We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel for several nights on business, the food is good, ok value in the bar, staff are polite and helpful, wifi is very good, and rooms are of a high class.
Beds and pillows are comfortable

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel123m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We were pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to be of service to you some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a standard room that was quite comfortable. We looked out towards the nearby Macdonald's, which was mostly obscured by trees. Slept well so the bed must have been comfortable! Standard amenities (no robes or slippers). Limited TV selection and pay movies with mostly usual rubbish but a few higher rated movies. Breakfast was buffet and good, though the staff need a course in infection control [after guests had eaten tables were not totally cleared and therefore not totally wiped-down, which wouldn't have made much difference because a wet, horrible looking rag was used; dirty cups cleared with fingers in the top, wipe of nose, then return with clean cups with fingers in the top]. Although I caught no bugs the staff can do better (and some in the morning don't seem to get past first gear). That said, staff were very friendly and at the evening meal displayed more professionalism. Evening meals were of good quality. The pub was good. Even though a pint was expensive, at least it was a quality pint!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and for providing us with a high overall score. Our Food and Beverage Manager has been alerted to your comments and I assure you improvements will be made in the areas mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback as this allows us the opportunity to continue to improve and ensure our guests depart fully satisfied with their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a fairly standard Marriott hotel. The check in was very prompt. The rooms are of average size, with a comfy bed and ok bathroom facilities. The view is not great overlooking the carpark. The staff are friendly & helpful. Hotel location is great for the airport and not too far outside the city centre. The bar had quick service & the breakfast was good quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelseeker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I was pleased that all aspects of your stay at the Gosforth Park were as expected and hope that on your next visit we may be able to make a greater impression in order to raise our profile with you. Thank you for your feedback on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here on Saturday after a friends wedding,reception was here also. We were travelling from Glasgow on the morning of the wedding which was at 12>30 so we asked a few days before if we could usea room to change in and were told it wouldn't be a problem and may even get into our own room.Arriving just before 11am,we were indeed given our room key and had been upgraded to an excecutive room.It was lovely after a long journey to get into our room and have time to prepare for the wedding, The concierge our taxi too to get to the church.All the staff were great and very friendly.Our room had a nice view into a wooded area.The hotel lobby is very nicely decorated with comfortable seating and the bar off of this area is large but comfortable too.

Room Tip: room 245 was very nice and had nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are always pleased to be able to assist with early check-in and will never disappoint a guest if we have bedrooms available in advance of the normal 15.00hr check-in time, as we do appreciate that our guests may have time commitments. I was pleased that the team were able to display the correct mix of professionalim and friendliness, and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I don't normally post reviews. I stay in a lot of hotels and primarily Marriott so I'm lucky enough to have gold status. This was my 2nd trip to the hotel which I'm surprised it's only rated a Cat 4 as it's a great hotel. Rooms are all a good size. Bar, restaurant and exec lounge are all great.And there is a great pool and gym. But the staff really make a difference. Staying in hotels with the whole family, kids in tow can be a cramped experience, but the staff were great and upgraded us to a bigger room to help fit us all in and everything else we've asked for all weekend has been no trouble at all. The lounge is a great extra whether you get it included or pay the extra for it. The food on offer is the best I've seen in the UK and it being open from 5.30pm-9.30pm is great. Breakfast in the restaurant is of a high standard too. Great buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StBeesKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and take great pleasure from learning that you and your family enjoyed your visit. It is especially rewarding to be provided with such excellent comments from someone who doesn't often post responses but is a regularl uses of Marriott Hotels. The Gosforth Park team really appreciate your noting the high standard of service provided and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you and your family again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Overall, a good standard of hotel with tasty, buffet-style food and a small-ish but well-equipped leisure club. The room was clean, large and comfortable and the bathroom was as one might hope. One of the taps had lost part of its top, which should have been readily replaced, and it was disappointing that, despite two notifications of exactly what the problem was, the house-staff did not sort out a recurring problem with my TV. Some friends on the trip had a leak in their bathroom and again the response was inadequate - firstly being fobbed off and, only after the carpet became soaked, being moved to a room with further minor problems. The bar prices were a bit steep and bar service slow despite it not being crowded. However, the hotel has some pretty wooded grounds and provided value for money, and overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeymouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit from which we were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We have a 'Guest Response' process in place to allow our guests to highlight any concerns, and it was therefore disappointing to learn that we failed to respond to the issues highlighted. Your comments have been discussed with the relevant departmental managers and immediate improvements will be made to ensure that our system is working efficiently in order to ensure our guests are not disappointed. On a positive note, we were pleased to learn that you received value for money and hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stay in the Newcastle Marriott gosforth park at least once per week at the moment. The hotel is very comfortable, the rooms are always clean and the staff friendly. Location is good for areas north of Newcastle, and is close to gosforth which has plenty of nice restaurants. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mrsscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of the Marriott Gosforth Park. It is a great compliment to receive such feedback from a regular guest, as you are able to comment on the standards and service provided during your many visits. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing