We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T TRUST THE MAIDS!”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Hotel
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DON'T TRUST THE MAIDS!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My daughter stayed in this hotel for 1 week before starting University. The maid left the door wide open to her room for a whole morning and my daughters clothes, make up and other belongings were taken. Thank goodness her laptop wasn't left there. The maid apologised but the hotel refused to compensate my daughter. Not a very good start for a young adult in a new city. She went back to the hotel to talk to the manager but he wasn't interested. She reported it to the police but they weren't interested either, the cctv for that level in the hotel was facing the ground so no evidence could be found. I got involved and phoned every day for 2 weeks. The hotel should take responsibility as their member of staff was negligent! My daughter had £700 worth of her things taken.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    19
    16
    51
See reviews for
11
15
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ryde iow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My son is studying at Northumbria Uni and we wanted to spend his 21st with him. We had to book last minute and before thats always been fine but Newcastle playng Chelsea and Half term proved a busy city. So after much hunting we were pleased, at last, to find somewhere. A twin room but needs must! After a 7hr drive from Portsmouth we just wanted to settle in and relax....no chance! The room, shoe-box sized and freezing was awful, but stupidly and tired, we had paid on arrival so had no choice. The shower didnt work so a shallow bath in cool water was lovely! There were no curtain in the bathroom, which over looked other buildings so we had to crouch down to get in the bath or scare the passers-by. The TV didnt work properly, the lights, that worked were smashed. The towels were so old and bedding well worn, I wish i had taken my own. All in all we would have been better staying in my sons student flat. It was probably just as well we didnt read trip advisor first. Generally just AVOID, AWFUL

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Right, just home from staying in the George last night where do I start??? This hotel is rotten in my room there was holes in the walls and the wooden floor was completely cracked and broken in places. Avoid this hotel!!! Oh and avoid the company chillisauce too!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tartangmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there recently together with mates as part of a stag-do weekend. Location wise, the hotel is close to shops, some lively bars and restaurants. The city centre is only a short taxi ride so in that respect, if your not fussy and working to a budget then it's an ok place to stay. Be forewarned though, the hotel itself is really dated. Our rooms were dirty and had a continual whiff of drains. The towels provided were covered in bleach staines so god knows what had been on them! There probably are some nice rooms there, just ask which room is your one before parting with cash. On reflection, it's worthwhile spending a little more to stay somewhere clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbluestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The pictures on the main website are false advertising and should be reported to Trading Standards. They are in no way an accurate description of the hotel's state.

The location is about a £8 taxi journey from the centre and Jesmond itself is pleasant enough.

Not only was the hotel filthy, but in places it was dangerous too.

The room was remarkably filthy. Whilst the sheets and pillow coverings were clean, they were ripped in places which caused me to question whether they had actually been changed.

The walls were darkly marked where people had been resting their heads in bed. Other stains on the walls on closer inspection appeared to resemble faeces, bogeys and blood (among other things). This was reported to management as well as ChilliSauce and we were told the rooms would be cleaned again - however this did not happen.

In the end, I moved by bed away from the wall as far as possible.

The TV worked, but the batteries in the remote were absent.

The toilet cistern was not properly fixed to the wall and worryingly wobbled every time the flush was pulled.

The shower was hot but at times lost pressure. The flooring in the bathroom was worryingly cracked and pulled up in places.

The light fittings (where they worked) were hanging precariously from the ceiling.

Reading lights were fitted above the beds but none of them worked.

At first when we arrived, none of the lighting throughout the hotel worked and we had to ask for it to be fixed.

The carpet on the stairs was not properly fixed, resulting in a few of us nearly falling and breaking our necks. Again, this was reported but not fixed during our stay.

One of the rooms we booked, we found that the smoke detectors had carrier bags wrapped around them, either to cover them for building work or because the last occupants were smoking in the room. The smell didn't give this away but the room was quite obviously dangerous nonetheless. Fire extinguishers also appeared to be missing as well.

All of these issues were reported to ChilliSauce who insisted that most of the issues were 'General wear and tear we would expect in a 2* hotel'.

Honestly, I have stayed in 1* accommodation that was better. I stayed in a hostel in Sydney that was once used as a brothel and it was cleaner and in a better state of repair.

When we arrived, we immediately noticed there was a heavy amount of building work going on at the front of the building in the bar/breakfast area which meant that breakfast was served in a small DIY'd bench area in a lean-to at the back. There was no where near enough room to house all the guests that were staying. This was catered for quite begrudgingly by a member of staff who blatantly didn't want to be there.

Example: menus quite clearly stated to ask how you wanted your eggs cooked. The response when asking? A grouchy 'They all come poached'.

Despite breakfast being included, we avoided this the next day.

Poor Service, poor state or repair, poor state of cleanliness.

The place should be reported and shut down.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room. Check in to a somewhere else.. anywhere else - you'll have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyFoxNinjaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went there for a stag weekend. Everything was in really poor quality. My bed broke down in the middle of the night without even moving around! Tried to mantle it back and realised it was disgustingly dirty beneath. Toilets dirty too. We had breakfast and it was really bad. We had to queue to get sited and they serve breakfast only until 9:00 (not the best time for staggetrs). Taxi to clubs etc cost around £7 which can be expensive for multiple times. The only positive thing was the free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andronikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
822 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a stag weekend and it was absolutely fine. It is cheap but also very cheerful - the staff were really willing to help with stuff. Breakfast is a bit tight but the staff worked really hard to sort everyone out. The location is good as well near plenty of bars and a short taxi or metro hop into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#68 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#67 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 88 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — George Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing