We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
394
442
227
92
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
442
227
92
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge marriott hotels race course steam room leisure facilities city centre bus stop public areas saturday night pleasant stay room was spotless standard room hotel is situated buffet style car park following morning member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break. We really enjoyed this hotel. Taxi ride into city about £12. Room was lovely and clean, reception staff very helpful. We only had breakfast at the hotel and that was very nice. The spa was super. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is some things look a bit tired but overall a lovely break.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Gosforth Park . We were delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

New owners of this ex Marriot hotel have a real opportunity to take this hotel to another level!
The location is stunning, within walking distance of Newcastle Race Course which is perfect for going running or an evening walk after a long day in the car.
if it’s too wet for running, it’s got a great little gym
Keep everything as it is, ditch the old Marriot Menu, sharpen up the customer service by the bar staff & it could be brilliant!
I had an issue with the service in the bar but it was handled with professional aplomb by Aiden, a young restaurant manager who is a credit to this hotel - thank-you Aiden!
Come on, no need to spend a lot of money, just make the guests feel valued & let the good old Newcastle hospitality shine through and we’ll keep coming back!
mr C room 247 13th Sept

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank DonnieGaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr C,
We greatly appreciate you posting a review of the hotel and we will most certainly pass on your recommendations to our new owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived late as a stopover halfway home from Scotland. The ladies on check in were very very friendly. Allowed us to arrange late check out easily. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Spacious (enough room for our pram and luggage that comes with a baby) and comfy bed. Breakfast was very tasty and a great variety and I defo thought it was worth the money. We used the leisure facilities and they were very nice. Pool could have been a tad warmer. But the Jacuzzi was perfect. My only quibble was that we have a 3 month old baby in a pram, which was obvious at check in and we were given a room on floor 1, yes there was a lift but we still had to navigate a small flight of stairs to access the room from the lifts. So not ideal with having the pram.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank JPiercy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenS3926, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to the hotel . It was good to hear that overall you had a great stay with us. Please accept our apologies that we failed to offer a room on an alternative floor which would have better suited you given you had the pram with you, We generally do offer this so I wonder if due to your late arrival we had a limited selection of rooms available and were unable to offer a choice. It was good to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our leisure facilities, the leisure team do try to maintain the pool temperature at 30 degrees but have noted that you felt it could be a little warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the great north run weekend. There were also weddings going on so was a very full and busy hotel, but that didn’t come across in the excellent service we received. Room was a comfortable, no problems. We used the spa and again, wasn’t busy and had enough for us for a short stay. We didn’t book breakfast but did have an evening meal in the restaurant that was ok. About a 10 mins drive to city centre.

Will be looking at returning to this hotel for next years GNR.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rmg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at the weekend. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is average, a nice entrance, rooms are nothing overly special but unfortunately being served raw chicken the night before a race was definitely not what we needed.

Price was elevated which was to be expected during the great north run, that being said it was cheaper than city centre hotels.
The Hotel itself is fine however rooms and bathrooms are a little dated.
Bed was very hard and could do with extra pillows in the room. Shower pressure is very poor.
Spa is simple but has everything you would need.

Food - We unfortunately were served two different chicken dishes in the grill bar and both were very undercooked luckily we spotted it and returned the food or it could have been a lot worse but not before we had started eating and did result in my husband being sick the night before the race. We were refunded for the mains only.
We did not eat in the hotel again after this.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AVDAS2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for providing your honest and constructive feedback following your stay with us. We were sorry to hear of your disappointing dining experience and will most certainly follow up on your comments regarding the preparation of the food with our Executive Head chef.
As regards our bedrooms, we are always happy to provide extra pillows upon request and we do have some bedrooms with more powerful showers that can be pre allocated to guest preferring this option. It was good to read that you were able to make use of the spa facilities and found there was everything you needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews