We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience i would not repeat.”
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I booked on the internet before I knew anything about the area. I needed one nights accommodation at the last minute and just picked one of the few available in Jesmond. I certainly would not return. The decor was poor and the walls paper thin. I could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms including their toilet visits. Vile!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbuck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Jesmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in this weekend at the begining of November for 2 nights. When we arrived everything seemed ok, smallish room, with a little waredrobe and old fashioned bathroom but fine. After our 4 hour drive we were going to have a nap before going for some food. We could hear the tv from another room so decided to go out for some food then, when having a shower it made an awful noise and I thought it was going to come out the wall. We went out for some food nearby when going back for some sleep we could hear a man in another room coughing throughout the night. We were then woken at 7am from the awful shower noise from a different room, we went to ask to change our room but the staff were busy serving breakfast so decided to ask on our return. We went to the metro centre which we drove to as public trasport would mean getting the metro into town and then a bus to the metro, only about 10mins in the car. On returning we asked the girl on reception if we could change rooms but she said they were fully booked and couldn't do this as housekeeping where then leaving, when we told her about the noise (shower/thin walls) she didn't seemed shocked so this must be an ongoing problem. We went out for some food and when we went to bed we could hear again the tv in another room and then we were woken by boys screaming and swearing and running through the hotel at 2am. After getting back to sleep we woke up with the yet again awful shower noise at 7.30. When checking out there was noone on reception as they were busy serving breakfast, to be honest we just wanted to leave. Very dissapointed in this hotel, the reviews made out it was really good, how wrong we were.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Nice little hotel, good service but the walls were paper thin in my room (number 27). This only became an issue in the morning and actually with 11:30 check did not mean I missed much sleep. However it was reasonably priced and it was easy to find.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColonelC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Not too far from centre. Girl on desk friendly enough. Small reception. Room was average but comfortable enough with decent bathroom. Can be noisy with traffic outside but only if you open the windows. Overall would use again as it was value for money. Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillerman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all views of our customer and will hope to improve on any issues. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We only live about 30 minutes from this hotel. We booked as it worked out as cheap as paying taxi fares to get home after an evening out in Jesmond. It is Ideally located for access to the bars and restaurants on Osborne Rd and only a short journey to Newcastle city centre.

Although there is no car park we found a space in the residential area to the front of the hotel and were given a parking permit to display. Check in was straight forward and the lady on the reception desk was very pleasant. We had room 31 which was on the top floor. The hotel didn’t appear to have a lift so may not be suitable for those less mobile or with lots of luggage. The room was tiny (really more suited to being a single room than a double) but it was warm and cosy with a decent sized bathroom and very clean. I think it would be a struggle to cope with the lack of space for more than a night or two.

The only real downside to this hotel was the level of noise we experienced. Our room was facing Osborne Rd and we could hear traffic noise well into the night and were woken by it early the next morning. Rooms don’t appear to be well sound proofed either – although not the hotels fault, there were a couple of football fans in the room next door that came home singing and chanting in the early hours. We could hear every word of their conversation, even when they were in their room with the door closed. This wouldn’t put me off going back as I expect it is rare for this to happen but I would recommend ear plugs!

Unfortunately we didn’t get to try the hotels Persian restaurant as it was closed but the menu looked nice.

We paid £45 for a double room through Hotels.com with 10% cashback through Quidco, which I felt was about the right price. The prices displayed in reception were £75-£120 for a double room which I think for the size is very expensive. Overall a decent little hotel despite the noise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your comments and concerns.
We do advertise that there is on-street parking and permits are given on a first come first serve basis. Hotel with parking charge a premium on their room rates as this is an advantage but still there is quite a lot of parking near the hotel.
Our hotel has only 15 rooms and please appreciate that there is no room to place a lift and it would not seem economical as there are only two floors.
Our staff are happy to help when assistance is required to take suitcases or bags to rooms. Please ask when you check-in!!
As we cannot guarantee their will be no noise because Jesmond can be a busy place as it has Top restaurants and bars with-in walking distance.
Sometimes rates are reduced due to certain rooms
Thank you again for your concerns but will endeavor to improve where we can and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights - I had a very small room at the front of the hotel overlooking Osborne Rd which is busy with traffic and students. The noise kept me awake into the early hours each night so request a room at the back of the hotel or take ear plugs! The room was generally clean and in good order, not much storage - would have been adequate for a quick stop over but too cramped for a week. The housekeeping throughout my stay was patchy, but the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. I didn't pay the extra £7 for breakfast each day - this seemed a bit pricy and as Jesmond has a variety of really lovely cafés I'd recommend taking a wander up the road.
Hotel is a 10 minute walk from both Jesmond & West Jesmond metro stations. It cost £3.10 to get the metro from the airport - really easy transport links.
It's close proximity to the university means this is student-ville - no doubt about it so consider this when booking!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We cannot guarantee on the noise levels outside as Jesmond is a busy place in Newcastle upon Tyne.
Rooms on the top floor are smaller so please appreciate the price you pay as the some rooms are cheaper than others.
We will endeavor to improve in any concerns our customers have.

Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here mid-June for a long weekend away and although the weather wasn't brilliant, the hotel was! Nice rooms, pleasant service and a great location. The breakfast was also very nice and certainly recommended! I would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your comments and support. We love to have you back soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#46 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing