We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star service”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed great service from the helpful and friendly staff. The most recent stay, we chose to spend it here with the rest of my family to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary. On Fridays they have a dinner and dance evening, on that particular night it was a rat pack night, which was brilliant, he dedicated a song to them, which was a nice touch. In the restaurant the food was exceptional, the best I have had at the hotel,don't know if the chef is differant on a Friday to a Saturday, but the food was definitely better. The hotel had printed a congratulations message on the menu and gave them complimentary champagne, which made the night extra special. The maitre'd gave the right amount of service and the waiting staff were excellent. The hotel is a big hotel, with boutique hotel service, friendly and professional, it usually has a function going on, in one of the many funtion rooms. The pool is a good size and the steam,sauna and gym areas are clean and modern. I have stayed in all the room types, there is'nt much differance in the executive rooms, but you can go into the executive lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks. The hotel has a woodland walk which is a bonus if you wanted a run or brisk walk. The breakfast was the usual hotel fare, but you could order from the menu, one of us ordered porridge which had a price of £4, but there was no extra charge. All in all a lovely weekend was enjoyed by all, at a good price of £109 per room with 4 course dinner, entertainment and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    363
    176
    69
    19
See reviews for
119
358
40
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I stay here a bunch for work. Location wise it is good - near to the motorways - but not much around in terms of food. The hotel food is ok they have a sit down restaurant and a bar.

The hotel business fluctuates based on whether they have an event of function there. I have stayed here when it is empty and packed - they handle both ok.

The rooms are good - good size, tidy, have all you need especially for a work space. There is a helth club attached which guests can access and it is great for a hotel.

The breakfasts are pricey but you can usually get a deal on that with your room if you shop around. Pricey breakfasts come standard at hotels these days and at least the Marriott put on a good range of food.

The staff are friendly and attentive - the bar is good to relax in and meet colleagues - all in all not a bad Marriott I would recommend it for work or leisure if you are in the North of England. It isn't that close to the city centre though - which in my opinion isn't the worst thing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintinakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We went to the Marriott for Valentine's weekend and had an excellent stay. The staff were very polite and helpful - clearly very well trained. The rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast good the next day. Would recommend staying here to couples wanting a weekend getaway as the hotel has leisure facilities and is only a short taxi ride away from Newcastle city centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham.uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

on arriving at this hotel, we thought about going elsewhere because from the outside it looks pretty basic....but we gave it a go and it was fab inside. We really enjoyed our stay last night. We usually stay in 4/5 star hotels and this one certainly warrents it's 4 stars. Staff were very professional and helpful. I found the bed to be soo comfy and with clean crisp sheets. check in was 3pm. We started our relaxing stay with time in the pool, sauna,steam room and plunge pool. The facilities worked very well and were clean. Our only complaint was that non resident people in the pool who allowed their toddlers to sit in the spa! Otherwise things were lovely. We enjoyed a four couse meal in the plate restaurant which was a set menu at £34 pp. Well worth the price, tasty, good ambiance and waiters taking good care of us. Room was clean and spacious, reception and conceurge were fab too, quick, no hanging around. This hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirblebarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, this was our second time here, planning to go to the races, which ended up being cancelled due to the snow. But we still found enough to do in and around newcastle. Durham is a nice historical town not too far away.
The check in experience was great, we were offered a glass of wine while we waited, even though the wait was only a few seconds! Never had that before, nice touch! We also asked for some advice on restaurants and the concierge gave us a folder full of lots of info and made recommendations in true Marriott style.
We were booked into a double room, and we asked if there were any larger rooms available. We were told there would be a charge of £30 per night, but when we advised we were Marriott rewards customers we were given this on a complementary basis. Again, another nice touch from this great hotel chain.
Great gym on site and nice pool and sauna / steam room available free to guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliw2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Stayed at a bargain rate 80GBP/night for a relative's barmitzvah. Would not normally go for this level of hotel. Very nice pool and sauna. Excellent food in restaurant (Again this was part of the celebration so not sure of value for money aspect). Took taxi from station (25 GBP for 4), but could go by bus or metro + bus/walk. There at height of snow and did not walk in grounds but I presume these are very nice. Room spacious, clean, comfortable bed, limited toiletries, nice tv. Staff pretty friendly and efficient. Nice decor and ambience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This a comfortable, if not particularly special business hotel. What really lets it down is its internet policy. I am not mean, so paying £15 per day doesn't bother me especially. What does bother me is the crap quality you get for this. Oh sooooo slow, and because it's routed through Germany you can't access the BBC I-Player or C4 on Demand. It was the same when I stayed here a year ago, so they don't learn, or don't care. If you have a laptop and plan to use it for anything more than hotmail forget this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
829 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,804 reviews
3.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Property: Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing