We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach Tours Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Coach Tours Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here one night on a coach tour, often coach parties are made to feel inferior guests, but here we were made very welcome. The bedrooms were comfortable, the dinner good and the breakfast excellent. My only small grumble was the bedside light, not ideally suited for reading.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for a conference. As others have previously stated, this hotel is 'tired'. However the staff are amazing. It is a long time since I have met such helpful staff, who seem to take pride in their work and are genuinly helpful.
The rooms were clean and tidy and functional.
The leisure area was spotless, and I liked the steam room, aswell as sauna and jacuzzi.

My small complaints are
- The radiator is hidden behind a big heavy curtain, meaning that if you want heat you have to have the curtains open
- there is no heating the the bathroom, and although the bathrooms were beautifully tiled, the room is frigid cold (persoanl preferance here, I like my bathroom warm)
- the landings on the staircase have no numbers. If you take the stairs up and down you have to be awake otherwise you end up on the 3rd instead of 4th floor.(perhaps if I paid more attention/drank less this would not be an issue!)
- lack of vegetables with lunches and dinners. This could be blamed on the conference, but I think the hotel has a 'set' menu.
- the pool was too hot and small for 'real' swimming. However I overheard two ladies who obviously use it everyday saying it was too cold. And it is good that the hotel caters for locals and not visitors like me!

However all these are very small gripes, and I would definately stay here again if I was in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Having visit this hotel for a 3 day stop over, after traveling over 400 miles it was nice to be welcomed by friendly hotel staff. The room was excellent and as we booked in advance to bring our dog, the hotel receptionist couldn't be more helpful. We were situated well off the ground floor and the room was pleasant and quiet. The hotel grounds has ample walking areas for our dog, so exercising was no problem. The morning breakfast was ideal and plenty of choice from the breakfast buffet and cereals. The whole experience of taking a dog into a hotel was a delight and we all slept well. If other people are thinking of taking their pet away for a weekend break, I really recommend this hotel, but please let them know in advance.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist that you intend to bring a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Coach59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

stayed at the Marriot on weekend of the 29th we had tickets booked to go and see Oliver at the theatre royal which by the way was fantastic.Usually stay in city centre hotels but opted for Marriot as it was cheaper we were not dissapointed the rooms are very clean and cosy yes a liitle bit dated but very comfortable. All the staff were very helpfull and the breakfast was amazing, yes there was a wedding or two on that night but the function rooms are set a little away from main restaurant an bar and did not find any noise a problem.The one and only problem I had was the price of the drinks in the bar area they are very expensive,but you can expect this in a hotel.We really enjoyed our two night stay hear and will deffinetly stop again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spangleCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranves-Sales, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I've always been a great fan of the Gosforth Park Hotel and often stay there during business trips. It's sad but I have seen their standards drop over the past few years. True it's more old fashioned than some of it's competitors and that's something, in the past, that I've found charming. However, it's getting to the stage where it needs some money spent on it. The room service breatkfast is below standard - carelessly served - no butter, wrong items delivered. The room service supper was OK but the soup was luke warm and the sandwich rather tired. The whole place just looks like it needs some money spent and the staff need an injection of enthusiasm and improved standards. A shame as it's always been one of my favourite hotels.

Room Tip: You might want to check whether the room has been recently refurbished in which case you might get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiniJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
373 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked this hotel as we have usually had great experience with the Marriott brand , but this hotel is a sad reminder of its former glory.

Our arrival was fine and the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our experience then started to go down hill. There was only one lift working so we had to wait almost every time we went to our room on the 4th floor. The hotel lacks spark and looks to be in need of some serios refurbishment in some areas. It is not up to the standards that we have experienced at other Marriott hotels in the UK and overseas.

We chose the hotel because it was out of town so we thought it would be peaceful. Wrong again, as on Saturday night there was a wedding with loud booming music well past mid night.

The breakfast choice and food quality was good but the service lacked any finess and staff had to be asked for almost everything.

We tried The Plate restaurant on Friday night. It was a so called dinner dance with a singer. The environment was not the romantic setting advertised, the food was OK but not special and again the service was indifferent. We tried the Falcons Nest, a Vintage Inn, just across the road from the hotel on Saturday night and had a much better meal with more friendly and attentive service and it was only half the price.

The hotel is well located just off the A1 and there are very frequent bus service into Newcastle from just outside the hotel entrance.

Overall the weekend rate was good value but we will not be returning to this Marriott in a hurry.

e
quent busses into Newcastle available just outside the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

After reading some of the other reviews, I was a little concerned about the hotel. However there was no need. Our room was clean and comfortable and whilst the style of decor was a little dated, the room was in a good state of repair. We stayed for one night prior to an early morning flight from the nearby Newcastle Airport. We were travelling with a 20 month old toddler, which can be challenging at times, however the staff in the Chats bar were very helpful and thoughtful. Food was hotel price, but decent quality and served quickly. The requested travel cot wasn't set up prior to our arrival. However after a quick phone call, within 10 minutes a lovely member of staff was at the door, with an immaculate cot which he promptly set up with a full set of bedding and extra towels. Which trust me, doesn't happen in most hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing