We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Bookings - 5* Service for a Competitive Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Northumbria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our football team 'Real Sociable Dads' decided to go to Newcastle as part of a world cup football tournament. We required the hotel to provide accommodation, drinks and food for nearly 30 lads and the hotel staff made this process easy.

They took a genuine interest in trying to help us make it a special occasion and were always willing to help. Some examples were flexibility around room bookings, drinks and food orders. They even reserved an area for us on a very busy Saturday night for our lads to watch the football.

The hotel location was perfect for us as it was a short taxi ride into the city centre. The hotel and rooms were smartly presented and comfortable. I would recommend any large groups to consider this hotel if they are visiting the area not just for a competitive price but for the quality of service you receive.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven_gibson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm glad that the Real Sociable Dads enjoyed their trip up to Newcastle and glad we made your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for recommending to others and we hope to see you all again when your next in the area :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

And I always carry ear plugs! Over the years I've always found that no matter how hard any hotel tries, you always get the odd scrubber who will single handedly disrupt everyone else's stay. This hotel is fairly plush, but has no aircon so gets really sweaty even with the windows open. This place also tries to be all things to all people. Bustling restaurant, yep. Two very lively bars, yep. Noisy outdoor seating areas, yep. My room was a suite which was nice and roomy, but located smack bang above all the hustle and bustle. Without the plugs this would have been a nightmare, but did cease at around 11pm every night. The shower was a bit of a pollava, but okay. Bed was nice and comfortable, and in my room (118) the free wifi was very strong. Overall, a pleasant stay (oh, car parking can be a challenge)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and give us your feedback. Due to the great location of the hotel on Osborne Road, there can be some external noise (especially over the weekend) - however all of the bars in the surrounding area do close at 11pm and therefore the noise should quieten around this time.

We are glad to hear that you remembered earplugs which helped with the external noise - we will look into maybe having spare earplugs within the hotel for guests who were not so organised.

It's great to hear that your bed was comfortable and you were able to make full use of our free wifi.

Best wishes,

The New Northumbria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have now stayed here 3 times, whilst visiting/collecting daughter from university, on each visit the staff were friendly and helpful. Great location - easy walk to metro or drive to the city centre. Parking can be tricky, but that is the same all over Newcastle (& any UK city). We have found the service and food in the Italian restaurant excellent. Bedrooms have always been clean. Will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Its lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us, enough so to visit us again when your next in the area. We do have a fab team at the hotel so its great to read such wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I recently found myself in Newcastle as my husband sadly needed treatment for Cancer at the Freeman Hospital. Very stressful time to say the least!! I stayed at the hotel for two weeks and the staff could not have been more understanding or helpful. Their kindness was beyond what I expected. The little things such as a pot of tea ready for me when I returned from visiting ! Can't wait to return when my husband is feeling better. Wish all hotels had staff like The New Northumbria Newcastle. Thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazzer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - Its great to hear that you would stay with us again and recommend us to others. We agree that Osborne Road is a very lively street and there's everything you need on your doorstep. We look forward to seeing you when your next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I made a group booking through booking.com for a large group (~15 people) to stay here for my friend's hen party! We stayed for one night and the service from start to finish between me and reception staff was outstanding. Aime (Senior Receptionist) was very helpful and understanding of the difficulties of organising a group booking! Craig and Stephanie were also very helpful.
The advice I was given about which rooms to book was perfect and all staff tried hard to get as many rooms as possible adjacent to each other. Everyone in our group enjoyed our stay and the overall experience was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newcastle, as group or as an individual. Newcastle is a great city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgra91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Wow, what a fantastic review. We are all so pleased to hear that you and the rest of the group enjoyed your recent stay and hope that you all enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team - your comments will be passed on. We hope to see you again when your next visiting the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and it was ok. This visit was excellent. Place has been completely refurbished and the staff were charming. They upgraded me to a lovely big room as I'd had a long journey. Excellent value for money and in a lovely area of Newcastle near some nice bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrybrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Its great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations from your last visit. We do try and upgrade our guests when possible - so we are glad that you appreciated this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights and was impressed by how welcoming the staff were. I stayed in a superior double room and was able to take my dog for free, which not many hotels in Newcastle offer. The room was better than some 4* hotels I have stayed in. Scalini's restaurant was great quality for money and the pizza was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marknewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

What a fantastic review! Thank you!

I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and all the staff made you feel welcome - I will pass your lovely comments to all the staff.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#51 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £43 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing