We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent improvement. Was dreading going & staying as it did used to be horrible. Now after the facelift its great!

Well done finally you realised it was horrible & made it so good. So clean & tidy!

The reception staff are all sooo friendly! Thanks you all.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Moi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

So differenr since the last time I visited. New decor, bigger comfier beds, so much cleaner in the rooms and just a nicer feel to it. Bathroom was improved but still not spotlessly clean but to be honest, it was just a niggle rather than an issue. Would definately recommend now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A friendly well situated hotel.,clean comfortable rooms ,and a relaxed dining area. £5 per day parking, under the hotel, easy to find(behind the law courts) bus stops 100 yards away ,every 10mins ,and takes you to the Haymarket central bus station right in the middle of Newcastle
)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Despite living only 12 miles away we decided to stay over after attending a gig in Newcastle. The hotel is well located for the attractions of the Quayside area and not far from the City Centre. Our room was clean and had a view of the famous Tyne Bridges. The reception staff were friendly and showed good local knowledge. We stayed in the bar until it closed..... Hmmmm!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Good:
Check in process
Clean Room

The Bad:
Very Noisy (Wednesday Night)
Room was WAY to hot!!!
Lifts Broken
No Bath
Not a very central location
Only one towel (You can request additional towels but in a double room there should be 2)

Overall pretty bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are pleased to learn that you had an easy check in experience and that your room was clean however we are deeply sorry to learn that your stay did not meet with your expectations Samantha F. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We are also truly sorry to learn of the noise disruption during your stay. At all our hotels we request that all customers respect reasonable noise levels with consideration to our other guests. We will also have a night porter patrolling the hotel at night to ensure the safety of others and in order to prevent any disruptions to your stay. We also require our lifts to be in full working order during your stay. However, in the event that a lift should break down, we would also expect the issue to be resolved in a timely manner so we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here with 2 friends for an overnight stay the hotel and room were immaculate very very good value. breakfast was delicious with plenty of options cereal fruit cooked breakfast as much as you want . The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble .can't recommend a stay at a Travelodge highly enough in the future this will be my hotel of choice well done you show other hotels how to do it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Upon check in, we were told we were on the 5th floor, which was fine. We checked in and went to our room. As soon as we stepped in the door, the heat in the room was absolutely horrific and we opened the window. The window only opened so far, however, and so no air was really getting in. Went to reception to complain and got given a fan for the room. This had no effect whatsoever and were moved to a first floor room. This room was cooler but was still unbearably warm. Would never stay here again - please avoid and spend a little bit extra money on somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newcastle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Central

Address: Forster Street Quayside | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £34 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Newcastle Central 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel recently gone through major refurbishment programme, get up and go and enjoy the new Travelodge look. The hotel is located just off the Quayside and a 10 minute walk from the city centre / train station. As well as the new look in our rooms - we have a funky fresh new look Bar Cafe where you can enjoy a relaxing food & beverage experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle Central
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing