We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle North(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
295
357
173
69
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
357
173
69
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaton burnexecutive roomswimming pooltwo double bedssauna and steam roomgosforth parkcoach partyno liftair conthe ground floorgood sizeleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffbuffet stylepublic areascity centrefamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Years ago we stayed in Holiday Inns regularly but consistently had problems so haven't used one for years. We only went to this one as it was booked as part of a coach tour we went on and it certainly brought back memories of past encounters with the chain!. When we arrived on Friday evening the tour guide was given envelopes with keys for each of the 30+ rooms. Fine you might think.... except none of the keys worked! The receptionist even broke the machine that cuts new ones meaning everyone was eventually given the master keys for their rooms.
Our second issue was that we were told en route to the hotel that we couldn't have an evening meal in the hotel unless we had pre-booked - this might be okay if there were other local places to eat but there are only a Little Chef and Burger King close by. Not my idea of an evening meal and it beggars belief that a hotel can't cope with the number of guests staying there and wanting food.
Breakfast on Saturday was a farce too as the dining room was way too small and badly laid out to cope with the demand. food-wise nothing was ready together and people ended up eating in the bar area!
On arrival at the hotel on Friday we reported a broken toilet seat in our room. Despite being only 6.30pm we were told nobody could fix it until the following day and it still hadn't been fixed when we left on the Sunday.
The rooms are recently refurbished, nicely decorated and comfortable and the waiting staff tried really hard to cope - it is clearly the management that are totally incompetent as we have found in the past.
My advice is avoid this hotel and the whole Holiday Inn chain like the plague unless you want to take part in a remake of Fawlty Towers!

Room Tip: At another hotel! If you must stay here make sure you get one of the rooms that has already been refurbished.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCullen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comments after your recent coach tour which will be shared with the team and assist the departments in preparation for large groups. Please accept my apologies that there was cause to complain. Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for the night before an early morning flight from Newcastle airport. It's within easy driving distance from the airport and our deal included parking at the long stay. Easy to find, and reception was efficient, helpful and smiley. Had a light dinner in the bar which was good quality and tasty. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel and the bar staff were attentive. Our room was much more spacious than a London based holiday inn I have reviewed, and is good value for money with parking thrown in. So far no complaints, good job Holiday Inn.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pb1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback which is very much appreciated by myself and the team.
Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and have usually been very pleased with it. This was our best stay! We had one of the newly refurbished air conditioned rooms, although air con not needed. Room excellent - especially the very tasteful and well equipped bathroom. Fixed price menu in restaurant was very good value and our meals were tasty and well presented. All staff were efficient and pleasant, especially Faye, in Reception, and we are looking forward to our return visit later this month.

Room Tip: Ground floor refurbished room at East side of hotel look over a field and are very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryC251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

What a wonderful review and thank you for mentioning Faye on reception - she will greatly appreciate it. Your kind comments re the bedroom and food are also appreciated and will be shared with the team. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have tried a few hotels out in the newcastle area. I have to say my business stay here was very comfortable . I was given one of the new rooms, which was extremely clean, with a lovely huge bed. Tara on reception was very welcoming and helpful. My only suggestion to the hotel is that the wifi in my room was slow, which isn't great if working late....much faster in the bar area. Would stay again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and for recognising Tara who will be chuffed to bits. Great to read that you enjoyed our new bedrooms to..Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Holiday Inn makes no pretence at being anything other than a chain. However, it knows it's business and does it very well. We stayed for one night to go to Newcastle races. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, booking us a taxi to the racecourse and handing us a card for cheaper fares back to the hotel later on. The room was spacious, very clean and had all the usual facilities one would expect. We had a drink in the bar where the batman was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I left my bottle of prosecco behind the bar for later on and it was sealed and clearly labelled on our return.
Late-ish nibbles were excellent; simple nachos were plenty after a successful day at the races! Breakfast was simple, plentiful, fresh and good value when pre-booked. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment but this was very unobtrusive; the decorators were just as lovely as the hotel staff.
Our only quibble, and the reason for four rather than five stars, was the bathroom. It was just a bit poky, a touch too dark for make-up application and the bath ran very slowly indeed. However, we reported a leaky tap on checkout which was immediately entered into the maintenance log and I believe it will be very quickly addressed. After checkout, we sat in the lounge - which is cosy and well furnished, unlike many other corporate chains - and the batman obligingly put on the cricket for my husband to watch. Again, excellent service!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you Melanie W for your wonderful comments which are a pleasure to read. And congratulations for a successful visit to the Races - not many can say that! Your kind words will be appreciated by all the departments you mention and go a long way in recognising the team. Thank you again, Norrie Oswald, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews