We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were looking for a cheap stay in Newcastle for graduation and the Holiday Inn Jesmond appeared as one of the cheapest in the area.

Good value for money, the room was spotless, decent size and just what we needed. Free parking was a bonus.

Only slight problem would be the pillows were either a choice of very soft or very hard on either side of the bed, no in-between but we still got a good nights sleep. Considering it is on a main road we couldn't hear any traffic noise at all.

Paid for breakfast the next morning - £10 each - bit steep, probably wasn't worth that but very tasty none the less and plenty of hot cooked breakfast items to chose from.

All in all, very convenient location for town and Jesmond, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good location for Osbourne Road bars etc and Jesmond in general. Access to city centre very good, Taxi, Metro or walk. Found Taxi the best. Priced very well and rooms good with great service (and free parking). Definitely will stop again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was satisfactory. I think the rooms on the other side of the hotel (West side) are generally better, but no real problems apart from the wifi which was intermittent. ( Again it seems better on the West side). There was a function on, on the first night, but we heard no noise. There was a function on, on the second night, but again we heard no noise.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good. We ate in the restaurant twice - good dining on both occasions.
The ambience of the hotel is fine internally. However if they are looking to do any refurbishment, the seating area outside could do with a bit of thought. Red chairs, purple pots and pretend grass placed right next to the main road. But there were plenty of people enjoying it over the weekend so who am I to criticise?

Room Tip: West side rooms are better - but they only have a shower - no bath - I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

First of all what irritated me badly was the booking. I phoned en route to Newcastle. The lady was unfriendly. She told me to note the booking ref down, I asked her to text me this but apparently, in 2014, this isn't possible.
Room was average , good amenities. Coffees expensive. Breakfast friendly but nothing amazing. Hotel modern and clean, free parking but turning right outside hotel very difficult.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Liesbeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your time posting your comments for our hotel Holiday Inn Jesmond-

I would like to apologize that you found the reservation unhelpful, but unfortunately we do not have facility in our system to send text messages for the confirmations, however we can send email for your reservation number and would like to sincerely apologize if this was not offered to you.

I hope you enjoyed the hotel facilities and would look forward to welcome you in future.


Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I am in Newcastle I try and stay at the Jesmond Holiday Inn as it is convenient for town and university. It is good value for money and easily booked on line. Nice clean and tidy hotel. Rooms comfortable with fridge, tv, coffee/tea, etc. and good bar and restaurant. Friendly staff and modern approach. My only minor gripe is the air conditioning which despite throwing out cold air wasn't able to keep the room cool enough for me!

Room Tip: Good choice of rooms usually available - I have never had a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We liked -
Location, close to Newcastle city centre & metro station
Free parking
Good breakfast
Very friendly staff
Free wifi
Large towels
Clean & well decorated

Disappointed by -
Small rooms with small bed
Pokey en-suites
kept awake by loud snoring of person in next room
All pillows seemed firm

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your time and posting a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!


I would like to apologize that you were disturbed by the noise from the other room. I would also like to bring to your kind attention that are rooms vary in size depending on location of the room in the hotel, but most of our executive rooms are bigger in size, I would therefore would like to recommend our superior rooms if size and more spacious rooms is what you prefer.

I am happy that you found our hotel suitable to your needs and location easy and convenient with free parking and free wireless internet which is one of the many perks our brand provides to IHG rewards member.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when your plans bring you back to the area.

Warm Regards
Sachin Shingal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Parking was free in the hotels own covered car park. Check in was fast and easy, was given keycard to room 123, Room was fairly compact, however was very modern, clean and attractive, had all the things that you would expect, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, fridge,bottled water,chocolate bars,large LCD TV with HDMI/USB connection,work desk, air con and good quality power shower.This room overlooked a flat roof so no view to look out onto but for the purpose was excellent. The hotel has a nice lounge area with a restaurant next door, it also had a bar just off reception area. The communal areas of this hotel are very modern, clean and overall in my opinion very nice. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom. Breakfast was very nice, one of my favourite hotel breakfasts that i've had the pleasure of eating, the orange juice was of a superior quality to that of most hotels, toast was cooked to order by the waitress and then the rest was the usual buffet, however everything was cooked perfectly and good quality produce. If I was in this area again I would have no doubt whatsoever than to book this hotel again, thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Its a city centre hotel so don't expect a room with a view and you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when your plans bring you back to the area.

Warm Regards
Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £55 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing