We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newcastle North(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Metro Inns Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
375
427
208
83
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
427
208
83
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungechats barrace coursesteam roomleisure clubleisure centrebus stoppublic areassaturday nightduty managerpleasant stayroom was spotlessstandard roombuffet stylecar parkfollowing morningtea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very good welcome on arrival and the room appointed on the 4th floor was overlooking the function rooms. During early evening and late evening no problems at all. However, when it started to rain during the night and well into the early morning, the noise meant a totally sleepless night. The noise from the roof sounded like you where staying in a caravan. Once the rain stopped so did the noise. I would suggest you query / decline a room on this elevation until Marriott can establish the cause.
The bar, drinks and meals were very good apart from being overcharged on the bill which was duly corrected when pointed out. How can you get the bill wrong when you sign for everything to avoid this from happening?
Disappointed yes as we did not expect the issue from this premium brand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We were greatly concerned that you were disturbed by noise from the rain and would appreciate your contacting me direct at the hotel so that we can identify which bedroom has this issue, as it has never been raised in the past.

Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance and also the error on your bar bill which I was pleased was corrected once highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having stayed here before we were looking forward to spending a long weekend here over Easter and we were not disappointed. When it was first opened, the Gosforth Park was always the best hotel in Newcastle and although the buildings are looking a little tired it still exudes class, comfort and friendliness amongst the staff.

Good points
(a) Easy to get to and free parking
(b) We were welcomed as returning guests (ok it was on the computer, but so what?)
(c) The room had large bath towels (a hobby horse of mine), and a safe and fridge both without charge.
(d) We got a paper delivered outside our door each morning.
(e) Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in the room (another hobby horse). We could connect up to 5 devices and the signal strength was good
(f) Leisure centre is well equipped and the pool is a good size for a hotel.
(g) Buffet breakfast has a good choice and quality is good (but see below)
(h) Temperature in room is easy to control and worked well.

Bad Points (really only niggles)
(a) Although there is an omelette station the chef tended to put people off by saying that there would be a long wait as he only does one at a time. The trick is to order it in advance. It is brought to your table and was excellent.
(b) They used to offer additional things at breakfast, e.g. kippers but they've either stopped or else have stopped publicising it. Mind you last time we stayed I didn't have kippers because they would have charged the full price on an a la carte basis instead of providing it as an option.
(c) If you book using the Marriott's own website you have to be careful if you want to specify either a twin or a double room as they will not guarantee it. In the end we phoned the hotel to make sure that our choice was confirmed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such in-depth feedback which I know will be of benefit to many pending guests. We were pleased that nce again you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and I have to say it was of a very good standard. The food was good and plentiful, the rooms very spacious and well appointed, and the staff were friendly and attentive. We really loved the city of Newcastle (so much to see and do - and we were so lucky with the weather), and would certainly consider staying at this hotel again if/when in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed as part of a coach party, and the 3rd floor room that we had was very comfortable. We were not too far from the airport but there was very little noise to be heard, due to excellent sound-proofing.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will have the opportunity to return as the city of Newcastle and the surrounding area, does have so much to offer.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Yes this hotel was built around 40 years ago - so there are other Marriott UK hotels with better overall premises - but this is clean, comfortable and easy to access by car. Also the staff are the best we have come across in our stays at Marriotts across England. They are always helpful - which is why we come back. When we take our young grand-daughter nothing is too much trouble - e.g. she loves pancakes at breakfast and they are not always one of the choices but have been cooked specially. If she is with us we take the bar meals but if not it is an excellent restaurant in the hotel. The location is very convenient for buses into the centre of the city - thus avoiding parking problems - but also for driving to the coast or into the Northumberland countryside.
The only blight on our recent (March) stay in the North-East was a parking problem on our Sunday trip to Tynemouth. The visitor parking is totally inadequate - even in March - and parking control is apparently not applied consistently. After spending a lot of time trying to find a spot and conscientiously avoiding residents parking areas - making myself late - I thought I had found a place. It was outside commercial premises that definitely don't operate on Sundays. However, apparently I had inadvertently (due to rushing - as now very late) parked in another permit controlled area and got a ticket - that added 40% to my spending. Having seen a car parked on 'double yellows' adjacent to a junction and creating a hazard for at least 90 mins. but without being ticketed' and others over-staying 2 hour parking - both apparently without action, it is the apparent lack of fairness, as much as annoyance, that means I won't be back to Tynemouth ever again. There are other nice places near Gosforth that are visitor friendly. As my family liked our trips to the coast and were looking seriously at moving there, the loss of spending with local traders will be a huge multiple of the parking fine - that's the price of local government inefficiency and inflexibility!

Room Tip: There are inter-connecting rooms available. Very useful for when multiple ages in a family group.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshirePud_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to return to the Gosforth Park and for providing feedback on your stay. It is always greatly appreciated by the team to be informed that we have assisted in making a visit to the North East more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall, a very good hotel which is easily accessed by road and has plenty of car parking. The staff were all very helpful and informative. We had a spacious, comfortable room and enjoyed the leisure centre which was not too crowded. Our breakfast was good and the restaurant has views of the gardens, (please managers,get the blinds dusted as they detract from the view).
We stayed on a Friday night and were rather concerned that the partygoers we met on the corridor outside our room and in the lifts may have disturbed us, but these fears were unfounded as we had a very good night's sleep.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to use the hotel facilities. I would assure you that your housekeeping issue has been noted and acted upon.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention as this allows us the opportunity to meet our guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews