We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for the night before an early morning flight from Newcastle airport. It's within easy driving distance from the airport and our deal included parking at the long stay. Easy to find, and reception was efficient, helpful and smiley. Had a light dinner in the bar which was good quality and tasty. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel and the bar staff were attentive. Our room was much more spacious than a London based holiday inn I have reviewed, and is good value for money with parking thrown in. So far no complaints, good job Holiday Inn.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pb1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback which is very much appreciated by myself and the team.
Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and have usually been very pleased with it. This was our best stay! We had one of the newly refurbished air conditioned rooms, although air con not needed. Room excellent - especially the very tasteful and well equipped bathroom. Fixed price menu in restaurant was very good value and our meals were tasty and well presented. All staff were efficient and pleasant, especially Faye, in Reception, and we are looking forward to our return visit later this month.

Room Tip: Ground floor refurbished room at East side of hotel look over a field and are very quiet and peacefu...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryC251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

What a wonderful review and thank you for mentioning Faye on reception - she will greatly appreciate it. Your kind comments re the bedroom and food are also appreciated and will be shared with the team. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have tried a few hotels out in the newcastle area. I have to say my business stay here was very comfortable . I was given one of the new rooms, which was extremely clean, with a lovely huge bed. Tara on reception was very welcoming and helpful. My only suggestion to the hotel is that the wifi in my room was slow, which isn't great if working late....much faster in the bar area. Would stay again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and for recognising Tara who will be chuffed to bits. Great to read that you enjoyed our new bedrooms to..Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Holiday Inn makes no pretence at being anything other than a chain. However, it knows it's business and does it very well. We stayed for one night to go to Newcastle races. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, booking us a taxi to the racecourse and handing us a card for cheaper fares back to the hotel later on. The room was spacious, very clean and had all the usual facilities one would expect. We had a drink in the bar where the batman was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I left my bottle of prosecco behind the bar for later on and it was sealed and clearly labelled on our return.
Late-ish nibbles were excellent; simple nachos were plenty after a successful day at the races! Breakfast was simple, plentiful, fresh and good value when pre-booked. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment but this was very unobtrusive; the decorators were just as lovely as the hotel staff.
Our only quibble, and the reason for four rather than five stars, was the bathroom. It was just a bit poky, a touch too dark for make-up application and the bath ran very slowly indeed. However, we reported a leaky tap on checkout which was immediately entered into the maintenance log and I believe it will be very quickly addressed. After checkout, we sat in the lounge - which is cosy and well furnished, unlike many other corporate chains - and the batman obligingly put on the cricket for my husband to watch. Again, excellent service!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you Melanie W for your wonderful comments which are a pleasure to read. And congratulations for a successful visit to the Races - not many can say that! Your kind words will be appreciated by all the departments you mention and go a long way in recognising the team. Thank you again, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed here with our 2 children for 3 nights. We were impressed with the room even though it wasn't one of the refurbished rooms. It was lovely and big, lots of space, very quiet, perfect when you have children. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the first evening, it wasn't busy only 6 tables being used, after ordering at 7.20pm, we were still waiting at 9pm. We did ask twice where our food was and were told by a very stressed lady 'we are busy' so we left and ended up in burgerking for something quick for the children. Reception staff were brilliant and very apologetic it was the rest of the team that night let her down. I enjoyed the use of the gym, nice and cold with enough equipment for what I needed. The children enjoyed the use of the pool, however the pool area is so hot, we had to keep having a quick shower to keep cool. The ladies changing room are really dirty, hair all over the floor in the shower area on all 3 days. Nice hotel, great location but in need of some staff that want to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cadrian234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for not looking after you and your family as we would normally do. The operations team at the hotel have taken steps to ensure that our service levels are back to where they were & where they should be. Once again, my apologies.
Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and two friends stayed overnight here on Saturday night (26th July). As we were going to Ladies Day at Newcastle Races we wanted to check in slightly earlier so we could be ready and at the races for the first race. The hotel were able to accommodate our request which was very much appreciated! The hotel also booked a taxi for us to take us to the races.

We were in a King Size Executive Room which was very nice - the king size bed was HUGE! We didn't have time to experience any of the hotel's facilities, other than a coffee the next morning shortly after checking out, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MarshMellowBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and appreciation of the service and for our new Executive King beds - they are just great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Newly renovated hotel with easy access from the main throughways, quiet and relaxed but rather far from the city centre.

Bar/lobby area could be a bit more cosy and the choice of beer could include more than one local brew.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88j8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback for the bar. Our location is ideal for major road access (A1 & A19), plus you can leave behind the city centre noise and of course have plenty of free parking. IHG do have a variety of locations to suit all preferences thankfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,044 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
828 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,511 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £56 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 and again in 2017 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free at 5Mbps. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers - please ask to guarantee. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special - bathrobes, slippers, water, chocolate, safe and fridge. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. Our in house Spa team offer relaxing treatments using Elemis products with and ladies don't pass on the opportunity of LA Tips or Jessica nails - to avoid disappointment please book in advance ( products correct at Aug 2017). WE NOW HAVE A LIFT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing