We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Typical high standard. What you see is what you get, a Marriott hotel with good service, good food and very comfy bed. No restaurant service on a Sunday night was the only slight complaint. Very helpful guy on reception who has served me twice in last 3 months and was equally attentive to me on both occasions. Would recommend hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nickocubhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We were delighted to be of assistance to you and to learn that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you may have the opportunity to vist again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend with my wife and daughter, we all really enjoyed our stay. The staff really made out time there special.It would be wrong to single out one member of staff,from the moment we entered the hotel we were looked after.
The room we stayed in great with lovely views of the woods that surround the hotel.
The pool and leisure facilities were of the highest standard and my daughter was especially impressed.
We also had a meal on the night of our stay,it was beautiful and the service excellent.
I would like to say thank you to the hotel and staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Druridge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent last weekend here with friends and would like to say a huge thankyou to all the wonderful staff at this hotel. We consider ourselves well seasoned travellers and we would have to say that this was the best hotel experience we have had for a long time. Every member of staff we encountered was a pleasure to deal with, polite, and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel, despite it's ugly 60's exterior is well laid out and clean, with good public areas which allowed plenty of relaxation with friends. We had executive rooms with king beds which were spacious and clean. Is a short drive from centre of town, but with a six seater taxi costing about £12 that's not much of a problem. Ate Italian at Marco Polo in town which again was excellent. Good value and great atmosphere. Thanks again to all staff who helped make this such a fabulous weekend. You should all be very proud of yourselves!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannybear2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your visit and were pleased to be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Staying at this hotel was very easy. Even though check in was quite busy we were checked in fast. Breakfast was great-lots of choice. The room was comfortable (standard room) and quiet although very busy. the toiletries were nice and the little details such as this helped. This is what I would expect from a hotel of this standard. The hotel is a little way out but you can take a bus which is about every 10-15 mins from outside the hotel rather than drive into the centre if you wish. Driving was Ok but mind the bus lanes (we don't really have these where we live or at least not such rigid rules about when you cannot be in them). Spa was good. Shame that the pool is small as 4 people and it was full and you couldn't really swim in it. That was a pity as being a bit outside the city you might have thought they could have made it bigger. Nice gym.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments from which our staff will take great encouragement. We were pleased to be of service to you and hope that you may return at some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times and always receive excellent customer service. The bedrooms are very well appointed and those looking over to racecourse nice and quiet. The bar area is well appointed and all areas now have free WIFI. Bus stop outside hotel grounds takes you into the City centre called Haymarket. There is a Vintage Inn near hotel but, on this visit, it was very disappointing. The racecourse very close with the rugby ground about 10 minutes drive. Please enjoy as we did.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we were very pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your visit. The hotel is in a great location for all aspects of travel in the North East and has the additional bonus of being situated in 12.5 acres of woodland. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Being a local I never thought I'd stay here, but after given a voucher from a friend thought we would give it a go. Despite looking very outdated from the outside, the inside was nicely done. The room felt very old fashioned (didn't even have double glazing) but was a nice size and clean.

The bed itself was a nice size although very soft and not that comfortable. The bathroom again was a nice size but the shower was very weak. Our stay included breakfast, which was a plentiful buffet, but the food was average. Overall the staff were very nice and we did have a pleasent stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms were of a nice size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzleb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from which we were delighted to learn that you had a pleasant visit.

The hotel is more traditional than modern, but we are pleased that you found it to be clean and nicely presented.

We were concerned to learn of the lapse at breakfast and would assure you that this is not the normal standard. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment with this element of your stay with us.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to assist you again at some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here over the weekend , its adjacent to the racecourse so is very popular with racegoers . Hotel is one of the older Marriots but was spotlessly clean .Its not a central hotel being out on the edges of the motorway but a taxi into central Newcastle is only about £12.
Staff were excellent with good attitudes .Only ate breakfast here but it was hot and fresh.
Had a small problem with the room and let reception know about 7.00pm on the Saturday prior to going out. It was fixed within about 15 minutes of my call so housekeeping are on the ball.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrampasAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We were pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your visit to the hotel but would apologise for the issue experienced. I was very pleased that our staff responded quickly and ensured the concern was resolved immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
879 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,894 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,322 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing