We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the poorest Holiday Inn I have stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the poorest Holiday Inn I have stayed at!”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I just got back from staying 1 night and was not happy at all. Being a platinum member, I supposedly got their best room. There was no clock and the tv did not work neither did the flush. If you came in after midnight there did not seem to be anybody at the front desk. Next day, I could not take a shower as there was no hot water. That night when I came in the room , the bathroom was a mess because the shower could not stop dripping. It dripped all night, the duty manager called could not fix it as no maintenance staff on site, very poor! No wake up call as there was nobody at the front desk late at night a roomchange was not offered. Probably the poorest Holiday Inn I have stayed at. The reception staff were not particularly helpful when we checked in and on Friday. The Pool is void of character, atmosphere and in need of a serious make over. Saturday morning the staff at breakfast were more interested in chatting to each other about their Friday night antics than they were about serving the guests, the food quality at breakfast was poor and cold! I probably will stay at the new Holiday Inn Jesmond in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markandcarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. It is clear that the problems have stemmed from the maintenance issues experienced in the bedroom, from which you should have been offered the option of a room change as standard. Service issues are extremely rare here, as the feedback received is normally very positive through the high service standards set. On this occasion, however, we have clearly not fully delivered. Your comments will be fully reviewed with my team this week. I would advise that reception is fully manned 24 hours a day, with a night auditor in place during the night. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, and I do hope you may re-consider and choose to stay here again. Happy to discuss any of the points covered in your review, should you wish to get in touch.
Ken Ellington, General Manager, Holiday Inn Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    340
    164
    63
    28
See reviews for
243
234
30
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We did a Friday and Saturday stay with breakfasts included. I can only reiterate all the other positive comments from other guests, reception, restaurant, breakfast, rooms, pool, gym and location. It was good to see the Manager actually there, always there attending to guests, quietly on the ball and even helping side by side with the restaurant staff, clear used breakfast dishes The one thing that I was not happy with was the over priced beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks in the bar, £1.00 for a small glass of soda from the dispenser to top up my wine spritzer. We will use the hotel again and recommend. Thanks to all for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayolady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Many thanks for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Ken Ellington, General Manager, Holiday Inn Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed for 1 night and had a lovely stay. We had a twin room that had 2 double beds. The room was huge and the bathroom was large. They have free parking and the staff are lovely. The hotel is in a rural setting so was very peaceful. We had room service and food was lovely! No complaints! Great stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have passed your kind feedback on to my team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Ken Ellington, General Manager, Holiday Inn Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Being a Platinum PC member I have stayed on numerous occasions at this hotel.
The problem they had with this hotel in the past for me, was the antiquated Air Con, but on my last visit this was not a problem due to the time of year.
The restaurant is friendly and enjoyable with good food in the evenings breakfast.
The hotel is a standalone property just off the A1 with a swimming pool on site.
If you have transport then getting around will not be a problem, it is also very near to Newcastle airport for business and leisure people alike.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicanteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Many thanks for your positive feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Ken Ellington, General Manager, Holiday Inn Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The hotel is situated in a tranquil, semi-rural area adjacent to the A1 between Morpeth and Newcastle. Parking is plentiful, so it is a suitable place not only for an overnight stop on a journey between England and Scotland, but an excellent base for exploring Durham and Northumberland.
My room with two double beds was quiet, comfortable and, as I was travelling alone, more than large enough for me. The restaurant was good, both in terms of quality of service and of food.
The best aspect of the hotel is the staff: a minor problem relating to the room was resolved politely, willing, promptly and with good humour. I could not have asked for better service.
One point to bear in mind if a guest’s mobility is limited is the lack of lift to the upper floor, so it may be wise to request a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Ken Ellington, General Manager, Holiday Inn Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn to attend a function at the hotel. I was so impressed by the staff who made our weekend such a pleasure. From check-in to check-out nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has excellent facilities, with a good size pool and gym. Good quality breakfast too, as Arnie would say - I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosforth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Many thanks for your great positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here.
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Good hotel have stayed once before rooms are a good size and comfortable only downside is the smell when entering the room could be product used for cleaning the carpet you get used to it once you are in. The staff are friendly and helpful and we had an excellant evening meal

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Many thanks for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
994 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
821 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,406 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 and again in 2017 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free at 5Mbps. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers - please ask to guarantee. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special - bathrobes, slippers, water, chocolate, safe and fridge. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. Our in house Spa team offer relaxing treatments using Elemis products with and ladies don't pass on the opportunity of LA Tips or Jessica nails - to avoid disappointment please book in advance ( products correct at Aug 2017). WE NOW HAVE A LIFT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing