We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akbars

Akbars
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washingtoin DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Got a table even though it was packed out. Nice newer restaurant. Extremely popular. Good service. Lots of options. Not too expensive. I had poppadums, rabbit tika starter, with a balti specialty, rice and Naan. My only mild complaint is the ridiculous huge skewers they use for the nann bread. If you were eating with friends (I was dining alone) the size of the bread and contraption would block vision of your fellow diners; I recall seeing similar in an episode of Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares. But I would go again. Excellent overall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    322
    196
    112
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

the food was reall good here. i went with my girl for a night out and the pace was packed. even then we had an attentive waiter to help out. food was good. wine was better. service was the best :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Some Positives and a Few Negatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked this for my 85 year old father, he loves his Indian food and had seen it advertised on the local TV. He and my mother both wanted too come, but sadly she passed away 10 days before our visit, A tinge of sadness but he was keen to go. The staff were very helpful, as we had explained he couldn't stand around and needed to be seated. No problem. The waiting staff were smart and efficient and very good. One down side a number of us, older ones my father included struggled to see the menus due to the lack of lighting. My daughters boyfriend used the light on his I Phone, so a bit of a negative there. Starters were tasty and just the right size as not to spoil the main course. The music however was not background music, it was too loud and drowned out conversation from further down the table. Main courses were tasty and a decent size, I was a bit disappointed that mine lacked a chilli kick which I was expecting. However my brother ordered a vindaloo and my father a madras and both said they had a good hot taste to them. The naan breads my brother over ordered 4 large for 12 people, Unlike previous reviewers we found the service excellent and drinks requested were there within minutes and the guy who took the order was very attentive with regards to my father.All in all a great venue, albeit a tad dark and well worth a visit. It isn't the cheapest Indians in Newcastle, but it is one of the best. We will be taking my father back, with the I Phone at the ready. Andy C

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I have to agree with other contributors who have given this restaurant adverse reviews. My wife and I went on a Saturday evening with a table booked for 8.30pm. First impressions were good and we were shown to our table within 5 minutes. The place was full so we thought this had to be a good sign of things to come, however, we were to be disappointed with the service and food. Our starters were ok but we had ordered a bottle of wine which failed to materialise. When we reminded the waiter it duly arrived but without the glasses so we had to ask for them as well! Thereafter a waitress delivered drinks to our table on two occasions which we had not ordered. Mains were bland, I had a chicken dansak but the chicken pieces were cut too small and were tasteless. The dish also contained sweet corn - never had that in a curry before. There are much better (and cheaper) Indian restaurants in Newcastle so we won't be going back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good start but waiter and food saved the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived early and told reception all here. Got told to wait at the bar. Waited a good 45 minutes, whereupon one of the group went to the desk to ask when we were going to get table. was told waiting because not all group there. Wouldn't have it that we had told them all here.
Room very nicely laid out. Waiter (Solomon) very friendly and genuinely nice. Did not feel he rushed us, and very helpful with how much to order.
The food was very nice and plentiful, reasonably priced.
All in all a very nice evening. Thank you Solomon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNewcastle_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akbars also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Akbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing