We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had terrific service from the staff at this hotel from the minute we booked. Aime on the reception desk could not have been more helpful and accommodating. She was an absolute star and recommended a local restaurant nearby, which we pre-booked, which was terrific as well. We had a suite - room 219 - and we loved it! Really modern, clean and comfortable with hot chocolate and scrummy biscuits, as well as the usual tea and coffee, which my teenage daughter loved. Good sized bathroom and lots of wardrobe space in the walk-thru between bedrooms which were spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent as well. This is perfect for visiting Jesmond, where our son is in digs round the corner as he is at Uni In Newcastle, and well placed for visiting the city. We will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie-liv-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review :) We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and you liked the biscuits in the room too. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Aime, she is a star and we will make sure your comments get passed on! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was a beautiful hotel, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. we found that booking the room was cheaper online however this was great. Breakfast was lovely and the staff again were very friendly. The room was very clean along with the bathroom and shower.
Excellent location for Osbourn Road and the bars along were all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Renervations give you really pleasant spacious rooms, but they forgot the windows in room 120, which meant the broken catch knocked the secendary glazing all night, and we were given an early alarm call as the fire alarm was set off by the kitchens. Otherwise friendly reception, good breakfast shame I wasn't staying longer to enjoy

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank a w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad nights sleep during your stay with the New Northumbria Hotel. Thank you for bringing the broken catch in room 102 to our attention and we do apologise about the fire alarm. We hope that this experience will not put you off returning to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently whilst my husband was in hospital and was delighted with it. It is very well located near to local facilities including a good supermarket and numerous restaurants. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and explained everything on arrival including the wi-fi password. I had selected a suite on the second floor which was extremely good - with a sofa in a sitting area, plus large bed in separate bedroom, mini-fridge and coffee making facilities. I'm sure that the other recently renovated rooms would be of similar standard so it worth checking details of the rooms available. The breakfast was good - eggs were perfectly cooked and the toast was warm, and full breakfasts are of course available. This is a friendly, welcoming hotel and I would definitely return if I needed to stay in Jesmond again. The road is busy and there are a lot of bars with outside tables in the vicinity. Noise is therefore inevitable but this is the same for every hotel in this road. Overall impression was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Its wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at the New Northumbria Hotel. And thank you very much for the kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast too and that you will be returning when in the area. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel....3 star rating however looks more like a 4 star....friendly staff....excellent decor keeping up with the period features of the building and clean comfy rooms....would highly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank missykitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is unusual in that it appears to be a collection of houses joined together. On arrival the reception was quick and efficient with pleasant staff. However, the room was difficult to find due to the confusing layout of the upper floors but this was nothing compared to the disappointment on entering the bedroom. Plaster was coming away from the walls, the bathroom furniture has been damaged, the window catch was broken and could not be locked and the general decor was shabby. Upon complaining I was immediately offered another room that was significantly better, apparently the hotel is undergoing a gradual refurbishment but in March 2014 this was only partially completed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, a small number of the hotel rooms are still awaiting refurbishment to meet the standards of the majority of rooms within the hotel. We are pleased to hear that your complaint was dealt with efficiently. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with pleasant and helpful staff, comfy rooms and on site bars and restaurants. Handy for west jesmond metro station. Parking is first come first served so get you space early. Will book again for later this year for family wedding nearby.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank giraffesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you will be booking again for later this year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing