We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Me and my husband stayed spent a night in this lovely B&B on our very first trip to Newcastle for Hogmany. It is located in Jesmond, in a residential area and is very quiet during the night. The owner was very friendly and told us about the the cheap taxi service which we can avail from the hotel to get to the city centre (for £6), which is just 7 minutes away. Our room was on the top floor with a side view to the cricket stadium next door. Although, our room was small, it was spotlessly clean. I however managed to find 1 small stain on my white bed sheet. We were also lucky to have a direct view to the fireworks from our room late night. The full english breakfast was excellent and the saussages were just perfectly done.
The metro station is located at a 10 minute walk from the B&B and gets you to the airport within 15 minutes. Alternately, you can also take a cab for £30. We started our evening by chilling out at the Charles Grey bar, which is located right at the monument. It is a very ancient bar with excellent ambience. Although the bar was really busy, the atmosphere was amazing. There is also a traditional hogmany parade at 17:00 just outside the pub which was fun to watch. As we had no reservations for dinner, we ended up at Aneesa's Restaurant on the recommendation of a local friend and were surely not dissapointed. The restaurant had the most amazing Indian buffet that you could ever imagine and only for £15. Although out trip was short, we really had a great time! We be surely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent two nights at this little B&B and found it to be excellent. It was quiet at night which was a bonus. The beds are super comfortable and the room lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from.

We had two rooms as my daughter and my granddaughter were with us. They were on the top floor which was great.

As we did not wish to participate in a rowdy, boozy weekend this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just an overnight stay this time but we will definitely book for a weekend sometime soon. Lovely place, top notch facilities and an excellent breakfast. The staff we met, Kenny and Joan, were very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much bother for them from recommending a local restaurant to catering for everyone's personal preferences at breakfast time. Newcastle Cricket Club is just across the road and that's lovely too, might be arranging a stay at the Avenue to go and watch a match.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarnieHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very friendly, very clean and no problem coming in late. Street parking right outside.The cricket club across the road is also friendly and sells an excellent pint of real ale!. We tried to get into Francesca's to eat but the queue at 17:45 was to the door, so we went to Sebastian's round the corner which was excellent and friendly. We went to Cluny 2 and came back in about 01:30

Breakfast was superb, with good quality sausage, fresh well cooked fried egg and good coffee.

We will definitely stay again. Certainly never Premier Inns after this.

Room Tip: we only saw room 1 which is on the ground floor, ideal if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph-Gabbatiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

managed to gain a great deal through booking.com for a 2 night weekend stay here. I stayed in a single room with ensuite shower room. The TV worked well as did the Wifi, and there was a hairdryer too. plus point, plenty of plug points to do the essential away from home charging. there was a proper wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. Clean Towels as requested and the room was cleaned daily. Bed was incredibly comfortable and although one of the guest in the neighbouring rooms was quite a snorer, I managed to have two lovely nights sleep. There was parking nearby at a small extra charge and the hotel is in a good location. The breakfast was good and the staff were excellent, I felt very safe going in at night seeing Steve the night staff sat just inside the entrance of the Hotel. If I was to stay in Newcastle again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks Jo and Steve for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaGameela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Not amazing but good for the price and all perfectly acceptable. TV didn't work very well, curtains let the light in. Great shower, didn't see much of staff except at check in, out and breakfast.

Location great if you, like us want to stay in jesmond. If you're looking for a Newcastle hotel there will be others more central but there is good transport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamOfEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I very much enjoyed staying here. The hotel was simple, but more than adequate and in easy walking distance of good restaurants, the location of which Julie was happy to describe. The introduction to the cricket club across the street was most welcome. She even loaned me an umbrella which came in very handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les5926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2450, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments the Cricket Club across the road is always a popular place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing