We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed the air-con in all the rooms were out of action "which is why we do not advertise air-con on the website" She offered us a fan but the one we had was only circulating the warm air and felt another would not have made any difference. It made for 3 very uncomfortable nights.

Also each day after returning to our room after it had been serviced we found the keys did not work, again we told we this was probably because they had been kept next to phones in our pockets etc even though we kept the keys in the same place all the time and they worked when we returned to our room later in the evening.

I think the front of house staff need lessons from the housekeeping staff who were all very polite, helpful and courteous

Room Tip: As there is no lift - chose a ground floor room if your have trouble with stairs
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedslassie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Leedslassie1 for your review after your recent stay. I can only apologise that the aircon wasn't working and yes, we don't advertise this facility but we are adding more cool rooms each month with more planned later this year. In Newcastle there isn't always a need for cool rooms however an uncomfortably hot rooms leads to an unpleasant stay & we are in the position with new ownership to be working our way through the rooms to make them more modern and cooler.
As reception said keys can be cancelled by mobiles and other things and I am sorry that was the case. The coding system is not sophisticated enough to indicate what has caused the interference unfortunately. On a future visit please do feel free to contact myself or in house reservations to ensure you have a room with a working cooling unit. We would like to change the capital "WAS" back to "IS". Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just stayed 2nights , hotel noticeably better than last time I stayed. Good points room spotless, hotel spotless, good decor, lounge a lot better nice place to sit and have a drink. Only had breakfast but it was of good quality and the dining staff were very polite and discrete in the way they served you. A general comment keep up the good work and the standards , a personal thank you to the housekeeping team they are doing a fantastic job. Look forward to seeing the results of the refurb. Hope the Stag and Hen parties that used to frequent the hotel stay away . Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coraddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you coraddo for a great review and like you I hope the Stag & Hen parties enjoy the more central located hotels! your very positive feedback is greatly received and goes a long way to appreciate the work the team do carry out. Cleanliness was always a strong point and now we are having better facilities it helps improve our customers experience. The first section of rooms are open but will need the finishing touches of artwork and corridor carpet - we expect that to be carried out within the next 10 days. The next project will new air con units. Hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I guess it one of those hotels you use for one night, and not a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay.
Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015.
We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the plan is also to combine these - as you say they are not large rooms but very rarely is there anyone waiting to access the equipment which is more important.
I am truly sorry that the breakfast wasn't right for you and I do hope you informed the team on the day allowing them to make amends.
Thank you for your feedback, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a good one. The reception and bar staff were very good. Housekeepers kept our room spotless, beds very comfortable. Although there are currently building works taking place this did not affect our stay at all. Definitely a place we would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A few weekends back I took a group of 18 to stay at this hotel for a long weekend, whilst we celebrated my birthday. We all had a great time and the hotels amenities were perfect for what we needed, seeing as we were out and about a lot. The rooms were a great size, as was the lounge area and the bar area was ideal for us men whilst we waited for the women to finish off getting ready! The interior décor is in great condition and they even told us they were having a massive refurb so it will be good to go back to see how it all turns out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review Michael K after your recent group visit. I hoped you all enjoyed the local attractions and thanks for using our bar facilities. The first phase of bedroom refurbishment will finish late July with plans to continue doing even more rooms this year & next. It is an exciting time for the hotel and hopefully you will see even more improvements on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I travel a lot for work and whenever I have an appointment in Newcastle or the surrounding areas I always stay here, simply because it’s in a prime location for getting straight onto the A1, especially when the traffic is bad. The staff are always welcoming and make me feel completely comfortable, ensuring I have everything I need to make the most out of every business trip and I like the fact that they remember my face. If anyone is travelling to the Newcastle area for a business trip or for leisure I’d absolutely recommend this place. The fact that there is free parking and wifi is also a bonus! Would say the rooms could do with a facelift but since that's already happening I will leave it at that. Looking forward to my next stay here and hopefulyl I'll be in a new room so I can check them out

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your loyal custom and for continuing to choose to stay with us when in the area. The addition of free Wi-Fi has been well received since the sale of the hotel and the current refurbishment of the bedrooms in addition to the public areas will provide great facilities for our guests and our teams. The first 40 rooms are finishing late July so please do think of booking one for your next visit. kind regards, Norrie Oswald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Me and the girls recently spent a relaxing weekend in Newcastle, staying here and we couldn't be happier with the service provided. After a long day shopping it wa the perfect place to come back to for a drink and a natter on before getting ready for a night on the town! If we all manage to get away for a weekend soon we'll most definitely be heading back there, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneyy_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review from you ladies weekend away shopping. We are not centrally located as you will know so not ideal for the hustle bustle weekend of pubs and clubs but we do offer a relaxing space for discerning groups. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,043 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,505 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £55 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 and again in 2017 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free at 5Mbps. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers - please ask to guarantee. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special - bathrobes, slippers, water, chocolate, safe and fridge. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. Our in house Spa team offer relaxing treatments using Elemis products with and ladies don't pass on the opportunity of LA Tips or Jessica nails - to avoid disappointment please book in advance ( products correct at Aug 2017). WE NOW HAVE A LIFT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing