We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is great. We arrived way before check in yet they had a room ready for us...even better we got upgraded! The room was a good size and nicely decorated. I also appreciated the fancy soaps and shampoos in the bathroom too.

We booked in to the restaurant which was part of the hotel too called Scalini's- we had a 2 course meal each and a bottle of wine for £30 altogether! The staff were great in the restaurant and especially so in the hotel- extremely friendly.

The location is ideal as it is situated on Osborne road with bars and restaurants on your doorstep. The only slight problem we had was that the walls are quite thin, so if a man is talking on the phone quite loudly early in the morning when you want a lie in then that's not ideal!

Overall, this hotel is definitely value for money and I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The New Northumbria Hotel and that you would happily stay with us again.

We agree that the hotel is in a fab location with everything you need just a stones throw away. We do try and accommodate early check ins when available and also upgrade people to our superior doubles if possible - glad you enjoyed the fancy toiletries!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our adjoining Italian restaurant Scalini's too.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you're next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    159
    55
    29
    10
See reviews for
74
176
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It's been a while since walking into a hotel and think not bad, the room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable had a good night sleep and had a nice powerful shower in the morning . A good choice of breakfast.
Has a few restaurants to choose from for the evening meal . Excellent wifi in the room. All the staff were friendly. Andy thrower 15/04/14

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you Andy for leaving such a wonderful review and for your kind comments. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has amazing staff who are very helpful and will help with anything you need during your stay. I would recommend anyone to stay here for business or pleasure if you are need a hotel in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DotNewbury-BIrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for such kind words about the hotel and the staff who make it :) Its wonderful that you would recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting friend in local hospital. Had a suite which was excellent. Bed extremely comfortable. Very handy for lots of pubs and restaurants. Did not eat in hotel as we were meeting people who had already booked elsewhere but breakfast in the morning was lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Two4mud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us whilst visiting your friend. We are pleased that you enjoyed the suite and agree that the beds are comfortable! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that you will visit us again when next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had booked a standerd room and were swiftly checked in by a cheery young girl, given our keys and sent up to our room. The lift is not working in the hotel so be prepared to walk up a few flights of stairs. The way the room numbers are laid out is a little confusing but there are plenty of signs so you do not get lost.

The hotel itself is going under refurbishment and you can definatly see where this starts and stops. Our room was one of the few that hadn't been done, nevertheless we had a look around and eveything was clean and as it should be. My partner had noticed the the wooden panelling around the bath had gone rotten and was expanding. I telephoned reception and asked if we could be moved rooms or if I could pay for an upgrade as this was part of a belated Christmas present.

The cheery young women from reception appeared in an instant (she also checked what we had spotted and repeatly apologised, I felt quite bad!) and showed us to our new room - no less in the new part and had given us a free upgrade. When the room she had given us was made up of twins she rushed off and got another set of room keys to ensure we had the double we had booked.

The room we stayed in itself was beautiful, light, and airy - not to mention the enormous bed. Bathroom was lovely - spotless I may add.

Our stay at the New Northumbria was nothing short of fantastic, everything is kept immaculate and the staff are in a league of their own - I cannot praise them highly enough. Without a shadow of a doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcumming03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Its great to hear that any issues which you had with your rooms were dealt with efficiently and agree with your statement that the team here are in a league of their own :)

Yes some of our rooms in the hotel are still awaiting to be refurbished, however these will hopefully be refurbished in the near future.

Its wonderful to receive such fantastic feedback, and its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Good quality for the price that you pay for...people are gently and helpfull..good for the attached restautant as well...bit less for the rear car park..some people when parking believes that they are the only ones. They need two space to park a bloody smart....sometimes I would have a hammer....room is alright..clean and tidy...highly recommended. ..

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you enjoyed your time at our Italian restaurant Scalini's too. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel, we do have limited parking spaces available, however its good to hear that this has not put you off the hotel and that you would recommend us to others. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location is good, staff are helpful, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable...BUT the noise level is really bad. I have never before stayed at a hotel that was responsible for the very noise that keeps guests up at night. The hotel runs Osbornes Bar next door & each of the 4 nights we stayed the music was so loud you could hear it through the walls & floor. The first night was acoustic so the noise level wasn't horrible, but still loud enough to hear from our 2nd floor room. We requested a room change & were put on the 3rd (top) floor the next night. That was a hassle b/c we had already unpacked & then had to repack everything again. Unfortunately there was little improvement in the noise. We could still hear the pounding techno beat (even with earplugs) on nights 2-4. If you want a quiet, soundproof room, this is NOT the place to stay!

Other problems: (1) The first room we stayed in was so tiny that there were than 2 inches of space between your knees & the bathtub when sitting on the toilet.

(2) The rooms were unbearably hot (I'm someone who's cold all the time, so it truly was hot). Even after turning off the radiator we had to sleep with the windows open to cool the room down on the first night. We had to keep opening the windows to get the room cool enough during the rest of our stay.

(3) The odd contraption (sort of a folding partial plastic door) that was supposed to keep water from going outside the shower & onto the floor didn't work properly, so the floor got very wet every day.

(4) They charge an inordinate amount for a child's bed--around 40 pounds per night. This amount seems all the more excessive given the problems I've just outlined.

I would not recommend this hotel if you care about getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay at The New Northumbria. We do own the Osbornes bar which is next to the hotel and on the weekends live music is played, however the bar closes at 11pm so the noise should not go affect rooms after this time. We do charge a set price of £30 for an extra bed to be added to the room, however this does include breakfast which we have determined the price in line with surrounding hotels.

As always we take constructive comments on board to help us improve our services for the future, so we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosebery Hotel
Rosebery Hotel
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Property: The New Northumbria Hotel
Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing