We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GOOD PLACE TO STAY WHEN IN NEWCASTLE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A GOOD PLACE TO STAY WHEN IN NEWCASTLE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and I have to say it was of a very good standard. The food was good and plentiful, the rooms very spacious and well appointed, and the staff were friendly and attentive. We really loved the city of Newcastle (so much to see and do - and we were so lucky with the weather), and would certainly consider staying at this hotel again if/when in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed as part of a coach party, and the 3rd floor room that we had was very comfortable. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will have the opportunity to return as the city of Newcastle and the surrounding area, does have so much to offer.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, South Yorks.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Yes this hotel was built around 40 years ago - so there are other Marriott UK hotels with better overall premises - but this is clean, comfortable and easy to access by car. Also the staff are the best we have come across in our stays at Marriotts across England. They are always helpful - which is why we come back. When we take our young grand-daughter nothing is too much trouble - e.g. she loves pancakes at breakfast and they are not always one of the choices but have been cooked specially. If she is with us we take the bar meals but if not it is an excellent restaurant in the hotel. The location is very convenient for buses into the centre of the city - thus avoiding parking problems - but also for driving to the coast or into the Northumberland countryside.
The only blight on our recent (March) stay in the North-East was a parking problem on our Sunday trip to Tynemouth. The visitor parking is totally inadequate - even in March - and parking control is apparently not applied consistently. After spending a lot of time trying to find a spot and conscientiously avoiding residents parking areas - making myself late - I thought I had found a place. It was outside commercial premises that definitely don't operate on Sundays. However, apparently I had inadvertently (due to rushing - as now very late) parked in another permit controlled area and got a ticket - that added 40% to my spending. Having seen a car parked on 'double yellows' adjacent to a junction and creating a hazard for at least 90 mins. but without being ticketed' and others over-staying 2 hour parking - both apparently without action, it is the apparent lack of fairness, as much as annoyance, that means I won't be back to Tynemouth ever again. There are other nice places near Gosforth that are visitor friendly. As my family liked our trips to the coast and were looking seriously at moving there, the loss of spending with local traders will be a huge multiple of the parking fine - that's the price of local government inefficiency and inflexibility!

Room Tip: There are inter-connecting rooms available. Very useful for when multiple ages in a family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePud_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to the Gosforth Park and for providing feedback on your stay. It is always greatly appreciated by the team to be informed that we have assisted in making a visit to the North East more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall, a very good hotel which is easily accessed by road and has plenty of car parking. The staff were all very helpful and informative. We had a spacious, comfortable room and enjoyed the leisure centre which was not too crowded. Our breakfast was good and the restaurant has views of the gardens, (please managers,get the blinds dusted as they detract from the view).
We stayed on a Friday night and were rather concerned that the partygoers we met on the corridor outside our room and in the lifts may have disturbed us, but these fears were unfounded as we had a very good night's sleep.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to use the hotel facilities. I would assure you that your housekeeping issue has been noted and acted upon.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention as this allows us the opportunity to meet our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel, warm and friendly. Excellent breakfast, nice and hot and lots of variety.

The beds are extremely comfortable in a clean room.

Staff very obliging and cheerful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, which means so much to everyone at the Gosforth Park.

We receive excellent feedback with regard to the team and it is lovely to hear that you noted the effort.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

But the service and quality wasn't what I would normally expect from a Marriott!

The hotel is located a 10 minute drive from Newcastle train station or just off the A1 if you are coming via car. I stayed here for a business conference Friday - Sunday.

First impressions weren't that great as the building is not very attraction. Check in was very quick although I wasn't given any information about the hotel (such as breakfast times, fitness centre opening times etc.) which I usually expect from a 4 star hotel. I was simply given an envelope with my room number written on and directed to the lifts.

The room (228) was tired and dated. It had dark furniture which seemed to make the room look very dark. There also wasn't a light in the entry hallway which again made the room seem darker than it probably was. The bathroom was clean and was nicely stocked with an array of toiletries. The window in the room didn't seem to shut properly and also didn't block out the noisy traffic well.

Breakfast was a nice selection and the offerings were frequently replenished. The waiting staff were very busy on both mornings and I did have to ask several times before a pot of tea was brought out. We also experienced problems on the Friday evening and had a long wait for our food.

The staff were friendly enough but not as attentive as staff at other Marriott hotels. I believe this hotel does let the Marriott brand down a little and for that I was disappointed as it wasn't up to their usual standards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We pride ourselves on the high level of service provided to our guests and it was therefore very concerning to learn of your disappointment. Please accept our apologies and our assurance that all of your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have visited many times for functions and whilst I am always impressed with the staff and service provided I despair over the general levels of cleanliness. When arriving for an event at 6.30 you would not expect smelly toilets. It's the first thing that hits you! By the end of the evening, the toilets, shared between a large black-tie function in one suite and a hillbilly wedding reception in the other, were disgusting. A good clean and a maintenance programme similar to The Sage Gateshead would perhaps bring the venue in line with others that charge similar exorbitant prices

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
In order to ensure the public facilities are serviced during events, a late maid is always on duty and I would apologise that you experienced a fall in standards. We will certainly be monitoring future situations in order to ensure the level of staffing is adequate for the number of guests attending. Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Just outside of the City. Confortable bed, nice gym, good helpful staff. A pity that the kitchen is sooo slow. One hour waiting for a rump steak is not normal and the food itself better. 30 mim waiting for a dessert is also frustrating....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Please accept our apologies for the delay in receiving your meal. Our kitchen brigade are very embarrassed that on this occasion service was slow. We will certainly be making improvements in order to ensure our guests are not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing