We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Northumbria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Sandman Newcastle
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (540)
    Filter reviews
    540 results
    Traveller rating
    247
    186
    65
    31
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    247
    186
    65
    31
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssuperior roomosbornes barosborne roadan italian restaurantwest jesmond metro stationcity centrejesmond arealimited parkingfreeman hospitalon arrivallovely hotelstayed here for nightshotel restaurantgood sizevisiting newcastlebars and restaurantsfull english
    Filter
    Updating list...
    450 - 455 of 540 reviews
    Reviewed 5 June 2014

    I had previously stayed at this hotel 7 months ago when I was advised that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment of the rooms. That time I was appointed a smart refurbished room, tastefully decorated in calming browns and beiges so was looking forward to my most recent stay. This time I was appointed in one of their "Mediterranean" rooms - apparently the refurb has currently been stopped with no idea when it will recommence- which was decorated in bright blue, orange and yellow! Or should I say had been decorated along time ago In these colours.
    The hotel is in the Jesmond area and the numerous hotel bars compete with each other with a variety of happy hours and other promotions to attract them in. This leads to a "colourful" nightlife.
    The main restaurant within the hotel is extremely good offering far better value and variety than the nearby Pizza Express.
    The hotel has 3 other bars which seem to open and close on a whim or the availability of staff
    I guess you get what you pay for and for c£50 a night the hotel can offer good value but AVOID the Mediterranean rooms or take sun glasses!

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    Thank andyph59
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

    We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay at the hotel. We do have a small number of rooms that are decorated in the colourful Mediterranean style - however we plan to refurb these rooms within the next 6 months.

    Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in our Italian restaurant Scalini's - I will make sure your comments get passed onto the Restaurant Manager.

    We hope this experience has not put you off from staying at our hotel in the future.

    Thank you very much for your feedback.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2014

    Arrived to find the biggest drinking session in the world below our window,. We asked to be moved but no rooms available till the following day. This was the worst nights sleep ever. In fairness we were moved to a Junior Suite the next day, which was at the back of the hotel, beautiful spacious room. The only drawback is the ridiculous shower panels on bath installed with midgets in mind. The room was kept clean but the staircases and corridors were dirty. The breakfast was somewhat haphazard as the availability of ingredients, eg no sausages, bread rolls and tin tomatoes only on one morning. The breakfast staff need to look a little happier in there job, not one smile in four mornings. To cap it all on the second night one of the night staff came into our room perhaps thinking he could sleep in there. To say the least I was a little upset.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Courtbourn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

    We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the New Northumbria Hotel. Osbornes bar is adjacent to the hotel, however closes at 11pm every night and therefore the noise should not affect our guests after this time. I am glad to hear that your issue was dealt with appropriately when possible and you were moved to a more suitable room. I am sorry about the breakfast quality and offerings, I will pass your comments to our breakfast team. I also apologise for the experience with one of our night porters - I will be investigating into this to find out what happened.

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Warm Regards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2014

    More flash than substance at this noisy hotel. The remote control didn't work, and nothing could be done about it.

    But worst of all a double bed that is in fact two single mattresses on the same base. Could not have been more uncomfortable.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 111Traveller111
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

    Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us, I am sorry that you encountered problems and to hear that your nights stay was uncomfortable. If you would have brought these issues to our attention we would have been more than happy to accommodate your needs and offer you a different room if available. We thank you for your feedback.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2014

    Just one night while in Newcastle on business - Jesmond is a lovely district and we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We were both upgraded to superior rooms - I was in 217 and would ask for this room again - spacious, lovely decor and fittings and nice bathroom. My colleague's room was not as nice but still ok. Had a good meal in the hotel Italian restaurant. Staff all lovely but poor girl serving breakfast next morning was run off her feet as she was on her own in the dining room - a colleague had not turned up for work. My only slight complaint would be that the rooms were really too hot, which was puzzling as it was not that warm outside. Would like to return for a leisure break one day as loved the area and the style of the hotel.

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    Thank Sarah P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

    Thank you for a fantastic review on the New Northumbria Hotel!

    I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members - its great to hear you enjoyed your meal at our Italian restaurant too.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

    Warm Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 June 2014

    The room itself was nice, the bed was quite comfy and the whole style was modern. However, you could you could see that they were stains on the carpets, some evidence suggested that they tried to remove them, but not all. Wallpaper was falling off, the bed sheets did have some strange black dots on. But they smelt and looked clean. The bathroom looked a bit worn but it was clean and the shower was very powerful and had a good heat control. The furniture also looked very worn, which is a shame because it looked like good solid stuff. The breakfast was very very nice, though it would of been nice if you got more baked beans :P. I would recommend if you visit Newcastle to stay in this hotel. Oh and the location is about 40 minute walk to the city center. (That's how long it took us)

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SuperWisdom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

    We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience during your recent stay, however sorry about the cleanliness of some aspects of the room - we shall look into these. Its great that you enjoyed your breakfast at the hotel - we would have been happy to give you some more baked beans if you requested. It generally takes about 15/20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the city centre when walking straight down Osborne Road - so maybe you took the more scenic route. We hope to see you again soon when your next visiting Newcastle.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews