We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Room not serviced, wallpaper ripped, wardrobe far too small, no where to hang coats, blind damaged and not fixed. Never again would rather use a youth hostel! Stayed before and was good. New management and awful. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonkyandmutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
The room was not serviced because of a confusion between the two housekeepers which only happened only once during the 3 nights stay, but thanks to this unpleasant event, we will make sure to double check after housekeeping that everything has been done. The guest has also received a refund for that day.
Regarding the ripped wallpaper, it has been caused by a suitcase and we will get it fixed at our earliest convenience.
This is a small hotel and the size of the wardrobe is the same in each room and we have not had any complaints about it so far. A bigger wardrobe would take more space and would make the space in the room much smaller.
As soon as the problem with the damaged blind was brought to our attention, a member of the staff offered to ask to be changed, but the guest said that there is no need as they wanted to keep it down so we have decided to change it after their departure.
We are sorry that we have not been of the high standard that our guest required. This is a small business and sometimes it can get difficult to handle all the requests.
However, we think this should not be an excuse for the guest to have an abusive behavior towards the staff and use swearing to express unhappiness for the service provided.
Whenever a guest has had a bad experience staying at this hotel, we encourage them to stay again to prove that we can do better, however in this occasion, we would prefer not to come across with this particular guest as we have not been showed any respect despite our efforts to comply with all their requirements.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
21
47
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Workington, Cumbria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Clean and double room was a decent size. Walls are paper thin, but only stayed one night for a concert. £7 for a taxi into centre.
Parking permits available and parked right outside the hotel on the road.
Staff pleasant, no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Been here a few times and not too bad - 2 nights this time - rooms are not great, usually clean but need a refurb - in room 25 and the bathroom stank of 'damp' - even with extractor walls were wet hours after showering. Basic room but comfy bed - staff were very good this time, attentive and polite and getting parking permit helps loads. I'm disabled so stairs were a little difficult (I would not stay in the downstairs room I once was offered). Good location for when I work in the area and great if you want a bit of Jesmond nightlife / pub / buzz and some decent eating around. Wooden blinds in room don't keep light out and I like a dark room. However, I'll use it again.

Room Tip: Persoanlly I avoid the downstairs room I once was offered - rooms on side street (Fern Avenue) quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have stayed here 3 times because it is handy for who we are visiting. Some rooms are so small the bathroom is bigger so be careful which you book, but it is always very clean and well presented. The hairdryers are the best in any class of hotel even grand 4 and 5 stars!
BUT the walls are very thin and because it is on Osbourne Road many staying there come in between 3 and 4am . So everyone who comes in wakes everyone up. After a sleepless night I vow to find somewhere else next time but they don't take stag and hen nights so that is a real bonus in this area.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel and ask which are the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Spend one night in this small hotel in the lively area of Jesmond, in Newcastle Upon Tyne. The room was small (not smaller than the average in similar UK hotels) but clean and well set.
The only black spot in the staying was the shower, pressure was not good and water would temporarily drop.
A bit disappointing and surprising, considering the size of the hotel, but all in all it was ok for one night. I wouldn't stay longer than a weekend though, would go somewhere else if I had to stay for a week.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diferdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I booked on the internet before I knew anything about the area. I needed one nights accommodation at the last minute and just picked one of the few available in Jesmond. I certainly would not return. The decor was poor and the walls paper thin. I could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms including their toilet visits. Vile!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbuck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in this weekend at the begining of November for 2 nights. When we arrived everything seemed ok, smallish room, with a little waredrobe and old fashioned bathroom but fine. After our 4 hour drive we were going to have a nap before going for some food. We could hear the tv from another room so decided to go out for some food then, when having a shower it made an awful noise and I thought it was going to come out the wall. We went out for some food nearby when going back for some sleep we could hear a man in another room coughing throughout the night. We were then woken at 7am from the awful shower noise from a different room, we went to ask to change our room but the staff were busy serving breakfast so decided to ask on our return. We went to the metro centre which we drove to as public trasport would mean getting the metro into town and then a bus to the metro, only about 10mins in the car. On returning we asked the girl on reception if we could change rooms but she said they were fully booked and couldn't do this as housekeeping where then leaving, when we told her about the noise (shower/thin walls) she didn't seemed shocked so this must be an ongoing problem. We went out for some food and when we went to bed we could hear again the tv in another room and then we were woken by boys screaming and swearing and running through the hotel at 2am. After getting back to sleep we woke up with the yet again awful shower noise at 7.30. When checking out there was noone on reception as they were busy serving breakfast, to be honest we just wanted to leave. Very dissapointed in this hotel, the reviews made out it was really good, how wrong we were.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#64 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing