We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of The Brandling Arms

The Brandling Arms
Ranked #317 of 1,261 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set back from the hustle and bustle of Gosforth High Street, The Brandling Arms is a real home-from-home. With our top-notch pub food, outstanding range of speciality drinks, our large west facing front garden and relaxing family-friendly atmosphere, you'll realise we don't do things by halves!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere both inside and outside of the pub, lovely food and a great choice of drinks as well. Staff very friendly and approachable which is always a bonus too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    36
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best pub in Gosforth, great food, great drinks, great staff, this should be the model that all pubs are run on!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very cool outdoor area, great menu full of quality and very friendly staff. I travel a lot, and always look for a quality pub, this one ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful food since the revamp”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've visited the Brandling a few times over the years. A decent range of beers and good quality pub food experience has vanished with the recent revamp. We sat outside on Saturday night and fancied some snacks to go along with beers. It was only around 7pm and two of the five or six snacks from the menu weren't available, which seems a bit odd that early on their busiest night. They also asked for a table number but there wasn't one on it. We spotted some tables had white chalk numbers on, but others must have rubbed off - how stupid is that?!

We each ordered chorizo with focaccia bread and a portion of chips. We had to wait for an hour, which was OK as it was a nice night, but nobody else outside was eating, so why such a long wait?

When it came it was disappointing to say the least. Five lumps of chorizo, each burned completely black on one side, in a small bowl splattered all round the inside in orange grease. It had obviously been microwaved. The bread was toasted, thin and tasteless. £5.50 for each portion. The chips were OK, but in something like a tea cup. They were gone in a flash, so few were there. No way was that worth 8 quid each.

Very disappointing, and judging by others reviews it looks like the food side if things is a complete shambles. I won't be eating there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dreadful food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely surroundings for a drink outside in the sun. Bar staff we're friendly enough but seemed confused by food ordering system. Apart from the fact it took a while for food to arrive what we eventually were presented with was way below par. A bowl of olives which was a quarter full of pickled garlic, 2 chicken Caesar salads which were 80% brown baby gem lettuce, drowned in salad dressing with no hint of the anchovies or croutons promised on the menu. The other two mains of burgers came with a pitiful portion of fries. The menu promises a lot and what it delivers is substandard food we sent back.

Helpful?
Thank Elaeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Revamped interior - otherwise problems”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this week for a quick tea. We ordered two burgers with drinks on the Monday night deal and a side of slaw.

The drinks were good, I enjoyed my beer (white gold, always a nice pint). The bar is attractive enough, it wasn't too bad in the first place though.

The burgers are OK. The avocado, dolcelatte and bacon burger has always been a winner here and at the Forth but we tried some of the others which weren't really as interesting. Additionally the lettuce sits under the burger, causing the bottom bun to disintegrate - not a massive issue but it could be easily solved!

There are a couple of clear problems at the moment though. The staff all seem quite new and clearly have not received enough training. The barman who served me appeared unfamiliar with the menu (and the till seemed to miss a lot of the items).

I'm quite concerned with how the kitchen is run. I ordered the celeriac, apple and lettuce slaw. What arrived was not what was advertised. I received a ready made coleslaw, consisting entirely of white cabbage, carrot and cheap mayo. When I raised this point with the staff, he spoke to the chef and came back with the reply that it "was mixed into the sauce". I wouldn't necessarily expect a young barman to know what celeriac was, however the chef clearly felt they could pull the wool over customers eyes as well as the junior staff. That was apparently that and I politely declined to order a dessert!

There was no manager present to discuss the issues. I'd like to think that if there had been someone senior present things would have been better - although judging by other recent reviews there are clearly massive issues at the Arms.

The Brandling Arms clearly is trying to position itself at the higher end of the pub market in terms of its menu and pricing. It doesn't seem justified from my visit.

Helpful?
Thank ChrissyGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brandling Arms also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to The Brandling Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing