We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good One Night Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good One Night Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I drove our daughter back to Newcastle for her final year at university and decided to stay over for the night close to her digs in Jesmond. We had a double room on the top floor and although small it was very clean and comfortable. As it was evening by the time we settled in we decided to have dinner at the Persia restaurant in the hotel. The meal was excellent, reasonably priced and somewhere we will return too in future. In the morning we showered in the surprisingly powerful shower, a lot more powerful than most 5 star hotels. We choose to have the full english breakfast and found it most enjoyable. All in all we were very impressed with the service and quality of this budget hotel and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
21
47
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Twin room, top floor, window next to exhaust pipe from Restaurant below so unable to get any air circulation without the stink. Heavily stained bathroom lino and stains to carpet too, no bulb in light fitting above bed. No other room available so thankfully only one night. Girl on desk tried to be helpful "those stains are old". Overall very shabby and wish I had checked tripadvisor before this last minute booking. My recommendation, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Reddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

A very nice, small and quiet place but nothing specific. The rooms are really small, okay for sleeping but not for spending any time in there. The Persian restaurant is quite nice but the breakfast is rather modest. My parents had a room in the 2nd floor and as it was quite hot, they needed to keep the window open thus it was rather noisy. Our room was in the ground floor, it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

First impressions were of a clean and smart establishment. Staff were friendly and helpful. Travelling on my own so requested a single room, which in some hotels can be a bad idea, but here the single room on the 3rd floor was very clean and equipped. The en-suite was alright for a single room, but was on the small size. The single bed was comfortable but surprisingly low based, but after a long day travelling, didn't stop me from getting straight to sleep. One thing which was annoying was that the kettle in the room wouldn't stay on unless you kept your hand pressed down the base!! I could have mentioned it to the staff but it was late and couldn't be bothered. Had a late evening meal (9.30pm) in the hotel's Persian Restaurant and had a lovely meal at a reasonable price. The morning's breakfast was what you would expect from this type of hotel and could not be faulted. Overall a pleasant one night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackthescottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Room not serviced, wallpaper ripped, wardrobe far too small, no where to hang coats, blind damaged and not fixed. Never again would rather use a youth hostel! Stayed before and was good. New management and awful. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonkyandmutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
The room was not serviced because of a confusion between the two housekeepers which only happened only once during the 3 nights stay, but thanks to this unpleasant event, we will make sure to double check after housekeeping that everything has been done. The guest has also received a refund for that day.
Regarding the ripped wallpaper, it has been caused by a suitcase and we will get it fixed at our earliest convenience.
This is a small hotel and the size of the wardrobe is the same in each room and we have not had any complaints about it so far. A bigger wardrobe would take more space and would make the space in the room much smaller.
As soon as the problem with the damaged blind was brought to our attention, a member of the staff offered to ask to be changed, but the guest said that there is no need as they wanted to keep it down so we have decided to change it after their departure.
We are sorry that we have not been of the high standard that our guest required. This is a small business and sometimes it can get difficult to handle all the requests.
However, we think this should not be an excuse for the guest to have an abusive behavior towards the staff and use swearing to express unhappiness for the service provided.
Whenever a guest has had a bad experience staying at this hotel, we encourage them to stay again to prove that we can do better, however in this occasion, we would prefer not to come across with this particular guest as we have not been showed any respect despite our efforts to comply with all their requirements.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, Cumbria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Clean and double room was a decent size. Walls are paper thin, but only stayed one night for a concert. £7 for a taxi into centre.
Parking permits available and parked right outside the hotel on the road.
Staff pleasant, no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Been here a few times and not too bad - 2 nights this time - rooms are not great, usually clean but need a refurb - in room 25 and the bathroom stank of 'damp' - even with extractor walls were wet hours after showering. Basic room but comfy bed - staff were very good this time, attentive and polite and getting parking permit helps loads. I'm disabled so stairs were a little difficult (I would not stay in the downstairs room I once was offered). Good location for when I work in the area and great if you want a bit of Jesmond nightlife / pub / buzz and some decent eating around. Wooden blinds in room don't keep light out and I like a dark room. However, I'll use it again.

Room Tip: Persoanlly I avoid the downstairs room I once was offered - rooms on side street (Fern Avenue) quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RatRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#53 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#63 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing