We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to visit.”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This entire town was full of friendly people. At The Avenue the people were very nice, the rooms are clean, and it has a nice shower. The breakfasts are outstanding with a choice of hot items, plus fruit and cereals. It is a quiet place so no disturbances to wake one. On the negative side, there weren’t any chairs in the room, so we had to sit on the side of the bed, which meant sitting on the wooden sideboards of the bed. Very uncomfortable. And mirrors were awkwardly placed. They mentioned buses to get to the train station, but the directions were unclear and without maps. We ended up using taxis while there, which fortunately was only a couple of days. And the taxis are reasonably priced. Julie helped us order them. Wifi was iffy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skytoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nothing fancy here but adequate & convenient. Really nice staff, we arrived at 9.30 a.m., far too early to check in but very tired after a morning flight. Julie made us a cup of coffee and let us drink it in the breakfast room while she got our room ready, very kind of her and much appreciated. Our room was clean, the bed was comfy & the television worked. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room, with loose coffee in a canister which meant we had plenty. Nice view over the cricket ground.The bathroom in room 4 is tiny, no chance of two of you in here at the same time, but it was clean & functional which is what we wanted. Breakfast is standard,not brilliant, but all in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestaurantHobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A small quiet comfortable hotel in an inner suburb of Newcastle. We stayed here six nights and slept well every night. The staff were friendly and helpfull. We will use this hotel again. The breakfast food was simple but well prepared and promptly served.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a brief stay whilst on business locally, the staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was a very good size and nice and clean. The bathroom was a little small but that's me being picky...This hotel is great value for money, it's a little tired in some areas but overall very well kept, the breakfast is plentiful with a good menu selection. I'd describe it as "no frills" well kept B&B in an excellent location, would happily stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really friendly owners! really nice rooms! really nice breakfast! was very enjoyable for a one night stay. i booked it on the same morning i slept there and this wasnt a problem at all. would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: i was in room 1, compact but it was a great experience and the room had everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just come back from 2 nights at the Avenue and we had an excellent time there. Room was clean and with everything you could need. The staff were very friendly and we would definitely go back and would recommend the Avenue. It us in a lovely quiet location but with very good access to the city centre. All in all excellent value for money and a good experience

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janeymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for the weekend as we have never been to Newcastle before and wanted to experience the night life!
Was shocked at how low the price an how nice the rooms was everything you need an the bathrooms were lovely!
would definitely recommend, lovely stay thankyou!
tried to book again but fully booked up on the dates we want just shows how popular it is! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#44 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clifton House Hotel
Clifton House Hotel
#67 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing