We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Fratello's

Fratello's
Reserve with OpenTable
Fratello's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 1,281 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fratello's is a group of vibrant and stylish restaurants serving freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine with a modern twist. We're located in Jesmond, Newcastle Airport and Scotch Corner and we believe in sourcing where possible only the best quality local ingredients and allowing their natural flavours to shine through. You'll enjoy watching our chefs preparing dishes using a fusion of modern and authentic methods in our open-plan kitchens with their dramatic, traditional Italian clay ovens. So whether you are looking to enjoy an intimate dinner for two or celebrate with your family or friends in traditional Italian fashion, Fratello's is the perfect choice. Trendsetters! We're a media savvy bunch at Fratello's so be sure to keep up to date with all the latest special events, offers and interesting snippets! Try these amazing apps too: Take tasty pics of your food and let people know where they can enjoy them or compete against friends whilst collecting points the more places you eat!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The two or three course special Sunday lunch deal was served in modern warm comfortable surroundings without the hassle of weekday businessmen so proved relatively peaceful and uncrowded. Food was exceptional and served in a surprisingly modern format for a Sunday carvery. The imaginatively presented starters were a delight to see and eat and if your appetite extends to a dessert then you will not be disappointed. The wine was reasonably priced and the bill including coffees ( try an expresso with a dash of Sambuca) well within our budget for a couple sussing the venue out for a family occasion in 2013. The service was first rate and this will not be our only visit if standards and prices persist. Relax before and afterwards in the modern bar with plenty of TVs next door or even sit outside if you can bear the traffic of Jesmond Road.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We’re glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us so much, it sounds like you were pleasantly surprised, which is always lovely to hear. Hopefully you will dine with us again very soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    80
    35
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
“Absolutely fab”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The food at Fratellos is without doubt the best in Jesmond - such a good selection of dishes, choosing was actually difficult! Absolutely fantastic service and gorgeous decor! And, if that isn't enough, easily the best selection of cocktails in Newcastle! See you next week!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hello there, thanks for writing such a fabulous review of Fratello's Jesmond!

All our team work extremely hard and strive to get feedback like this, so this is a massive result for everyone involved! You might be interested to know our new Spring/Summer menu is set to be launched next month, so look out for some choices! Thanks again, and we'll hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Food was terrific.
Very crowded and we were late getting served on the second night, but they gave us one of our meals and drinks free gratis as a goodwill gesture without prompting.
Very good

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hello there, thanks for writing such a nice review. Apologies again for the mix up with service that night. You might be interested to know our new Spring/Summer menu is set to be launched next month with lots of new choices! Hopefully we will see you again very soon, and thanks again for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Service, nice food”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Served by delightful waitress, food nice and reasonably priced. Good atmosphere. Dont combine the garlic bread starter with a pizza main course as they are too similar

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Thought we would try this resturant due to the good reviews. The actual resturant looks lovely with modern decor and the service was fine. Unfortunately the food was very Disapointing. The pasta was too thick and the sauce tasteless. there was far too mich sauce and very little pasta. My partners pizza was ok but there are much nicer restaurants near by which are also alot cheaper. I am hoping that we were just unlucky but I will not be going back as for an Italians there is much higher standard elsewhere in jesmond.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella_bella87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fratellos R, Manager at Fratello's, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry that you were left disappointed after visiting Fratello's Jesmond, we are still experiencing learning curves as we're still relatively new. Hopefully you can be persuaded to try our new Summer/Spring menu which launches in March.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fratello's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Fratello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing