code on arrival which is thoughtful. The rooms are well appointed. Pity there is no bath but I am a bit old fashioned in that respect.
It's very near the Jesmond Metro and all you would want for a business trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for a great review - we will definitely make sure we get you a bath on your next visit with us! I would be grateful if you could e mail me on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk and I will make sure you get a room with a bath.

We look forward to seeing your soon,

Kind Regards

Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for work, room is very stuffy but ok, had not eaten before arriving so used on site restaurant: Fratellos. Place generally smells of sewage, menu is uninspiring and very pricey, £20 for fish or steak, went for pizza as only thing reasonably priced. The pizza topping was fine but i doubt the base was fresh, the accompanying salad of finely chopped, coarsely chopped and sun dried tomato was sad but helped the pizza base go down. Should have eaten in town before walking out here, nothing else in vicinity. Staff are friendly but wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank L0nd0nDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Newcastle Jesmond.

I am sorry you feel your bedroom was stuffy, all of our bedrooms are made to feel light and airy.

Our Fratellos Restaurant is a brand and we make all of our own fresh dough for all off our pizzas throughout all of our properties. Did you mention your comments to the Restaurant team as we would have been happy to exchange the meal for something else.

We take on board all comments you have made in order to prevent them from happening in the future.

I do hope you will stay with us again so we can try and restore your faith in our brand.

Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I spent 3 nights in room 247 (used as single room): nice, clean, silent. The hotel in general is nice, with a good service. The bathroom in the room has a nice shower, however the towels smell strong. The breakfast and the restaurant (at dinner) are excellent. There is a small gym: useful and well equipped, but it is overfull when there are more than 3 persons. The location of the hotel is perfect for the University (5 min by walk) and to the city centre (20 min by walk, however there is a subway station at 3 min). Overall a very good accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axel_VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments you made on board and hope to see you again very soon!

Thank You
Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I had a hospital appointment early in the morning so as we live a fair distance away from Newcastle we decided to stay the night before, at Holiday Inn just a short distance from the hospital. What a good decision! Lovely hotel, super king sized bed (only expecting a double) also I asked for extra pillows and they were there on the bed!! Fab restaurant and great food! We would definitely stay there again hopefully for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaMazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank You for the fantastic review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your visit again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle



King Regards

Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A surprisingly nice hotel.... driven past it countless times and I have to say it's never looked up to much from the outside, but stopped over for one night on business last week and was pleasantly surprised. Handy car parking, bright and friendly reception area. My room was clean, modern and well decorated, although disappointing view over the roof... but, such is life in an almost city centre hotel. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was fab. Didn't make it to breakfast, but I will def stay again if I need to be in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylittleexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank You for your fantastic review!

We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Kind Regards

Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

As per normal great service from friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable.The restaurant Fratellos is amazing the food is stunning and highly recommended. If its business or pleasure come and see for yourself.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us!

We look forward to see you again in future.

Kind Regards

Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A superb location close to both town and country with excellent access from the main routes and great parking. A modern,fresh feel with friendly Geordie staff made my stay an absolute pleasure. (Wicked Bathroom & Shower).

Room Tip: 225 has a noisy bathroom extractor fan
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauAnthonyLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back with us very soon!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing