We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Northumbria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Da Vinci's Hotel Restaurant(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gresham Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
243
184
65
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
184
65
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomosbornes barosborne roadan italian restaurantwest jesmond metro stationcity centrejesmond arealimited parkingfreeman hospitalon arrivallovely hotelstayed here for nightshotel restaurantgood sizevisiting newcastlebars and restaurantsfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A one night business stop, good value, room was fine, comfy bed, wi- fi did not work well in my room, so if this is a must for you suggest a room close to reception area! It's in a very lively street, plenty of bars ( with outside seating area,s) not rowdy at all , the Italian restaurant that is attached to the hotel was excellent, the fact is was almost full on a Tuesday night says a lot! The hotel has parking round the back but it is a bit hit and miss, took a while to get a space. Very polite and friendly staff. Would I recommend it or stay again. Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - Its great to hear that you would stay with us again and recommend us to others. We agree that Osborne Road is a very lively street and there's everything you need on your doorstep. We look forward to seeing you when your next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend went away for a few days shopping and nightlife trip, from what we had seen from the pictures online we couldn't wait to get to our hotel rooms! But what they don't actually do is put up pictures of what a standard room really looks like in this hotel, we were greeted by a lovely young lady and giving our keys. Rooms were very hard to find but eventually we found it. The carpet was filthy, black smudges all over the walls and the room was quiet small, we were not happy with it so we requested a new room but that was the same as the first one. We had to pay an extra 10 pound to move to the premier room which in the first place we shouldn't of had to do. When we got to that room though it was beautiful, hard to believe these rooms were even in the same hotel! Other than that little complication this hotel is nice, a bit far out from the city but noting 5 pound in a taxi wouldn't sort out! Next time I would be trying somewhere closer to the city but if you were staying here I would highly recommend the premier rooms for a extra 10 pound it will 100% be worth the money!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Sorry to hear about the complications which you had when you first arrived to the hotel - however its great to hear that the problem was resolved appropriately and you enjoyed the upgraded room. We do have a few rooms left in the hotel that are awaiting to be refurbished, which plans to go ahead within the next 6 months. Many thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on the 10th May for an 18th in Newcastle. We stayed in a suite room, the room itself was extremely spacious and very well kept and designed. The hotel was a short taxi ride to the centre of Newcastle, with the taxi rank just outside. There was no fault we could find with the hotel, the staff were pleasant. If you are looking for a romantic getaway though the noise from the bars below is exceptionally loud, this did not bother us as we were there to party.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckyboo2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Newcastle celebrating an 18th birthday. Yes the hotel can be quite noisy, especially rooms over the Osbornes bar on a weekend, however Osbornes and all the other surrounding bars to stop serving at 11pm so tends to quieten down later on. We hope you enjoyed your partying experience in Newcastle - it is a great night out. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed on the second night of a road trip. The hotel is in a very lively part of Jesmond and the bar and restaurant were both very busy. Initially we were a little sceptical as the rooms we were allocated were directly above the bar area and the music was easily heard in the rooms. Howerver we were reassured that the music stopped at 11 (which it did). We used the Italian restaurant situated in the hotel and found good value, nice tasting food with good efficient service. An early breakfast at 7.30am on a saturday took the staff by surprise (I think they are more used to revellers having a lie in at weekends) but that was the only slight blot on the copybook for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnasher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, on some of the nights in rooms that are directly above the bar area music can be heard, however as you stated this does stop by 11pm. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our Italian restaurant Scalini's and agree that it is great value for money. Apologies if breakfast was a little slow, however we hope that this has not put you off returning to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked the New Northumbria Hotel for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly, helpful reception staff who advised us that we had be upgraded to a superior room (room 216). My only issue with this room was lack of storage for clothes as there was only hanging space and no shelving.

The following morning we discovered that the shower was not working so we called reception, who arranged for the maintenance guy to come straight up and look at it. He discovered that there was a plumbing issue which would take time to rectify so quickly arranged for us to be moved to another room (room 202). This room was at the front of the hotel and even more spacious than our first and had a bigger wardrobe so we were able to accommodate all our clothes easily.

Both rooms were spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings, flat-screen TVs, chillers and polished dressers. Sleep quality was excellent, lovely big beds and no disturbance from either traffic noise or within the hotel itself.

There was no lift during our stay which was unfortunate but didn't cause us any problems.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Its lovely to hear that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary, Apologies for the issues which you experienced in your first room, however we are pleased to hear that your problems were dealt with straight away in the appropriate manner and you were happy with the room that you were moved to. Glad to hear that you had excellent nights sleep and thank you for your kind words regarding the rooms. Unfortunately we are having issues with our lift, however this is in the process of being fixed, so glad to hear this did not affect your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews