We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here 3 girls on a trip to newcastle for the weekend, The lady at reception cant reemember her name young manager was so nice so helpfull a credit to the hotel. The rooms were nice and the people made the stay very enjoyable.Thanks for everything
Carla
Dublin

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    59
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
11
25
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

5 min by taxi from the city center. Quite spacious rooms. Clean and tidy.Wall to wall carpets as most English hotels and b&bs.Friendly atmosphere. Recommended for the budget minded traveler. Would definitely stay here when visiting Newcastle again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have stayed here twice now and always have a good time. Check in was quick. Good value for money. It's kind of like a mixture between a bnb and a hotel. The rooms are similar to a bnb but there is a late bar and layout and size is like a hotel. It's in the jesmond area which is a nice area, with a few bars and pubs where people tend to have a drink before hitting the town. The rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is ok, they serve it in the Italian restaurant next door. Paul the guy who works the night shift is lovely, really helpful. You can have a good chat with him if you decide to have a drink at the bar. You can walk into town, takes about 10 mins. Will be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and we were all (17 of us) very happy with our rooms which were a good size, clean and with decent sized en suites. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Grate value for money. Hotel is clean enough if you not planning on eating off the floor. It's located on Osborne Rd witch is the maine street in Jesmond but still short stroll from the noise made by pubs customers up the road. Right next to it you can find one of the best restaurants in Newcastle The Cherry Tree witch I highly reccoment to anyone. Hotel has got car park at the rear but there is space only for about 4 - 5 cars and it's really hard to get one. You can always park on the road on the side of the hotel but you will have to get permit from the hotel for £20 refundable deposit. The staff is really nice and halpfull. Breakfast is served in next door Italian restaurant and it's quite basic. The hotels deco bouth rooms and commiunial areas is in need of updating. All in all if you looking for a good hotel and don't wanna spend a fortune this is place for you. You can go out have fun till late up the road and get back to your room and get decent sleep without worries that some drunks will wake you up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michalus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here on Saturday 19th may and should have stayed till the Sunday 20th but we ended coming back home at midnight on the Saturday the bedding was so dirty in fact it had not been washed on turning back the duvet the navy blue sheet was covered in white Staines which knocked me sick then having a closer look the pillow cases were filthy.the carpet had not seen a vacuum cleaner it was all stained as well. All I can say is What A Nightmare.Never stay There Again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busdriver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed at Osborne Hotel for one evening on a Saturday night. The hotel is in an excellent location, a couple of miles from the city centre and right in the heard of Jesmond. Jesmond metro station is only a 5-10 minute walk (exit left out of the station, left again at the main road and another left at the large junction (signposted osborne road), hotel will be on your right a couple of minutes walk down the road). I took a taxi back late in the evening from Quayside and it was around £6.50

Hotel itself is what you would expect for a 2* hotel. Clean rooms, although a little outdated, small flat screen TV, comfy beds. The walls are quite thin, so would take earplugs is you want a good nights sleep but not a big deal.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the price, cereal, porridge, juice available as well as freshly prepared hot breakfast (fry-up, choice of eggs etc).

Staff were friendly and night porter available if you are planning to come back late in the evening.

Overall an excellent hotel for a short stay if you are on a budget and don't want to stay in the local hostels which get extremely noisy with stag and hen parties on the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#64 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#51 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 13 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing