We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Very Good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed on the second night of a road trip. The hotel is in a very lively part of Jesmond and the bar and restaurant were both very busy. Initially we were a little sceptical as the rooms we were allocated were directly above the bar area and the music was easily heard in the rooms. Howerver we were reassured that the music stopped at 11 (which it did). We used the Italian restaurant situated in the hotel and found good value, nice tasting food with good efficient service. An early breakfast at 7.30am on a saturday took the staff by surprise (I think they are more used to revellers having a lie in at weekends) but that was the only slight blot on the copybook for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnasher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, on some of the nights in rooms that are directly above the bar area music can be heard, however as you stated this does stop by 11pm. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our Italian restaurant Scalini's and agree that it is great value for money. Apologies if breakfast was a little slow, however we hope that this has not put you off returning to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked the New Northumbria Hotel for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly, helpful reception staff who advised us that we had be upgraded to a superior room (room 216). My only issue with this room was lack of storage for clothes as there was only hanging space and no shelving.

The following morning we discovered that the shower was not working so we called reception, who arranged for the maintenance guy to come straight up and look at it. He discovered that there was a plumbing issue which would take time to rectify so quickly arranged for us to be moved to another room (room 202). This room was at the front of the hotel and even more spacious than our first and had a bigger wardrobe so we were able to accommodate all our clothes easily.

Both rooms were spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings, flat-screen TVs, chillers and polished dressers. Sleep quality was excellent, lovely big beds and no disturbance from either traffic noise or within the hotel itself.

There was no lift during our stay which was unfortunate but didn't cause us any problems.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Its lovely to hear that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary, Apologies for the issues which you experienced in your first room, however we are pleased to hear that your problems were dealt with straight away in the appropriate manner and you were happy with the room that you were moved to. Glad to hear that you had excellent nights sleep and thank you for your kind words regarding the rooms. Unfortunately we are having issues with our lift, however this is in the process of being fixed, so glad to hear this did not affect your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked last minute for 2 nights in Newcastle during our mini road trip around England and had a great 2 nights in this hotel. Upon arrival my first impression was noticing the beautiful tree covered in blossom right outside the entrance! We were greeted by a friendly young woman who checked us in and was consistently delivering great customer care. The hotel was undergoing some construction that i wasn't aware of but this did not disturb our sleep or stay in any way. Our room was extremely spacious with a really comfortable bed, a great bathroom and lots of space for clothes etc alongside some simple but appealing decor. It was definitely one of the nicest hotel rooms i have stayed in and for £50 a night (late rooms) i was pleasantly surprised!
We had not been to Newcastle before and had never heard of Jesmond but i urge anyone to go to Jesmond Dene Park as we had a fantastic day there enjoying the beautiful scenery, rivers and waterfalls. The only downside to this hotel from our experience was the horrible carpet in our corridor leading up to the room, it was mustard yellow and stained but nothing serious and i assume this will be changed with the hotel construction! Definitely recommend this hotel - fab location with great restaurants nearby, friendly service and a beautiful room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemimah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the New Northumbria Hotel and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The blossom trees are beautiful when they flower, its just a shame they don't last all year round. We are currently refurbing the outside area of the hotel, however we are pleased to hear that this did not disturb your stay - the carpet in which you mentioned is also on the list to refurb in the near future. We are pleased that you enjoyed the surrounding area and agree that Jesmond Dene Park is lovely. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your mini road trip around England. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just back from weekend stay well we have been going to newcastle how for 7 years our son went to uni there progressed to do a further qualification an graduated as a chartered accountant on sat 26th april so booked to stay new northumbria as it was just across the road from our usual hotel we used just to give it a chance room was nice but I thought it a little over priced at £198 2 nights no breakfast room ok was unfortunate to have a room opposite party of stags who were v loud on the sat/sun till 4.40 am didn't like complain cause they only out to have a good time had breakfast on sat morn was nice but again a little over priced at £10 as I had rung an inquired about breakfast rate and was told it was £7 last thing was awaiting our son to pick us up at 11am he was delayed so just as we were about to leave our room at 11.10 reception rang to say check out was at 11 am thought that a little bit petty as house keeping had loads of rooms on our floor to be going on with not like we holding them back so on a final note just an ok stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georginacollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Sorry to hear that you found your recent stay just OK. In the past we have had experiences where guests have slept in etc so the phone call on the morning of your check out was just to make sure that you were fine and aware of the check out time. We apologise for the noise that you experienced during your stay, however if you would have brought this to our attention at the time we could have dealt with the situation and asked for the other guests to quieten down. Breakfast is just £7 if pre-booked with the hotel/ reception staff; however if guests just turn down for breakfast in the morning then the breakfast staff charge £10. Thank you for giving us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Initially gave me a room overlooking the air con stuff, which would only work if you are deaf - continual noise. Without any issue, I was moved - only issue was that the room was next to the lift, which I think was steam driven. Thankfully, movements stopped around 9pm. Good room, with loads of room

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1metraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the first room that you were given, however we are pleased to hear that the issue was dealt with efficiently at the time. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is great. We arrived way before check in yet they had a room ready for us...even better we got upgraded! The room was a good size and nicely decorated. I also appreciated the fancy soaps and shampoos in the bathroom too.

We booked in to the restaurant which was part of the hotel too called Scalini's- we had a 2 course meal each and a bottle of wine for £30 altogether! The staff were great in the restaurant and especially so in the hotel- extremely friendly.

The location is ideal as it is situated on Osborne road with bars and restaurants on your doorstep. The only slight problem we had was that the walls are quite thin, so if a man is talking on the phone quite loudly early in the morning when you want a lie in then that's not ideal!

Overall, this hotel is definitely value for money and I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The New Northumbria Hotel and that you would happily stay with us again.

We agree that the hotel is in a fab location with everything you need just a stones throw away. We do try and accommodate early check ins when available and also upgrade people to our superior doubles if possible - glad you enjoyed the fancy toiletries!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our adjoining Italian restaurant Scalini's too.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you're next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It's been a while since walking into a hotel and think not bad, the room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable had a good night sleep and had a nice powerful shower in the morning . A good choice of breakfast.
Has a few restaurants to choose from for the evening meal . Excellent wifi in the room. All the staff were friendly. Andy thrower 15/04/14

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you Andy for leaving such a wonderful review and for your kind comments. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing