We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Rooms ok,food good but very pricy .gym ,steam room,sauna,,jacuzzi,and pool very good ,breakfast is the best ,staff and service ok .this hotel is ok but is 1970 decor rooms need refurished .I will returning to this hotel again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Party of four had sunday lunch, the piano was playing which we all thought was a nice touch. Plenty of staff all polite. We ordered our lunches, could not fault anyhting we had it was perfect well presented. Would defo go back, please keep the music in the ground it was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I recently attended a spa day at this hotel. We arrived at the beauty place, had to ask twice for a drink and had nowhere to sit at the pool. The treatment rooms were cramped but aside from these minor annoyances, the attitude of the owner was absolutely disgusting. I have never before witnessed such atrocious customer service. I queried my bill and she actually shouted at me whilst stood in her tiny, cramped reception! She was aggressive and rude, she even went so far as to call me a liar.
Don't waste your money going here, there are lots of lovely beauty clinics in newcastle where you are actually treated with a little respect. She does not deserve any business.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mintypeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Convenient location between the Airport and the Cobalt Business Park. Nice gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi in the hotel. Beds are soft and sweet, temperature control good in the rooms. Breakfast is the best although dinner seems to be slightly pricy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obaysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My partner and I stay at both the Newcastle Marriotts quite regularly and normally book whichever one has the best room rate at the time. There are lots of different rates and packages so it can be hard to compare like for like. Look out for the bed, breakfast and dinner rates - they can be a good deal. Both hotels have positives and negatives:

METROCENTRE

Positives:

Customer service - excellent. Cannot fault it. The staff all go out of their way to help, say hello and make us feel at home, especially Walter. They usually remember us even if we haven't stayed for 6 months or more, and always make a fuss of my step-daughter. That kind of service is priceless.

Rooms - spacious and clean. Some have 2 double beds which is great if you have kids staying with you. There's double glazing so you hardly hear the roads outside. The shower is powerful and bathroom is spacious.

Location - good if you need to be near the Metrocentre and the A1 and not far from the city centre.

Gym/pool/spa - recently refurbished.

Parking - it's free.

Negatives:

Beds - the mattresses are old and need replacing. They're too soft (mattress toppers) and have a large dip in the middle which you end up rolling down and it makes for a bad nights sleep.

Rare restaurant - the room is cold and the food is patchy. It's fine for breakfast but you're better off eating dinner somewhere in the Metrocentre or getting a taxi to the city centre. Also you can't pull your chair far enough under the table due to the table bases being too big.


GOSFORTH PARK

Positives:

Beds - more comfortable than at Metrocentre Marriott.

Interiors - the general areas are quite grand and luxurious. There are lots of corners with comfy chairs, sofas and cushions to relax in with a drink.

Location - the surrounding park and woodland is very relaxing and gives a great view from the pool and gym. It's nice to go for a walk or jog through the woods and the racecourse.

Plate restaurant - sometimes the food is excellent.

Negatives:

Old building - very outdated and in need of massive refurbishment. The lifts have been on their last legs for over a year. The pool/spa area also needs refurbishment.

Rooms - outdated. The showers are very low pressure and the radiators are noisy. There's no double glazing. Smaller than rooms at Metrocentre. We often have to ask for an extra robe and slippers if we're in an exec room.

Plate restaurant - sometimes the food is patchy.

So which one is the best?

It depends on what your priorities are. In my opinion, if they were both priced the same then the Metrocentre Marriott would be superior due to it's excellent customer service, spacious rooms and power showers. We have recently booked Gosforth Park as the rate is normally cheaper and the beds are more comfortable, although now that the exec lounge is closed at the weekends it's looking a lot less attractive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marriottjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
                                   
                                               
Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
 











                                   
                                                               














                     
                                                               












                                   
                                                               













  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Would rather stay in a premier inn as there rooms are more modern and refurbished

Single glazing windows. We couldnt sleep as it was so noisy the room.

Old carpets and 16 pound for brrakfast....


Dont bother

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigmmorq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
879 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,896 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing