We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware do not book this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beware do not book this place”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We made the unfortunate mistake of booking this place for a trip to Newcastle. I was told that Jesmond was the place to stay, however this establishment is more Cradlebury than Jesmond and is situated above a major underpass.
I am amazed just how misleading a website can be. Do not be fooled by the fluffy family friendly photos, they do not truly represent the Rosebery.
I had booked three rooms through the personable yet invisible owner Geoff. A couple of days before we were due Geoff contacted me to say that there was a problem with the rooms, I then made alternative arrangements only to be contacted again to say that my booking was secured. Oh how I wish I had stayed with the alternative. Geoff had quoted a room rate at £50, £55 and subsequently £60 for our 3 night stay for 3 double single occupancy en-suite rooms. On arrival we were met by the decorator and found keys for two rooms. We complained and were assured that we still had 3 rooms and that a mistake had been made. After spending the day in Newcastle we returned to find our threee rooms but not all were en-suite. The following morning full cash payment was demanded in full and an extra £5 per night added, notwithstanding that we had secured our booking using mainstream credit cards. We of course refused to pay the cash demanded.
We were told that Geoff the alleged owner was not in fact so and should not have interferred with our booking.
They say they have refurbished as ‘shabby chic’ well drop the chic and you have a rather flattering description of the Rosebery. The only refurbishment we could see was a heavy coat or two of gloss. Glossing over the cracks, also glossing over the doors, disintegrating window putty, carpet edges, peeling wallpaper, door handles and dated pink bathroom suite. (A coat of paint would have done that good) There was in fact so much gloss that the bathroom door would not close.
Do not expect a hot bath or shower between 10am and 4pm as the hot water is turned off during those times. Our complaints eventually got us a 30% reduction from Claire who we found less than helpful but believe me we would had left had we been able to find an alternative. Claire however, using her own words 'does not get on with older people' I supose she classes late 50s as old.
Claire thought we were satisfied when she left a couple of cans of San Miguel in our rooms. (Where we left them) .
The only saving grace of this establishment was the staff, Janice and Katie who soldiered on however even they could not improve on the unattractive breakfasts which had been prepared with the cheapest of ingredients, I have never seen such small eggs.
On leaving we requested receipts which were provided on scrappy bits of paper with a 'John Bull' like stamp on. Needless to say there was no book provided for guest comments.
Two things do concern me, there were no intructions in the rooms to follow in the event of fire and there seems to be no member of staff on premises overnight. I actually sought someone at 11.30pm on Friday because my key would not open my room (Katie explained that they had trouble with that particulary and changed it. We also got no response again at 7.30am Sunday morning until the cook arrived at 8am.
I realise I have slammed this place but I'm not sure if I have slammed it enough. This cannot surely represent Newcastle!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank CJL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    69
    15
    9
    55
See reviews for
73
115
56
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stopped off at this hotel whilst in Newcastle. Rooms and food of high standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

after being poorly i wanted relaxation and boy did i get it,with its beautiful views a lovely chu
rch jesmond dene 4 walks and many restaurants nearby.staff friendly rooms clean and tidy even with the refurbishment taking place it was still peaceful.thanku claire and girls x

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorsababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

While at University, stopping at this hotel, very hygienic, friendly and helpful staff, rooms were spot on, would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Was given required room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

family meet up and what a place tostay from the hands on staff lovely rooms and views to tasty breakfast have passed on good word and we have rebooked

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

stayed last weekend for stag do and will again lovely well equipd rooms breakfasts huge choice and lovely staff always on hand and pleasant all in all good value for money highl recommend it we will be back with our wifes

Room Tip: rooms to suit all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank seanmccabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

What a super hotel! This family run business certainly knows what to provide for their guests, lovely decor, beautiful bathrooms and a great breakfast. We recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay in a quiet but convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebery Hotel Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel Jesmond

Property: Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosebery Hotel Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel provides the perfect accommodation for those who are looking for that something special, rather than just a run of the mill chain hotel. The tasteful interior of the hotel provides guests with a relaxing and welcoming feel, in a quiet location, next to Jesmond Dene Park. Our rooms are light, spacious and airy, with high ceilings and charming original detailing. Offering guests free in-room continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Freeview television, free unrestricted parking and (being only 5 minutes from the city centre) a quick commute into the buzzing city of Newcastle. The Rosebery is also the nearest hotel to the Freeman Hospital, which makes us ideal for relatives of patients or locum staff, who require long term accommodation. The hotel bedrooms have comfortable, good sized beds, a flat screen television with built in DVD, a refrigerator and a seating area for breakfast. Our en suite rooms have fabulous bathrooms, some featuring roll top baths and rainforest showers and our basic rooms share a toilet and bathroom, all very nearby. We do have ground floor rooms available and we cater for vegans & those who have special dietary requirements. For longer term guests we do offer free clothes washing facilities and access to an ironing board, also we can provide use of the hotel's kitchen for use of the microwave. We provide guests who need it, luggage storage and Late and Early Check in's can be arranged with the hotel. The Rosebery is a pet friendly hotel, so if you want to bring your furry friend along, just let us know! We offer great discounts to Commercial groups, contractors, shop fitters, TV and Theatre production companies and the like. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate party groups or Stag/Hen groups. Save up to 30% by BOOKING Direct with the hotel either by phone or via our secure booking system. Third party booking portals charge more! Booking direct is much cheaper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rosebery Hotel Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing