We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good but bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rooms were faultless! Staff were friendly.
Only thing wrong the music was still blasting at 2am in the morning was far to loud, needs some consideration for other guests! But other than that i could not fault a thing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we do from time to time get some inconsiderate guests, we do our very best to control the situation and we are sorry you felt we failed you on this occasion.

I do hope you will stay with us in the future in order for you to restore your faith in our hotel.

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    319
    92
    23
    14
See reviews for
131
214
35
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I along with my family and friends stayed here from Wednesday the 19th of March 2014 until Monday the 24th. Rooms were faultless, the complimentary breakfasts were good for what they were and the chef even brought out extra croissants for my niece personally.

The staff at front desk were accommodating and even printed off readings and speeches for my wedding without a bother.

The waiting and bar staff dealt well with a group that wanted to party despite one or two rude remarks from bar staff. But due to the pressure they were no doubt under all weekend I can't fault that at all.

I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Ruairi

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel suitable your needs. I will pass your lovely comments to our chef and to our reception team.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited room day before our all day reception and were met by saleem.who went through everything he had set up so far and catered for any alterations we wished for.on the day itself again we were shown room by saleem before our guests entered my bride nearly cried when she saw it absolutely stunning. Attention to detail and so well organised throughout day.even after 11 at night we had a few extra guests arrived we found saleem still working and within minutes he had a table for an extra 10 guests set up.We originally chose this hotel after turning up on spec one Saturday afternoon and reception found us the assistant manager Carolyn who sold us the place we then arranged to meet there wedding planners.Carolyn also solved a problem for one of our guests late in the Saturday evening I have highlighted the names of two members of staff who helped us beyond what was required but overall I cannot praise all of the staff of this hotel enough they all contributed to making our wedding a fairy tale.if any if them do read this we thank them from the bottom of our hearts for a truly memorable day.my wife says I normally find negatives in anything but alas in this day I could not.A big thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding at our hotel and all the staff were helpful in making your wedding a magical experience.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass your lovely comments to all my staff. We wish you all the best for the wonderful years ahead and would love to see you sometime in future.


Thank You
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions in the last year and we have always found the staff friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are spacious and clean and we always have an enjoyable stay.

The only downside is the resturant food - average to poor can't get proper chips and they menu is restricted - their so called chips (potato wedges) are of a poor qulaity and seemed to be reheated

Room Tip: Front rooms in the older part of the hotel seem to be more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you so much for all your positive comments and feedback.

We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to the area!

I will also pass your comments to our restaurant team and to the chef regarding the quality of food to make improvements for future.

Thank You

Kind Regards
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed one night, Friday 14 March 2014 - our second stay at this hotel. When we checked in we asked the friendly receptionist for a room at the front of the hotel, facing a busy road. The double glazing is very effective and any traffic noise there was did not cause us any concern. Very nice, large room with comfortable bed. Bathroom spacious. The complimentary bottles of water and orange juice were unexpected and gave a good impression. Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice. We opted for the full English. The hotel is excellently situated for the city centre, about 5 minutes walk to a Metro station and only 10-15 minutes to walk into the city. Free car parking is an added bonus. You don't often get that, especially at an hotel so close to the city centre. We can certainly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on future visits to Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel suitable your needs. I will pass your lovely comments to our chef and to our reception team.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed from 14-16th march,good location,very clean rooms,friendly staff.free parking and wi-fi.would go back.local bus and metro service on hotel door step, walking distance into town. Bars and restaurants not too far.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andyg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Thank You
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled up from Yorkshire to stay over for two nights and it was fantastic! The staff were so lovely and the room was spotless! The facilities and time spend there was great. We also had breakfast on the two mornings, the staff were smiley and happy to help. Food was lovely.
Definitely staying again if we go to Newcastle!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hanhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back with us very soon!


Thank You
Sachin Shingal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing