We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I've stayed at many £50.00 hotels and I have to say this was one of the best. It's what you'd expect from a value hotel - clean rooms but in need of some maintenance. Usually you'd just get a room for £50 but this price included a full breakfast. Very good it was too! Not sure whether people who've rated this place so low expect 5 star accommodation for a budget price?

Tend to agree about the reception staff although I think it was 'their way' more than any rudeness on their part.

If you're coming from the airport this is a perfect location. The airport, Jesmond and the City Centre are all on the same line. You can get a day pass for £4.50, drop your bags off at the hotel and then head off into town (and of course not have to walk back after a couple of Newcastle Browns!).

I'll be coming back next year - depending on my football team's performance for the rest of the season!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night in December 2012. Hotel is easy to find, in a good location, and at £50 included breakfast. Free Wifi is available. The lazy on reception was helpfull and polite. The rooms are average, a little dated. Things just seemed dirty... Floor was bitty, mould in the bathroom, marked bed sheets, etc. Food in the attached Italian place was also average, not really proper Italian but it was very cheap! I won't be staying here next time I'm in Newcastle!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-small-cheese-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Tidy hotel. Nice room (10) with decent bath, plenty of space and a comfortable enough bed. 2 stars AA. friendly staff and was able to get a drink when returning after a hard days work at 2am.
free wi-fi that works well, car parking and a decent enough breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 10 overlooks the busy osborne Road, but it doesn't bother me. Double glazing kept it quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Handy location - a few minutes walk to the Metro or slightly longer into the town. My room was very comfortable and clean with a great en suite & tv which all worked well. It was at the front oft he hotel which is on a very busy road so there was quite a bit of traffic noise til late. Breakfast was served in the attached restaurant and was excellent. I used the restaurant (open to the public) for my evening meals and this was really good and excellent value. Staff were all extremely friendly & helpful. Management need to find a town map that could be offered when folks ask.

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise, choose a back room, though I'm told you can hear the Metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayaga1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The most unpleasant Desk Staff I've ever encountered in fact I nearly turned around and left on the spot, When I asked for a map she reacted as if I had asked for something shocking, her reply "none that would do YOU any good" Rooms was actually quite pleasant, except for the PLASTIC undersheet on the bed, reminiscent of hospital, and breakfast very good, staff the next morning very pleasant and helpful, but the initial encounter left such a bad impression I can't give the hotel a good rating,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here 3 girls on a trip to newcastle for the weekend, The lady at reception cant reemember her name young manager was so nice so helpfull a credit to the hotel. The rooms were nice and the people made the stay very enjoyable.Thanks for everything
Carla
Dublin

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

5 min by taxi from the city center. Quite spacious rooms. Clean and tidy.Wall to wall carpets as most English hotels and b&bs.Friendly atmosphere. Recommended for the budget minded traveler. Would definitely stay here when visiting Newcastle again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 13 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing