We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal for a large group”
Review of Akbars

Akbars
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good meal for a large group”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were a group of 13. We had booked in advanved, our table was ready on our arrival. The waitets were polite and waited on the table well without being rushed but not being left too long. Food choice was good food was good doing so many orders. With starters main course and drinks we all paid around 20-25 so not bad

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    335
    204
    113
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SOOOOO good”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have just read a few recent reviews of this place and im wondering if they got the right restaurant?!!! As our experience here on tuesday evening was so different from the bad reviews i have read....
Upon entering we were made to feel very welcome, even with our 2 young children, the waiter was extremely pleasant and was very helpful when i asked him to reccommend a curry that was good for the children
poppadoms brought over straight away with lovely pickle tray
main meals were amazing, we got the lamb & spinach balti, chicken & garlic balti and the children shared the chicken makhani....all beautiful and full of flavour, my son found the family naan funny as it was as big as the table!!
The waiter asked us if everything was ok, and i replied 'its better than ok' it was seriouslt toe curling
my husband opted for a indian desert and my kids had ice cream
if the waiter reads this, thank you for looking after us and for your reccommendation....
top class place, top class food
we will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washingtoin DC
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A return visit - still excellent”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

back again for more good Indian food in a very obviously popular venue> Packed out. Good service great food. Waiter steered us away from erroneous selections that might have resulted in just way too much food. Bravo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We ate at Akbars beginning of August to celebrate my husbands birthday and I was disappointed, after hearing so much good about it. The atmosphere I felt was flat, the first 3 things our group ordered they did not have and then the food was mediocre at best
I was also disappointed after hearing about the 4ft sail nan bread you get to share did not arrive, we only ordered one nan bread between us all as we had been told the 4ft was enough to share but only 1 small normal size arrived. Not a disaster but not to be remembered either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Particular Favourite”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Always try to include a trip to Akbars when in Newcastle. Restaurant is beautifully furnished/decorated. Lovely carpeting, nicely lit, dining at several levels makes for a fine layout. Love the food, and the variety here. Wines and beers ok too. The "Family Naan" is a house specialty, and well worth including (too much for two though). Service can be slow if starters are not included, and waiters are usually cheerful, helpful,and friendly, (though one or two are less so). Well placed windows for natural light, but no view to speak of.Very good venue for your night out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denis_cunnigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akbars also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Akbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing