We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
redcar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with friends to celebrate my wife's birthday in the city, we received excellent service throughout our stay and the hotel is in a great spot to enjoy what Newcastle has to offer. Will certainly be back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    328
    93
    24
    15
See reviews for
132
225
35
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently stayed here for several nights.The location is excellent, being very close to the fabulous
Metro system.The airport was 20 minutes away which was handy too.The staff on the reception
desk each day were friendly and efficient and a special mention to Hankz who went the extra mile
to get me information about transport options in Newcastle and then delivered to our room.
Our bedroom was quiet and spotlessly clean.Food in the Italian restaurant proved popular with
guests and was fine.Also,the buffet breakfasts were good.The main bar was spacious but on most
nights was quiet.
There were however some communication breakdowns between staff.On 2 consecutive nights
I asked for my drink in the restaurant to be served without ice but got the opposite.On 2 mornings at breakfast I asked for a poached egg cooked hard but they came soft.In the bar
where we had a coffee after our meal I asked for hot milk and got cold.Also,the housekeeper
didnt provide our bedroom with sweetener one day.That said,it is a nice touch having a fridge
in the room with orange cartons,kit kats and bottled water provided each day.
Despite the staff issues it was a pleasant stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will pass your lovely comments to Hengz and we appreciate your lovely comments.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our Food and Beverage team and will make sure our restaurant manager to re train the staff and pay attention to guests request.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Nice version of a stabdard corperate hotel. Restaurant expensive but good quality. Locality is well stocked with good value bars and restauaranrs. Freebies in the fridge, hot chocolate with the tea and coffee and comfortable beds.
Ideal for business with slick reception staff ensuring your trip goes well

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night business trip while working in Gateshead. The hotel was easy to find with excellent free covered parking on site. The appearance and reception areas are nice and welcoming and the reception staff were friendly. As a few people have mentioned, some of the rooms are fairly small by modern standards and my front facing room was no exception. However the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and modern and the secondary glazing did cut out most of the noise from the busy road outside. I didn't have any food from the restaurant in the evening but the self serve breakfast was excellent and the staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room is you are a light sleeper. Remember that the hotel is on a busy main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJ-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
723 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here at the end of April for business. I've not stayed in holiday inns for a long time and I was surprised how good this place is. I was working from quorum business park and it was a short can ride. It's probably a bit longer into town but there is a more central holiday inn if you need location location location! The room was nice, clean, a nice touch was kit kats, water and orange juice! Free! In a fridge! You know what it's like, always time for a snack after work before dinner! The hotel has 2 bars and a restaurant....the restaurant food is great, maybe a little overpriced for the area but if you want to stay on site it's worth it. The wifi is of good strength and the breakfast was buffet and of good quality, although the beans I waited for but never got :(. All the staff were really friendly.....actually some of the best hotel staff I've encountered. I checked out and they got me a taxi with no sweat. I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back with us very soon!


Thank You
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights for a stag-do with 9 other guys. Despite this, the reception staff were pleasant and showed me to a perfectly pleasant room with good natural light, a comfy bed and good bathroom facilities. I was expecting a travellodge-type experience but this was much better.

Hotel bar was nice and stayed open 'til late.

All in all, perfect for the purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back with us very soon!


Thank You
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here from 17 the April 2014 for 4days ,hotel was excellent from the friendly staff ,to the great breakfast buffet.a short 10 min walk to the city center and st James park if you like football,or 15 to 20 walk to the millennium bridge and the river Tyne and the cruises on the river.the Eldon shopping center is just as you enter the city center and a must for the shopping fanatic newcastle is a vibrant city and the people and among the friendliest I have encountered on my travels the hotel is very good and I have no hesitation on recomming it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel suitable your needs. I will pass your lovely comments to our team.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Warm Regards
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing