We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff & facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while up in the area on business and was extremely pleased to have chosen this hotel over some of the pricier options in the city.

Upon arrival I was greeted by an extremely helpful and friendly lady at reception, and every other member of staff I can across throughout the stay was equally so.

The room itself wasn't particularly large but it perfectly adequate in size as I was alone, and it was clean, comfortable and cozy; it was ideal for the purposes of my stay.

The area itself was also very pleasant - a student suburb with a good selection of local amenities and conveniences.

My only minor gripe was with the shortfall in parking spaces - the hotel does offer a number of free on-site spaces, but (unavoidably, in fairness) there are not quite enough, and you may struggle to find a space if you arrive later.

All in all however, very good; will definitely come back next time I need a room in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ZimHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel we do have limited parking spaces. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night , I was visiting my daughter for her birthday.
The welcome on reception when I arrived was warm and welcoming, absolutely fantastic reception staff.
My room was beautiful , clean warm and the bed was so comfortable.I had a lovely peaceful sleep
I stayed in a room facing the main road but I couldn't hear much traffic noise at all.
I didn't have the breakfast option as I
Was having breakfast with my daughter in Jesmond, but it did look very good .
This hotel should be at least a 4 star,
They put so much work into it, it has to be the right staff and they seem to have it spot on.
I will definitely be returning, Jesmond is a beautiful area, with a young vibe going on, bars restaurants etc all easily walkable.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jacqui1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's always wonderful to receive such brilliant feedback. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting your daughter and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were moved to this hotel after a problem at our original and it was totally fantastic, staff amazing, facilities fantastic I could not fault this hotel one but highly recommended. It was clean, great prices the food was great. We really had a fantastic trip and can not wait to come back in fact it was so great I am going to approach the hotel with a business proposition. This is exactly the kind of facilities as a wedding specialist we are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amorecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would highly recommend us. We look forward to hearing from you regarding your business proposition. Speak soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a great hotel , with nice rooms and the best part of this hotel is the staff . They cannot do enough for you from as soon as you check in to when you leave. Great bar and busy location but quiet at night. Great customer service

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Its lovely to hear such fab feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. The staff will be thrilled to hear such praise. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent meeting facilities, great location for bars and restaurants, good bar and excellent breakfast, great service throughout stay and reception staff and night manager cannot do enough for you. Great play to stay whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the New Northumbria. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Back yet again, for another two day stay in Jesmond Newcastle, great staff who couldn't do enough for you.
Breakfast was more than ample for me.
Parking is the only problem I have with this hotel, very limited....I'll be back again no doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed another stay at the New Northumbria Hotel, and enjoyed your breakfast too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We didn't have a good experience staying here. We arrived on the 2nd of January 2014. We called the day before asking if we could check in around 12, if our room was ready. We explained that I was 6 months pregnant and would appreciate it if we could get in before there usual check-in time. We were told that we would have to call again in the arrival day and that there was a charge for this (£20 I think they said). When we did finally get into our room (which was late evening as we had family commitments) we were disgusted at the state of the room. The sofa and chair were covered in stains, dirty and looked like things had been spilt in them or worse. There was nail polish marks on the sofa, the table and dressing table. The linen was clean, didn't dare check the mattress! We got up at 6am for our flight and happily left. It was a sad way to end our lovely holiday, I really cannot believe that any hotel would allow such a room to be sold to the public. Truly the worst room I have ever slept in. See the photos for yourself....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing