We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newcastle Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very comfortable room, mirror was badly chipped but didn't matter. Staff were friendly especially the restaurant staff and I enjoyed the best omelette I've ever had. Very central location and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle-hepburn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    402
    206
    81
    47
See reviews for
156
368
89
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Went to a training course and stayed at this hotel - parking beside the hotel - but you do have to pay between the hours of 8am and 6pm - so can sleep in the hotel and park for free, however you do need to nip out to put money in the machine for parking whilst you eat breakfast!
Warm welcome to the hotel - additional tea/coffee/ milk on the reception counter if you run out in your room.
Hotel very clean - rooms a very good size, beds very comfy and very clean. Bathroom fresh and clean. Shower gel/shampoo provided.
The restaurant was excellent - the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was very good quality and a good price! Steak was very tasty. Breakfast made to order and very good!.
As a lone woman traveller you would feel safe here. As a business traveller or weekend breaker you would enjoy its position - a short walk to the city and to the Quayside!
We will go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentlefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here in September for one night, it was a standard clean comfy room, reception staff friendly, reception area was a bit dated and grubby and whole décor could do with being refreshed. Bar was nice and bar staff (a young lad) was very helpful. would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrian-lasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for one night early January - our room was on the 6th floor, so no problems with noise from outside at all, and was what I would call a 'normal' size for a city centre hotel (ie not huge, but fine)

Not the most modern of Premier Inn's, but certainly not in bad condition - and everything was spotless. Great central location too. Staff were very pleasent and let us check in early, which was was a massive help as we had to rush off for a wedding.

Only downside was that the breakfast wasn't the 'help yourself buffet' style that was advertised, but was cooked to order instead. The food was just the same, but I'd rather be able to just get what I want as and when.

Would stay again with out a second thought.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlislemike77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Everything was fantastic, the reception staff were polite and helpful, the dining room staff were the same etc. the rooms were spotless , up to date smelling fresh. everything was perfect and the breakfasts were amazing, extra items were cooked fresh on request and quality was outstanding.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very obliging staff , especially the girl in the breakfast room - can't recall her name but was very thorough in her cleaning up. Good cooked breakfast. Bar was ok, reasonably priced, but our room was very small, no view (ok, it is in a city so not unexpected) and the bed was terrible, no matress topper as a double made from two singles where the matresses were of uneven height with one side rolling in towards the middle ! Bathroom needed attention, a deep clean etc.. Stayed here whilst seeing the Stereophonics at the Metro Arena, wouldn't use this Premier Inn again which is a shame as others we've used have been very good. They did, however, keep their promise of 'a good nights sleep guaranteed or your money back' and we received a refund in full the very next day. Do the place up Premier Inn - it's letting you down !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The most important thing to say about the Premier Inn is that I was placed in a room directly across from the entrance to the night club opposite on a Friday night, and the hubbub was such that I didn’t get to sleep until approx 02.30.
If you have a hotel facing a nightclub like this, then you simply have to have better sound insulation.

Fortunately, I was in Newcastle for a 15.00 football match, and was therefore able to take advantage of the 12.00 checkout to claw-back some of my missed sleep – and the hotel gave me a full refund with very little question on Saturday morning, which is a large reason why this review is so positive, despite my issues.

The hotel is a large, hulking, Premier Inn convert, rather than a new build, perched on the edge of the city centre, up against the A167(M), a short walk from Monument Metro Station, 15 minutes from St James’s Park and the station, and a similar distance downhill to the quayside and Baltic/Sage in Gateshead.

The room was small, with little space around a king-size bed and a small, but functional, bathroom. As ever with Premier Inn, everything was clean and the fixtures and fittings were in good condition.

The public areas were well-lit and in good condition, with a large restaurant and 2 separate bar areas, and an integral multi-storey car park that offers free-parking from 17.00-08.00 (albeit the car park is locked 00.00-07.00) and a reasonable day-rate from hotel reception.

I would be happy to return on a weeknight or if the hotel could assure me of a room away from the nightclub at the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the nightclub at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will-HE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Address: (New Bridge Street) Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing