We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely sticking with the Staybridge Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I always feel that I should give a hotel two tries before deciding if I will use it again. That way, I can discuss any problems with them, and hopefully, it will all be sorted the next time. I wish that was the case with the Holiday Inn on Jesmond Road!

On arrival, I found a trainee receptionist on duty. Considering it was early evening, this seemed to be a case of use the less experienced employee because there wasn't any reason to make an effort. I was told that I had to pay in full for my room on check-in, something which I encounter in budget hotels. The explanation seemed to be that because of a few non-payers, everyone, including people like me who spend 8-10 nights a month in the IHG chain hotels, are treated as potential non-payers.

I had booked a superior room. Despite explaining that I had a back problem, no assistance was offered with my bags, after a more senior colleague came out when I asked about the number of steps to the room. This hotel is a bit like the proverbial rabbit warren, as I knew from previous stays. I was given directions to my room only.

At the moment, IHG are giving extra reward points to their Platinum members. This hotel has chosen to offer a 20% discount in Fratello's, their onsite restaurant. Fine, if you arrive in time to eat, which I didn't, so no extra points. Again, I was not impressed, as this ignores a corporate benefit, and demonstrates that they don't value loyal IHG customers.

Two of the lights in my room didn't work, but by then I was that tired, I really didn't care.

Breakfast was OK, which was why this place receives at least a 'poor' rating, as everything else dragged it down.

The only reason I used this hotel was because it was on the way out of Newcastle, and I was attending a meeting on that side of town. However, that possible convenience is outweighed by the quality of stay. Next time, I will use my usual hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne, the Staybridge Suites, and not risk a poor night's experience again.

Room Tip: Use another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Good Afternoon Ms Pilsworth

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay at the Holiday Inn Jesmond.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests especially from our IHG Elite members enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the guest feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
I would like to apologise that you were not offered assistance with your luggage as its ours standard procedure to ask each and every guests if they would like assistance after upon check in, I can assure your I will retrain the member of staff and make sure all are fully care of customer needs and expectations. In regards to pre authorization I would like to bring to your kind attention that reason we do pre authorization upon check is because the account then can be left open for guests to post things to their room, as if not the system automatically locks and does not allow anything to be posted which sometime cause inconvenience for the guests as then they have to pay on purchase of any extras at the point of sale and it’s a standard procedure for all IHG hotels across the board. Moreover points for extra are only credited to account when any purchases are posted to bedroom and settled on departure.
In regards to your points I can see from the system that your Elite Bonus Points which is offered upon arrival of 500 was credited to your account, however if you feel and have any further query with regards to points please feel to email me on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk and I will be more than happy to investigate the missing points.
I would also like to bring to your kind attention that we take great care that all our elite members are recognised upon arrival by our front desk team and are offered 500 points or welcome gift along with other offers.
If you need any further assistance please feel to contact me at any point of time on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk in the meantime please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and hope if you happen to stay again with us we will make sure you do not encounter inconsistence in service from our hotel.

Thank You

Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now our second being new years ever fantastic hotel very modern and boutique not what I expected . from holiday inn pleasantly surprised and food in restaurant is 10 out of 10 ate here both times will be visiting again next year.

Staff were amazing girls on reception went over and beyond even letting us borrow there eye brow kit as we left outs at home. If only all staff were this friendly.

This is the service you expect when staying five star and paying twice the price would not doubt to recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank claireandjamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members, specially to the girls at reception.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were planning to visit the north-east, had selected Newcastle upon Tyne as the best location (we were flying from Cardiff to Newcastle Airport, would be meeting people in Hexham, Tynemouth and Cullercoats). A good choice of hotels available but Tripadvisor narrowed the search nicely - we chose the Holiday Inn, Jesmond. It proved ideal! We appreciated the free parking on-site for our hired car, checking-in was easy, restaurant and bar had stopped serving food at 9pm but we found the local convenience store nearby and bought something to eat. One evening we had a tasty bar snack at the hotel.

Good value accommodation, especally if like us you prefer not to be in the city. It was nice and quiet (ask for a room at the back), you could easily open the bedroom window for fresh air, and the air conditioning was also efficient and quiet. Only one criticism: whoever designed the dressing table mirror didn't try sitting on the chair and looking in the low narrow oblong mirror, while using the hairdryer which as permanently attached to the wall under the top. My wife might have been able to see in this mirror to do her hair if she had knelt on the floor - with a painful knee? There was a full-length mirror available, which was appreciated. Nice choice of pillows, comfortable bed and everything immaculate. We liked the full English breakfast, prepaid at £10 each, and the staff were helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yfenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

In regards to your comments about the room mirror I would like to apologize about the design, however to tackel the problem we have free standing desk mirrors for guests use behind reception, my team would be more than hapy to provide one for you next time you happen to be in our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on business in June 2014. The staff were friendly and helpful. I stay in a lot of hotels on business, and having staff that smile (genuinely!) and actually want to make your stay as pleasant as possible makes a huge difference. The room I had was very large and comfortable with powerful air conditioning (always a big plus in my view). The room service was exceptional. I arrived fairly late, so wanted something simple and quick - the burger and chips I had was actually one of the best meals I've had at any hotel. Simple food done really well can be a wonderful thing. The breakfast the next morning was very good too. I will certainly stay here again if I'm in the area. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members, and will let our chef know your lovely comments about the food.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here will colleague for two nights on dinner b and b basis. Hotel facilities are great and the refurbished rooms are very good. Is quite a treck into the city of that's why you are staying there.
We checked out in a bit of a hurry as going to a meeting, later in the day checked my bills and had to call twice as they had charged for dinner food that was included and we ate in the bar one night against an allowance which was also charged for, staff did not know how to work the till !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I would like to apologize that a mistake was made from our restaurant on posting dinner charges on your room bill. I will speak to my restaurant manager to make sure that re training is done to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

However If I remember correct I spoke to you on the day and adjustments was made to your charges.
If you need any further assistance in regards to your bill please feel to contact me at any point of time, my email is foh@hinewcastle.co.uk

Warm Regards
Sachin Shingal



Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rooms are very nice. It's on a main road but not too far from newcastle city centre in a cab. Hotel restaurant is definitely not worth a visit, average prices but food is poor quality. The staff are not very pleasant I found, as I am a Holiday Inn member I had arranged a late checkout previously, however I had the most horrid little woman knock on my door to ask me why I had not checked out, followed by a number of phone calls to the room, until they eventually apologised and advised they had forgot to note that a late checking was arranged. However to be honest I was really annoyed at that point because they had ruined a very well needed sleep in after a night out in Newcastle! I thought the hotel was really nice but I simply wouldn't return based on that experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1111B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I am really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on the day of your departure and housekeeping was knocking at your door and calling to check for your departure. I will speak to the housekeeping manager in relationship to your concern.

I am sorry about the experience you had and about your decision of not coming back to our hotel, however if you change you mind and do come please email me personally on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk and I can assure you we will do are best to make sure you have a wonderful experience in our hotel on your next stay.


Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It's been a long while since staying in a Holiday Inn....we were very surprised. Nice sized room, decor with everything you need. Great customer service from housekeeping to front of house. Nice touch of complimentary drinks and chocolate!! Will certainly recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireandRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
1 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing