We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Sandman Newcastle
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (880)
    Filter reviews
    880 results
    Traveller rating
    374
    358
    102
    29
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    374
    358
    102
    29
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscity centremini gymcomplimentary watermetro stationbusy roadosborne roadan italian restaurantfree car parkingkit katfree wifimain roadleave the carexecutive roomgood sizereception staffmodern hotelwalk in shower
    Filter
    Updating list...
    522 - 527 of 880 reviews
    Reviewed 12 April 2014

    200 words are not needed as a few words say it all. Fantastic service, our dream day was AMAZING !
    Rooms were fab, several of our guests stayed over and nothing was a problem for the staff. Can't recommend enough !

    Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    Thank katherinerowley2002
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

    What a fantastic review! Thank you!

    I am so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding at our hotel and all the staff were helpful in making your wedding a magical experience.

    I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass your lovely comments to all my staff. We wish you all the best for the wonderful years ahead and would love to see you sometime in future.

    Warm Regards
    Sachin Shingal
    Front of House Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 April 2014

    Stayed for a couple of nights on business so hotel was pretty quiet at night being midweek.I was very happy with the hotel itself and staff. Room was spotless and well decorated with comfortable bed. Staff were helpful, with good service at breakfast which was a good selection.
    Easy 15 minute walk to the city centre but hotel has a bar and decent italian style restaurant if you want to stay in.
    Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Johnno64
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

    Many thanks for such a positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

    Kind Regards

    Sachin Shingal
    Front of House Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

    I stayed here for one night.
    It was a mission to try to find my room and stupifidly signposted room numbers.
    The room itself was average size with a great bathroom.
    I was at the back of the hotel so had no view apart from a long corridor.
    The downfall for me had to be the breakfast. For holiday inn brand I expected more variety. More like a B&B.
    doesn't need a lot to make this a good hotel.
    Not sure if I would stay here again.

    • Stayed: April 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank narzia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

    Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us, I am sorry that you encountered problems.

    The hotel is made up of three listed buildings making it difficult to alter/change the layout of the bedrooms from when it used to be the Imperial hotel. Each bedroom does differ in size and layout in which cannot be amended easily.

    I am sorry about the breakfast quality, we generally do get good response from guests for breakfast, but I will pass your comments to our breakfast chef.

    I hope this would not put you off from staying at our hotel and if I can do anything in future to make your stay more satisfying please feel free to email me on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk.

    Warm Regards
    Sachin Shingal

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 April 2014

    Stayed here for 1 night (Saturday) it's a busy hotel but all the same standards are good , staff very friendly and helpful
    We had an exec room large and spacious with a large shower , very clean it was on the main road but very quiet . A lot mentioned the place to be noisy at night widen people coming back to the rooms and yes we heard people talking but I suppose it depends who is in the hotel at the time.
    It's a short taxi ride I town

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 47_COOPS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

    Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel suitable your needs. I will pass your lovely comments to our team.

    We look forward to welcome you in near future.

    Sachin Shingal
    Front of House Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 April 2014

    My sister and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel over a weekend. It was supposed to be a special treat and an upgrade on our usual choice. We have very mixed feelings about the hotel.

    To summarise:

    We were given a double room, I’d asked for a twin – this may not have been their fault as I booked via Lastminute.com and they said they weren’t aware of this. We were upgraded to a bigger double bed for the first night and were switched to a twin for the following 2 nights. The staff did their utmost to help over a very busy weekend.

    On Saturday there was a wedding at the hotel. I don’t like to spoil people’s special day but our whole room shook and vibrated until 1am in the morning – the bass was very strong. We rang and asked how long it would carry on at 11.30pm. I managed to doze a little, my sister did not.

    Subsequent to this the people in the next room (who it turned out had been causing the hotel staff trouble all evening) were in out/in out of their room, banging doors and talking loudly until I ran out of patience and rang reception at 4am (I should have done it much earlier with hindsight). The duty manager came up and immediately tried to sort things out and everything calmed down after about 30 mins. Next morning the staff were very apologetic, my sister and I were exhausted. They refunded our previous day’s breakfast and gave me permission to have a meal for free in the evening (my sister left before this). They also implied that we should have that night’s accommodation refunded.

    I contacted the front of house manager after returning home. He has unfortunately been very unhelpful – I was offered an upgraded future stay in the hotel or points – both of which are of no use to me. I was hoping for at least £65 refund – difference between room rate and what we were given in kind. I was just stonewalled at every turn.

    He also didn’t like the fact I’d booked via another agent – but without doing this I would never have chosen Holiday Inn.

    I also put my case to head office but they were apologetic and said they’d refer my complaint back to the hotel - not really interested.

    It seems that the Holiday Inn Management don’t take customer’s complaints seriously – the staff were great but let down by management higher up. For this reason I won’t be staying in another of their hotels again – I am not a person who complains unless I feel totally justified, on the rare occasion that I do I like to be taken seriously. I will return to places such as Travel Lodge, Premier Inn and independent establishments who may be slightly more basic but have better respect for their customers.

    Other comments:
    The hotel encourages weddings which can be noisy for other guests
    Hotel is a maze and quite tricky to find your way around
    Good location with plenty of parking
    On a busy road but very quiet inside
    Decent Italian restaurant
    Comfortable, spacious room and good en suite
    Breakfast not great – no pastries/croissants etc, very little fresh fruit – quite basic for a good quality hotel.

    Room Tip: Avoid if looks very full. Ask if weekend function before you book. Ask for a room away from late night music. If there is noise from other guests complain sooner rather than later. If you have a problem sort it out with staff on the premises and don't expect co-operation from higher management.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank joanna1903
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

    Thank you for your comment.

    In response to your concern the duty manager and I compensated and tried his best to resolve the issue during your stay and you were satisfied when leaving the hotel. Unfortunately as per our conversation over phone, and via email I explained that we cannot refund third party booking.

    I would once again like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

    Thank You
    Sachin Shingal
    Front of House Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews