We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Akbars

Akbars
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Newcaslte
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I came here with 2 friends we were offered poppa doms whilst looking at the menu which were lush, then we ordered, we were looked after really well as the waiter kept checking back on us asking if we alright for drinks Ect, which was good as we felt welcomed. Our food arrived jut we'd ordered far too much we couldn't eat it all, the naan was absolutely incredible it was huge and so cheap, the curry was really nice and lots of it as well, everyone really enjoyed it except we could hardly moved we'd ate so much, I definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebsCp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    334
    203
    113
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“First Indian in Newcastle and good experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice ambience.
Good service.
Food is good.
Menu options are not as vaste as other Indian restaurants as concentrates on the Balti range. However, it has a unique option with different offal parts that can be explored and has sweetcorn in some of its options.
The family sized naan is truly an experience to be tried.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliottsu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good meal for a large group”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were a group of 13. We had booked in advanved, our table was ready on our arrival. The waitets were polite and waited on the table well without being rushed but not being left too long. Food choice was good food was good doing so many orders. With starters main course and drinks we all paid around 20-25 so not bad

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SOOOOO good”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have just read a few recent reviews of this place and im wondering if they got the right restaurant?!!! As our experience here on tuesday evening was so different from the bad reviews i have read....
Upon entering we were made to feel very welcome, even with our 2 young children, the waiter was extremely pleasant and was very helpful when i asked him to reccommend a curry that was good for the children
poppadoms brought over straight away with lovely pickle tray
main meals were amazing, we got the lamb & spinach balti, chicken & garlic balti and the children shared the chicken makhani....all beautiful and full of flavour, my son found the family naan funny as it was as big as the table!!
The waiter asked us if everything was ok, and i replied 'its better than ok' it was seriouslt toe curling
my husband opted for a indian desert and my kids had ice cream
if the waiter reads this, thank you for looking after us and for your reccommendation....
top class place, top class food
we will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washingtoin DC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A return visit - still excellent”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

back again for more good Indian food in a very obviously popular venue> Packed out. Good service great food. Waiter steered us away from erroneous selections that might have resulted in just way too much food. Bravo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akbars also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Akbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing