We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good clean hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Good hotel - easy access from main road with plenty of free parking.
There is no lift so make sure you ask for a ground floor room if you have luggage / trouble with stairs.
Would have given it 5 out of 5 but the breakfast was disappointing - went down about 9am and the hot buffet was unappealing.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and sorry to hear breakfast was unappealing.
With any buffet it is important to keep checking standards and as you can see from previous reviews it is normally one of our strong points. Your comments have been passed on and will be shared at the next team meeting to improve our service.
Thanks again for your time.
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    325
    159
    61
    26
See reviews for
227
220
30
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my cousin in October for a short break to experience the nightlife & shopping etc. Staff were amazing, very helpful, especially the young girl and the scottish lad that worked on the bar most nights! :) they made us laugh, served us really quickly and always gave us good advice etc.

only problem is that the hotel is a bit away from the town centre & bars/clubs. we spent a fortune on taxis from town to the hotel daily BUT the hotel provided you with their personal taxi service number which is about 4/5 pounds cheaper that the other taxi companys & they come within 5 minutes of calling.

Rooms were very clean, beds were the comfyiest beds i've ever slept on in my life! where the heck did they get those pillows! damn they're amazing haha! i would honestly recommend this hotel to everyone! its fabby! excellent, 5 stars! x

Room Tip: we got the room with 2 double beds, amazing! all i can say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstieConlinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We booked in mid-afternoon and were given a ground floor room as my partner is disabled and there was no lift. Our room was large, with 2 double beds and very clean. We had to go out for a few hours and returned late just as the restaurant was closing having not had chance to eat. We asked if we could get food as my partner is diabetic and needed to eat. We were advised that only cold sandwiches were available but that they would see what the chef had left in the kitchen, coming back & asking if we would like a pizza. A delicious hot pizza then arrived & when we tried to pay we were told there was no charge as the chef had had to leave early and had preapred the pizza for anyone wanting hot food afer he had gone.
The hotel facilities are good, with a pool, gym and beauty salon and the staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Delighted to read that we looked after you during your recent stay with us. Your feedback will be passed to the team and is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We booked a xmas party night for 8 of us (4 couples) after The Village let us down! We arrived about 3pm on Saturday 10th December, welcome was very professional and friendly and we were in room 111 which was also very pleasant and clean. Had a couple of beers at the bar in the afternoon and attended the Dirty Dancing Tribute night, the food was nice and the service very good, tribute band good and the only small complaint I have is that the room was very hot and a little uncomfortable for that reason. Breakfast was lovely, food fresh and hot and checking was equally as efficient as checking in. Overall a very good night and we would certainly book again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback and great to read that you loved the Dirty Dancing night. We have an event every month -tribute acts for Stepps, Westlife & Michale Buble are already available. £99 for 2 people including dinner, bed and breakfast or £20 for the dinner dance. Hope to see you there. Thanks again, for your feedback.
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

my friends and i stayed at this hotel to celebrate our friends 30th birthday. Upon arrival we were met by the staff who gave us a several page document, which detailed the many rules and regulations. We were then shown to our rooms. We then had our night out in the town (taxi's are required the town is some distance away) and made our way back to the hotel. Upon our return we were met with what can only be described as a military operation or a boarding school, along with the several mice running around the reception area. On our return we were not misbehaving, nor were we being overly loud, simply just in good spirits. However, the staff were very rude and shouted at us in the reception area. As we made our way to our rooms we were followed to ensure that we were going to the correct rooms and were told under no circumstances should there be any of us in each others rooms other than our own. The security staff were highly aggressive, entering rooms unannounced, shining torches through the door and being generally aggressive...... this continued throughout the night!!!! A few days after our stay we were charged nearly 500 pounds for what they deemed as 'bad behaviour'! How a group of girls returning to the hotel and having a chat at the end of their night can be deemed as 'bad behaviour' is beyond me. It appears that the hotel saw us coming and decided to make a little extra cash. If you wish to stay somewhere where the staff are aggressive, rude, and generally want to ruin your stay then here is the place....oh and you need to like the rodents who will also want to keep you company! my advise to anyone would be DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL...!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights. The room was very large with 2 double beds and was very clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was ok but it required updating. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was great. The staff were all friendly and nice. The swimming pool and sauna and steam room were ok but were old and required a revamp. The bar was ok with a good selection but some of the drinks were quite expensive. The meals and breakfast were rather expensive therefore we didn't eat in the hotel. If they had been slightly cheaper we may have eaten. The hotel is just off the A1 and is in a good location for the metro centre as long as you have a car. You really require a car for this hotel as it is out of Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated.
If I could share a tip with you re breakfast - when you book on line or via telephone, for £15 you would have received 2 all you can eat buffet breakfasts. Amazing value and worth considering. Thank you again for taking time to give your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My last visit last week for two nights was my 2nd visit.
My first was in September to see Dolly Parton in Newcastle.
I was quite impressed by my first stay that I noticed a Card to clock up bonus points.
Its free aand allows you to use world wide as well as Holidays inns in UK.
The rooms were spacious, clean and the most important thing for me quiet,
Because of its situation, you have countryside all round, and despite the drone of traffic from the A1 as we entered the entrance to the hotel, that disappeared as soon as we entered and the rooms were quiet as well.
The bathroom was clean, and the shower is over the bath, and I didnt have any problems but I am slightly disabled in time to come I might have difficulty, to get my leg over the bath.
Our bathroom was a bit dated but I didnt have a problem with that.
On both visits I used the swimming pool, the sauna and steam room. and that was an added bonus.
Because I had a bonus card , we got a complimentry national newspaper which was nice.
The staff were very helpful and as we were visiting not only Newcastle but Alnwick there local knowledge and recommendations were second to none.
The only fault I have is the price of the drinks, and the pot of tea and coffee in the main lounge.
Breakfast was lovely and you could help yourself to what ever you wanted.
As I dont know Newcastle very well I was reluctant to drive into the city centre so we took advantage of the buses that was just round the corner.
All in all for the price and the amenities provided couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolg1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback and it's great to read that you have joined our Priority Rewards programme - well worth doing as it's free! I have passed a copy of your reveiw to the team & hope we may see you again on a future visit to the region.
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing