We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and not that inconvenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and not that inconvenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed at the Marriott at Gosforth Park on Saturday 14th. November 2009.

We had tried to book an hotel in the centre of Newcastle but virtually all hotels were full.

The Marriott at Gosforth Park gave us a good competitive deal comparing very favourably with the rates charged by big chain and so-called boutique hotels in Newcastle riverside area.

We decided to use taxis both ways into town to attend the Sage in Gateshead and this was a sound choice bearing in mind the mayhem in the riverside area when we left the theatre and the difficulty in finding car parking and negotiating the tricky one-way system.

Our room was very good, as you would expect from this major chain of hotelliers, but we were very pleasantly surprised by the complimentary glass of wine offered on arrival with a genuine warm welcome.

The breakfast was very good indeed with a very large choice. and all the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydnycat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    345
    168
    68
    18
See reviews for
114
342
39
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Our visit was arranged quickly as a friend had died and we wished to attend his funeral. Service was generally very good except in the 'Chef's Cafe Bar' over the weekend. Desk and cleaning staff were very helpful. We found the cost of food and beverages to be excessive e.g. breakfast is 15 pounds per person before tips.
We made the mistake of using the phone in the room to call friends and express sympathy. One (slightly) long distance call alone was over 52 pounds!
When our bill came, it was in Canadian Dollars at an outrageous exchange rate plus 2.99% surcharge - we had specifically asked to be billed in pounds as Visa gives a much better rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Nice meals, very helpful staff, nothing was trouble

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank naved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Travelling with my mother, 83 with mobility disability requiring a wheelchair or a walking aid. The 'disablility accessible room' confirmed prior to booking turned out to be just that. It had slightly wider doors so you could get in with a wheelchair. Nothing else in the room was modified to support a disabled person. No rails or grab handles in the bathroom at the wc. A standart shower over a bath with no way for a disabled person to get into it. Very dangerous. They said they had plans to upgrade but not for a while. Staff pleasant but obviously unable to help. Would have gone elsewhere if it had been possible to do so.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stayed above 20 nights so far this year in 5 different rooms, all floors. Rooms are not so spacious, including the bathroom. Other reviews are very accurate. Pub is pricey. Food is good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beds are the most comfortable, better then most pricier hotels. Quiet other than 2 floor above a party. A tour bus destination for elderly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

Easy to find and a good location, rooms were small and a little dated, service from all the staff is excellent and i doubt you would have any issues trying to resolve problems.

We ate in the Plate restrauarant and the food was excellent and combined with plenty of excellent service. To eat at the Plate costs approx £32.00, so the price will put some people off, but its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Very comfortable, spacious and well-equipped rooms. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I was initially concerned that we would have noise from the two wedding receptions that were taking place on the Friday night that we stayed but thankfully our rooms very quiet and we all had a good night’s sleep. We didn’t have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast buffet was of a very good standard

The hotel is situated in its own grounds on the outskirts of Newcastle. There are frequent buses into the city centre from outside the hotel and a taxi into the city centre costs around £12 depending on the time of day.

We were incorrectly charged for two items from the minibar, which we had not used, but this was sorted out quickly and without any fuss upon checkout.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
6.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing