We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good visit”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another good visit”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This is the forth year, four of us have stayed at this hotel and as usual we where given a warm welcome. We have stayed in the same two rooms every time and they are like a pair of old comfortable slippers, a little worn around the edges but still comfortable. The breakfast was nice and filling.

See you all next year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    59
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
13
26
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I visited the hotel on the weekend and I was extremely satisfied with the welcoming I received. The rooms were great very clean and the location is very central near the town centre. The staff were all friendly and the breakfasts were very filling extremely impressed for what I paid. I will definitely visit here on a regular basis!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

this hotel has total lack of management,had to put up with fighting girls until 7am,yes 7am,police or at least an eviction was needed,they should be ashamed,and the night porter didnt do his job,even though apparently he got involved.my god wat a wild west establishment.

Room Tip: use hotel next door with proper night staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we came to Newcastle to see a show. Immediately the oldish woman on the desk upped the price by £20 saying we had only booked for one person making it £75 for one night rather than £55. She then charged us another £20 which was refundable for on street parking. She was rude and could not be bothered. When we asked the best way into town. She said it was a fifteen minute walk not bothering to tell us that there was a metro station 5 minutes away. The bathroom was dirty and pokey, the whole place was incredibly badly lit to the point of dangerous. The area is very pleasant and the kitchen staff very nice but the receptionist was a wholly unpleasant individual. DO NOT STAY HERE and I will be reporting them to the appropriate people. She made Basil Faulty look like Captain Warmth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zofiadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

If you're looking for good value, friendly staff, a clean en-suite room and great breakfasts - this is the place! Excellent location for me, and plenty of good places to eat and drink on your doorstep. My room even had blackout lined curtains - perfect for a good night's sleep! Would book again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPops66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is very conveniently placed for anyone wishing to go to Newcastle University for a conference. It is about 5mn away by foot from the Jesmond metro station, and the city centre (and campus) station, Haymarket, is one stop away. Alternatively, it's a 15mn walk to the campus. On osborne road, there are lots of hotels and restaurants but it's not a loud neighborhood. The metro at Jesmond also goes directly to the airport (about 20-25mn). If you stay for a week, I recommend taking the zones ABC 1-week metro saver ticket; it costs £19.80 and you can go everywhere by metro, including the coast :)

I've stayed in room 6, a single en-suite room, with a high ceiling, rather small but with enough space to open a suitcase. There was also a little wardrobe with an extra cover. The tv works well, and so do the kettle, hairdryer and all the power outlets (although there are quite few of them).
The heating worked, but the windows are not well isolated, so the room was very draughty; it's alright if you close the curtains and use the extra woolen blanket (if you need more, anyone at the reception will give you one :) ). There was no heating in the bathroom, but otherwise it was alright; don't follow the hot/cold arrows on the shower tap though, it's a trap! :p
I did notice a few stains on the duvet (probably been washed often for a long time), but not where it touches the skin, and some hair that wasn't mine on the woolen blanket, but otherwise the room was clean.

The included breakfast was good; you could choose from a few sorts of cereals, canned fruit, orange and apple juice, tea or coffee, and you could also have the full english breakfast or pick parts of it. The staff was very flexible, welcoming and fast :)
Said breakfast took place at the adjoining Italian restaurant, Spago's. It's a lovely place for lunch and dinner too!

Staff at the reception was very warm, welcoming and helpful. I had a little trouble understanding one of the ladies' strong Scottish accent (I'm french), but after a few minutes chatting you get used to it. They can provide maps of the city centre, as well as the Jesmond metro timetable and information on the surroundings (Hadrian's Wall...), and are delightful to talk to.
Payment (I chose to do it upon arriving but you can also pay when checking out) was quick and efficient, by visa card, everything went just fine.
Coming back after midnight doesn't seem to be a problem; I once went back at 1am, the hall door was open and a gentleman was there to hand me my key.

Finally, I was glad to see that they had free wifi, which worked quite well in the rooms as well as in the lobby.


Overall, this hotel is a good 2-star value (£45-50 per night, with breakfast), I'm ready to recommend it and will certainly stay there again if I come back to Newcastle (in summer hopefully, cause last week was freezing!!).

Room Tip: ask for a street view room, there are not many cars at night. on the back, there are metros passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I expected the road outside to be noisy as I've stayed on the road before. The bedroom (single) was a good size but freezing cold. Heating on full but the draft coming from the double glazed windows was significant. Moving the curtains! The plastic sheet on the bed was nasty - how many people do they get wetting the beds I wonder! Took that off straight away. Staff were ok but surly. Shan't stay here again even if breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerjo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#63 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 13 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing