We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very disappointing Premier Inn”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have been in many Premier Inn around the country as is the chain that we normally use.

I have to say this is the worse by far, I wouldn't mind so much that it is very dated if it was clean!

The bed was so uncomfortable, probably broken as it arched in the middle so I end up sleeping in the coach...

The aircon/heating system wasn't working, so that have placed a small portable fan in the desk... Not what you would expect.

The experience at the restaurant wasn't good either. After a very long day at work I couldn't even eat the food I have ordered. A simple burger... How hard it is to cook? And it wasn't cheap either!

This hotel gives a very bad name to a very recognised chain.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank paymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    408
    209
    84
    48
See reviews for
158
375
89
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

For a budget hotel it does what it says on the tin. the staff excessed themselves . ideal area minutes from the shops. breakfast and dinner meal deal worth checking out, after the shops go back to the bar and relax on happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just been on an overnight stay for a theatre break. Rooms very comfortable and staff really pleasant. Great location for the Theatre Royal and plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Also on the doorstep of city centre shopping. This was my second visit to this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very friendly staff and comfortable room. I asked for a quiet room and was told that the 4th floor was quieter but I was woken by the drunk shouty people from the nearby night club. No noise in the hotel itself though. There was no noise atall on the Sunday night. Great air con which was very necessary as the windows were sealed shut.
Really good location, within easy walking distance of the city centre and the railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place to stay, middle of everything, only problem was the air con, but will definitely return and recommend. Staff were very friendly and made the stay even better than it would have been without them:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My sons stag night in Newcastle was a big success or so they tell me as I had to stay in my room at this very good central hotel for most of the night. A bout of untimely food poisoning (prior to arriving) couldn't stop me going (if you pardon the pun) to the stag do as it was my only boy. On arrival however it was a poor decision. The hotel staff where great and all to a person very pleasant. I did try to have a drink but reaching my lips was as far as it got. So off to bed and watch all of the TV channels drinking soda water recommended by the young lad behind the bar, again beyond the call of duty. The room which I was now very familiar with, was comfortable with a king sized bed. The place for some uncanny reason was quiet considering the groups of stags and hens. I would recommend this hotel, with some very caring and thoughtful staff and a great location. Maybe next visit I'll be fitter. Thanks to everybody.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are ideal restaurant and bar is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed on a friday for 1 night a party of 8. The rooms comfortable, but the smallest premier inn rooms we have stayed in. We were on the 4th floor and we all had a sound sleep very quiet considering their were quite a few hen & stags party's. The A/C was also very good and we needed it as it was a very warm weekend. We ate in the restaurant and we all liked the food. Staff as usual very polite and friendly. Their is a car park adjacent to the hotel and we had a reduced rate £8 for 24hrs. walking distance for the Diamond Strip area on Grey St with lots of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPhil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Address: (New Bridge Street) Hotel New Bridge Street West, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beating heart of this lively city, close to intu Eldon Square and Newcastle University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing